We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable for short staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Cardiff Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable for short staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really like staying at this nice budget hotel in just the centre of Cardiff. The room is a quite good and calm. The bed is very comfortable. You can reach all city centre attractions by walk. Plenty of rest orange and shops are around.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
25
46
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here and although room was nice, and it was advertised as you will experience some road noise. From 2200 there was extremely loud music playing until 0500. As a family we got no sleep, there was no staff when we checked out so we could inform them of our disappointing stay.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Presume this one has had a recent facelift as it is of a better standard than some I have stayed in, only slight downside was the cleaning staff omitted to make up my room on 1 of the 4 days I was there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Travelodge have improved a lot in recent times, but this one is still quite old looking. It's location has plus and minus points. On the plus side, it's right in the city, which is good for a night out. It is just a few minutes walk from the bus and train stations for getting around. On the minus side, there are lots of pubs and clubs that make it noisy. I stayed on a Sunday and it was noisy. It would be worse on a Friday and Saturday. I was on the top (3rd) floor, so lower down would probably be worse. The other downside is the lack of air-con/temp control, as in many hotels these days. There was a fan, but if you stay here in the summer, this is not likely to be enough. The room was also smaller than most Travelodges
Enough of the negatives though. The beds are comfortable and the room is clean. There's a pretty large flat-screen TV as well.
Travelodge is a budget hotel. If you don't set your expectations too high, this is an adequate place for what it costs

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very near to Cardiif Central Rail Station. Convenient for city centre/ Millenium Stadium/ StDavids Hall & Motorpoint Arena. Reasonably priced. Clean and comfortable without being luxurious. Great Value For Money!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Be aware when making a reservation here that there's a chance they may, without informing you, cancel your original booking, make another completely random one, then charge your card with a 'no show' fee when you don't turn up!
Then when you attempt to sort with them, you'll not only end up paying for the extortionate call charges because they refuse to provide you with a landline telephone number, but will also probably have to deal with one of several uninterested, giggly and offish girls, that seem to think it's ok to be as rude as possible towards you, and speak to other people whilst they are on the phone to you. They'll pass the blame to any Tom, Dick or Harry rather than own up to their incompetence, and eventually accuse you of making the cancellations/bookings yourself!
I appreciate this is not a 5* hotel ...the staff alone reflect that ...but I do expect a certain standard of customer service when they are charging way over the odds prices for basic rooms.
I'd advise everyone to shop around before considering to give their hard earned cash to this establishment. There are 3 and 4 star hotels very nearby that charge less for their rooms, and the staff are far better trained in providing a welcoming, professional service.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are aware that you have been contacted by our Customer Services team and that this matter has now been resolved to your satisfaction. We apologise again for any inconvenience caused and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked in for 2 nights but ended up extending another night which the hotel accommodated.. the room was basic for Travelodge, but we had all the facilities we needed.. had a room at the back of the hotel room 219..very big.. On the upside the hotel is situated right in the middle of Cardiff city centre and with tourist attractions right on your door step there was more than plenty to do.. Cardiff castle was only 5mins away and the millennium stadium was 10 mins away.there is another bar near the stadium and has a very wide variety of beers on offer.. be WARNED that the shops shut early and if you like your tipple then bring it with you because the shops stop serving at 11pm..but the pubs however they will serve you till about midnight.. there is a club right outside the hotel which is open til 4 or 5 am in the morning every night ( ask for a room at the back of the hotel).. The staff were very helpful and top marks to the night team as they did a great job.. breakfast was the standard but you can eat all you want buffet which was ok ..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.