We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel to Avoid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc

Save Saved
You added Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Place, Cardiff CF10 3UD, Wales (Formerly Thistle Hotel Cardiff)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Hotel to Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at the Parc in May and I have to say this is a hotel to avoid.

The entrance and the rooms are all of a great condition, compared to most of the Thistle Hotels in Great Britain, however the service and cleanliness left lots to be desired.

My room was nice as mentioned before clearly Thistle have spent a lot of money, however the sheet was ripped, there was an item of clothing in the wardrobe from a previous guest and when mentioned no one was apologetic.

All in all a great hotel and a credit to Thistle for money spent, however one I will not stay at again until the service and cleanliness is resolved.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    256
    103
    56
    32
See reviews for
58
298
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ceredigion Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed at the Parc Hotel in Feburary which turned out to be a nightmare,
but after a special deal i returned to find everything totally different. The check in and check out was a breeze and the staff were spot on especially in the new updated Crown Social Restaurant which was amazing. Must say would def stay there again, ideal location for cardiff shopping.
Thanks to Richard for sorting everything out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Cardiff. Have stayed in the Parc before and it remains the blueprint for the perfect grown up escape to the city. Big sexy rooms with proper amenities like full sized hairdryers with difusers, wardrobes with lights, a decent kettle and nice lighting. The proportions of the building provide huge hallways and high ceilings - a world away from a Premier Inn box! Additionally in the absence of an on site spa, they have done a deal with one quite literally steps away and scored some bargins on treatments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Hotel accomodation was very pleasant and staff were very helpful. A bit of a challenge to find the hotel, because of all the one way streets and had help from a taxi driver who kindly let us follow him to the hotel car park. The only thing we would prefer is the mattress was too hard for us. I'm afraid we're used to the tempur style mattress where you sink in to it. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel and at £69 it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Great hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms are clean, spacious and tidy. The staff are some of the best I've come into contact with, at any hotel. Great value and the breakfast is pretty good too.

Parking spaces are a bit of a lottery but there is a multi-storey a hop, skip and a jump away.

We stay here several times a year - no longer bother with the Marriott, Hilton, etc.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Despite asking for a quiet room in our original booking, we were given one on the first floor with (not very effective) secondary double glazing opposite a bar and a disco. We asked for a quieter room, and were given 108, which overlooks the car park. This is surrounded by large, noisy ventilation systems for the hotel and the restaurant next door. However, this noise was all but drowned out by the hotel plumbing, which all seemed to be routed through the ceiling of the room, and which occasionally made loud shrieking noises in the middle of the night. We wouldn't have slept at all if we hadn't brought industrial-grade earplugs. On top of that, lots of light leaked in around the room door and through the thin curtains (blackout linings are surely a minimum in a supposedly 4* hotel). After a short night of broken sleep, you then discover that the shower is designed in such a way that it's almost impossible to use it without flooding the bathroom and hallway, and that you can't sit on the toilet without impaling yourself on the badly-positioned toilet roll holder! However, we should point out that we often stay in Thistle hotels, and we've always found them satisfactory until now.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Nice old building, teastefully re-furbished.
Twin room very small indeed, backed onto carpark (no real issue with that) but kept awake by noise from a reception - as others have said why not place guests from said events in bedrooms near function rooms ??
Breakfast excellent - service and food quality top notch.
Reception staff very good too.
Location for the centre of Cardiff just couldnt be bettered and for that I would rate if a definate 4*.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc

Address: Park Place, Cardiff CF10 3UD, Wales (Formerly Thistle Hotel Cardiff)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand Victorian building, The Parc Hotel is a landmark in the Welsh capital. Located in the city centre, The Parc Hotel was transformed last year with a multi-million pound investment which saw every area and each room of the hotel redesigned with chic modern décor and contemporary furnishings. The hotel has proven to be a favourite with business and leisure guests, while its Champagne bar is where the city comes to see and be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parc Hotel, Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Parc Hotel Cardiff
Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Cardiff City Centre, The Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.