We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Cardiff Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Cardiff Central to your Saves list
Travelodge Cardiff Central
St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #42 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“to noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

stayed here for one night ,it is not for people who need a good nights sleep .Loud music from pub opposite till early hours of the morning .Room was clean and tidy,staff were very polite .hotel was in middle of refurbishment .very handy for train station .parking was expensive £18 for overnight ,if we went Cardiff again would stay out of town centre

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
18
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cam, Glo's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I would have gave an Excellent, I stayed in a disable room with Bath/Shower, I had a job to have shower the bath was to high to climb into to have a shower. very very bad for a disable room.Cardiff is a city well worth a look round with lots of eating and drinking place's


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Perfectly good staff in reception - no problems. Got to room - far too hot. Seemed to be a small heater type thing. Put it on cold setting but didn't do anything. No phone in room to ring reception either. So had to open window. Only opened a small amount but was very noisy until about 3am despite being a Wednesday night. Had to flush toilet several times as well in order for it to work properly. Not very impressed! Good for location as very near to station and castle and was adequate for the purposes of my trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of building noisy. Not sure about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Your first welcome to Cardiff Central is the signage - in a road surrounded by one-way streets the entrance is on a pedestrianised section and the public parking is 50m around the back by the station - at exorbitant city-centre prices. There is free street parking about a mile away - but thats no good when you heavy bags.

The hotel corridors look worn and shabby and the carpets stained. Obviously as you will find out this place is handy for the busy party city centre and not adapted or maintained to cope.

My room at the back of the hotel was very hot, which is unsurprising as there is a busy pub/club below and plant room above. But no air conditioning so the window opens onto the street where, until 4am different clubs discard crates of empty bottles into the commercial bins every 10 minutes... a really loud crash of breaking glass. After 4 you have only the diesel trains 100m away and the hum of the vent plant above. The neighbours have usually quietened down by then too.

I go to a hotel to sleep, not lie awake cursing all night. I recommend you go to one of the many competitor hotels.

Room Tip: avoid the 1st floor rear rooms at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment alastairrr. This particular hotel regrettably does not provide air conditioning however we do want our customers to be comfortable during the hotter summer months therefore we do offer fans at reception for our customers to borrow. In an attempt to reduce noise outside we do also provide double glazing and insulated walls however due to the central location it’s not always possible to completely reduce the noise outside of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel, is clean friendly and well priced. In the centre of town it is close to all amenities great bars, restaurants and site seeing attractions. The railway station is a short walk away. Excellent

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I spent the night at Travelodge Cardiff Central with a group. The hotel is in a pedestrian area on Queen Street. We had to park in a car park about a 15 minute walk away in Bute Park and pull our luggage to the hotel. When we walked into the ground floor of the hotel, we were met by a lift or elevator. The reception area was one floor up. This is the only area with air conditioning. The receptionist was friendly and check-in was easy.

We received Room 408. The room was clean, but very basic with no pictures on the walls. Our one small window had a view of the building's outside walls. For safety, the window would only open a few inches. The room was very hot, but we were given a fan after we walked back to reception, which helped tremendously. The room had a bed, a chair and desk with pot for coffee and tea. Shampoo and towels were provided. The bathroom was clean and modern with a shower. Free Wi-Fi was provided for 30 minutes.

We went out for dinner and didn't get back to the hotel until after 10 p.m. The door was locked, but we used our room key to access the building. There was lots of music outside, but our room was very quiet since our room was facing the back of the building and on the 4th floor.

We had the breakfast buffet and it was very good. The large attractive breakfast room was behind the reception area. There were plenty of food selections including a full English breakfast, plus cereal, fruit, muffins, juices, milk, etc.. There was plenty to choose from. Check-out was easy.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a basic clean room in the middle of the city where there's lots going on. The castle is nearby. Lots of shops and restaurants were everywhere.

Room Tip: Fourth floor was a quiet floor, especially those facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Uk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Hotel clean and well maintained, but right in the middle of Cardiff's party district. Great to stumble back to if you're on a rowdy hen or stag Do, but if you want a peaceful night...forget it! Thumping music and rowdy behaviour ALL night completely surrounding hotel. Hotel should be advertised as such.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Cardiff Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: St Mary's Street, Imperial Gate, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Cardiff Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.