We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Wales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in January 2013. The staff were cheerful and helpful throughout. We had a family room on the top (6th) floor with super views over west Cardiff. It was a typical Holiday Inn room and fairly well equipped. As usual the bath towels are very small but otherwise the room was clean and quiet. (we wouldn't like room 618 - right next to the noisy lift!).
The hotel is opposite Cardiff Castle and within a short walk of the shopping centre of the city. It's a short ride to Cardiff bay. Right next door is Cardiff Arms Park and next to that the Millenium Stadium. (it might be a bit lively on match days!) Parking is expensive at £10 a night.
The restaurant is fine with the usual H. Inn menu (try the mackerel bites) and breakfast was OK but the buffet was, as usual, only warm (if you want something hot, order poached eggs or and omelette - they are made fresh)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the great views from our 6th floor.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    221
    127
    35
    18
See reviews for
79
157
33
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

On the whole it's not much different than the other holiday inn I have stayed in before , but the only problem was charging £99 for the room is a bit too much. Rooms are clean and comfortable , service is quick and prompt, it's just there are better option for the same price or even cheaper.
Will definately visit again if I find some good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am sorry you felt the price was inappropriate for the time you stayed.

However I am glad you found the hotel to your satisfaction and would stay again. Please do check our prices when booking again in Cardiff, I am sure - as we take great care, that you will find us competitively matched against other hotels in the city.

Thank you for your review,

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The rooms were good quality and clean the staff were extremely helpful and the food was a good quality - we had a bar meal on the second night as the place was so busy - but again it was very good - As long as you book in advance you can get excellent room rates - the deplayed rates were very expensive. Breakfast was also very good

Ideal base for exploring Cardiff city centre - we were attending a competition in Sophia gardens - just a quick walk through a lovely park

Room Tip: Higher floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your response and for choosing to stay at our hotel, we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for weekend break in this 'chain' hotel. The rates are advertised at 200 pounds plus - now if I had paid that I would be fuming. The hotel is just grubby - my room was not cleaned properly - other people's hair and other residue in the bathroom. No attention to detail either - the edges of the carpets were filthy. Some of the staff look they are there on sufferance - miserable grunting bar staff with no smiles or pleasantries. Overall very poor experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am sorry you found aspects of your stay clearly below your expectations and our standards we aim for and regularly achieve as a company.

As we have discussed on the phone I have taken all your feedback, and will be using in a proactive manner in which to help us move our service standards forward, and remove isolated incidents such as those you have encountered during your stay.

My apologies once again, and thank you for your time taken to discuss this with me personally.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assam, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the one thing that stays with me about my one-week stay at the holiday inn was the wonderful buffet breakfast. You are spoilt for choice with an array of english breakfast items, beans, bacon, eggs, fruits, juice and salad to choose from. The young people who served tea/coffee, who i presumed to be university students, were courteous and spritely. the rooms are nice and cosy and its very quiet and peaceful. the millennium stadium is just behind the hotel and the castle is just a few paces. the hotel has a bar just next to the restaurant. and yes, its disabled friendly too, as i saw a lift from the lobby to the restaurant area, which is just a couple of steps really. on weekends theres a nice stream of people coming in to the bar and restaurant. and thats the only time you hear some noise and laughter and giggles, otherwise its quite silent all around. Overall, i'd say its a very nice place to stay, and with all the other good things, the best thing for me was the wonderful breakfast spread.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a great stay with us.

As with many of our customers , I am glad you enjoyed our super breakfast, and the rest of our service matched to complete your experience.

I hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Richard Platts
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my family. 2 adults 4 kids. The hotel gave us 2 rooms next to each other but not connected as requested. This hotel is ok but needs a bit of updating. The ground floor is ok with the bar and restaurant but the rooms are a bit dated.
Car Park to rear of hotel but no entrance into the hotel, you have to walk around the hotel up a fairly steep slope to get into the hotel.
Very strange but the towels in the bathroom were very small :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear GlynAtkinson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited this hotel to attend a family wedding. Ideal location for shopping and visiting local attractions on foot. Our room was not ready when we arrived although everyone else's in the party was. Bedroom and bathroom clean but maybe needs a little updating. The food was good and breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold items available.

Staff did not seem happy and did not smile even though we tried to engage them in conversation.

Overall due to the location I would visit again

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay when at a local wedding.

I am sorry that we let you down in a couple of areas, however with your stay being quite some time ago it is a little difficult to draw direct reference to.

Thank your for your comments, and I am sure if you give us opportuanity again, you will see us in our true light with some great friendly service for our dedicated team as the 'norm'.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.