We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Quay

Mermaid Quay
Cardiff Bay, Cardiff, Wales
CF10 5BZ
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 179 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Overlooking the Bay and with a chic, cosmopolitan atmosphere, Mermaid Quay is where Cardiff comes to relax.Just five minutes from the city centre, it's the perfect destination for relaxing, partying or splashing out on a bit of retail therapy or personal pampering.The wealth of waterfront restaurants, cafes and bars with menus from around the world mean there's something for every taste and pocket - from a quick snack to a leisurely, luxury meal.And, if it's laughs you're after, there's nowhere better than the Glee Club - one of the UK's top stand-up venues.Meanwhile shops and services range from stylish boutiques offering hot fashions & accessories, fine foods, fabulous furnishings and great gifts to Ken Picton's award-winning hair dressing salon & spa.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Went out of are way to go here. If u are looking for somewhere to eat... Bingo. However tourist vaule dont bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    115
    19
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogmore-by-Sea, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for a stroll and plenty to do and eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If I am out with my son Jamie, and not sure what to do/where to go, we always end up in Cardiff Bay. Usually something going on eg street artists/music/local produce stalls etc. Boat rides varying from A-B, cruises and fast boats getting you wet. All great fun. Plenty of restaurants to suit all tastes and bugets, plus a very good, tradional old Cardiff Docks pub called The Packet. All highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unbalanced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We wandered over to Mermaid Quay the first night we were in Cardiff. As far as shops go, there are very few. At least seem to be far more eateries than shops. There was an interesting place i wanted to revisit when it was open, an American candy type store, but I didn't get back around to it. There are soooo many place to eat and very few shops. I had wanted to check out some shops but there just were that many and many were closed on sunday.

There is a Tescos, express I think, there if needed. I wasn't impressed with the shops. I was very overwhelmed by the number of -places to eat. I was scouting out possible places for my birthday dinner, but many were chain places, or types of food I wasn't really interested in. I did find Eddie's Diner, which I did enjoy the first night I was in Cardiff. I'm sure there are other places to enjoy dinner at, but with so much to choose from, sometimes it is difficult to choose.

If you love to shop, then this is not the place for you. If you don't mind vast choice in eateries, then okay! This is a good place. The views of the harbour while you are eating is quite nice. You can even see a few places that they filmed parts of Doctor Who around there! I did enjoy walking around it, but with a desire to shop while I was around Cardiff Bay, I was disappointed in the shop selection here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

loads of differant shops and cafes,dinners etc....clean place friendly staff, had a great visit..............................

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The old blending with the new access to the barrage by the Norwegian church lots of bars and restaurants and of course the amazing Millenium Centre a sight to see

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Quay also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Mermaid Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.