We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats the hotel chains in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel
Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
South Wales UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beats the hotel chains in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked 5 rooms for the Saturday of the Wales V England rugby...the only hotel in Cardiff prepared to take a one night booking...all of the chains in town wanted a minimum of two night stay and were charging way over the top prices.
New House Country offers a variety of different bedrooms, all extremely large with exceptionally spacious bathrooms. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble... returning to the hotel around midnight we were able to order drinks and sandwiches which were served speedily and very well presented at a sensible cost..
Breakfast offered a variety of foods again well presented and very appetising.
The views from the hotel are stunning looking right across Cardiff and out to sea.Definately take a camera and sit out on the terraces enjoying the scenery and peaceful location.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone attending an event in Cardiff as a taxi fare into town is only £12.00 ...much cheaper than having to book the minimum two stay the hotels in the centre demand.

Room Tip: All of our rooms were excellent however, the rooms with views across Cardiff would be my first choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the hotel and your enjoyable day at the rugby. We look forward to welcoming you back for future rugby dates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    75
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
96
12
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, following a friend's wedding there this weekend. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful and appear to run a tight ship! Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was a very good size. The room's decor isn't particularly modern, but was still nice. The scenery around the hotel is stunning. Would definitely recommend this hotel to those looking for a wedding venue and also for those wanting a weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for your kind words reagrding the hotel, I am glad you enjoyed your friends wedding and I hope to see you at the hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Afternoon tea was fine, reasonably priced with good strong tea and a variety of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Staff were friendly and efficient. I think the atmosphere could have been a little better, some background music and more logs on the fire would have been nice. All in all, we enjoyed a nice afternoon in very pleasant surroundings. I would visit again and I'm sure that afternoon tea in the gardens in the summer would be wonderful. The views across Cardiff from the hotel grounds are spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alix S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and I will ensure your recommendations are passed onto the Director to consider.

We look forward to seeing you in the Summer for an afternoon tea outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancashire.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a Valentines day, Anniversary break. Superb room, very large, large balcony, great views across Cardiff. Very clean Hotel, friendly staff, very good food.
Well placed for getting into Cardiff, although sat nav took us up some scary B roads to get there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
759Alix, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, we do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My all-time best hotel is in Madeira, but this comes whisker-close. A magnificent house with charming and comfortable public rooms, a vast bedroom with its own little shaded terrace and a stunning view over Cardiff and the Bay in the distance, a kitchen ready to make me a delicious plate of sandwiches when I returned from an evening meeting at 10:45 PM, staff charming and helpful at all times: a sense of perfect comfort and quiet. What more can a traveller want? To come back, often.
One point to note: the post-code given in the hotel's address is NOT the one to enter into a GPS/SatNav. Phone or e-mail for the latter.

Room Tip: Rooms 5,6, and 7 are on the guest wing's ground floor and have a little shaded terrace from whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
759Alix, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Roger

Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the hotel, unfortunately the only thing we cannot offer is the weather in Madeira!

I do hope you will consider visiting the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I get to stay at the New House several times a year when away on business in Wales and consider it to be an excellent hotel, with excellent service and cleanliness.

Located just a few miles outside of Cardiff, it is set in huge grounds and there is no noise whatsoever from traffic.

I was originally a little reluctant to write a review for what I consider to be a hidden jewel in the Best Western crown for fear of it becoming too popular, but credit where credit is due.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
759Alix, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, I look forward to seeing you again in the future and I am sorry you will have to share us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. This time our teenage daughter accompanied us. On arrival, we were stressed after a long drive from London and thought we might be late for the Wales/Ireland rugby match kick off. Our rooms were ready, 2 hrs ahead of schedule. My husband and I had a suite! Totally unexpected. Beautiful and very comfortable. Exit doors from lounge led to a courtyard and gardens with fantastic views.
The receptionist booked a cab which arrived before we had dropped our bags off in the rooms.
When we returned later that evening, there were lots of residents sitting around having drinks. We sank into comfy sofas and joined the conversation. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were exemplary. Bright, bubbly engaging, and anything we asked for we got. While the kitchen was closed for the night, we got fab toasted sandwiches with crisps before heading to bed. Beds were extremely comfortable. If you are looking for a romantic weekend away, you would do worse than here. The views over Cardiff when we arrived back that night were fab, and spectacular the next morning. Throughly recommend it, and in the main because of the fantastic staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
759Alix, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to write such kind words regarding your stay at the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF83 1LY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to be awarded the highly acclaimed ‘PLUS’ status from the Best Western group. We join just 12 other hotels to have achieved such an accolade in Great Britain and only 121 globally.The ‘Best Western Plus’ status, launched in September 2011, categorises a selection of properties that now sit between the existing Best Western Premier and Best Western tiers. The tiers were created to give consumers more choice and clarity easing their decision making process, something that travel customers are increasingly searching for.Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.