We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well positioned.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This is a City Hotel near the Castle, shops, restaurants, bars. As usual with the Holiday Inn brand you get what you expect: a well managed Hotel with few surprises,... this is why I use the brand frequently. The rooms are comfortable, clean and more than adequate for the business traveller. There is on site parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    297
    163
    40
    24
See reviews for
103
202
44
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Not a great stay!!!! The bar staff were quite rude on the Saturday afternoon and said they wanted to go home, not great customer service!!! In the afternoon 6 of us decided to order lunch, 3 of us wanted the chicken goujon wrap mainly because of the sweet potato fries however when the food turned up there were no sweet potato fries just 'chips' when we enquired where they were both waitresses looked at each other and said there were none in stock surely this should of been mentioned at the point of ordering??? On the saturday night we returned back to the hotel at 12.30am and wanted a nightcap in the bar especially as the time was described as 'late' however the bar was closed!!! The night security guard suggested that we walk down to the bar with a red sign (Revolution) the whole point of going to the hotel was to have a quiet drink. He then preceeded to tell us that we could have room service but when we rang we were told we had to wait half an hour for three drinks!!!

Overall a disappointing visit mainly down to poor customer service which should be addressed ASAP

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsHICDFC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments and I am sorry that your experience with us was clearly not up to our usual standards.

Please be assured that I have taken your comments and fed them back to the team so that we ensure that instances such as these are not repeated for future guests.

Feed back is important to us and I am grateful that you have taken the time to highlight these issues, which are unusual for us to receive, as this does assist greatly in identifying training needs.

Thank you for staying with us , and once again my apologies.

kind regards

Richard Platts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was very happy, tea/coffee in room and overlooking Bute Park,staff very nice and quick check-in-everywhere on hand/shops/castle etc-room fit for our needs-There are groups of Hen parties next door to us,but did not bother us, I guess if you were older then you may want to change rooms,

would def stay here again **

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Bute Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Holiday Inn is right next to Cardiff Castle and Millennium Stadium and shops. Car park situated on hotel ground costs 10 pounds for 24 hours which is good compared to other car parks in vicinity. Staff were very helpful and available at all times to answer questions. Room spacious and bed comfy including offering choice of firm or soft pillows. Very pleased and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed here in May 2012 when in Cardiff on business. The location is good - very close to the Millennium Stadium and the city centre. There is an on-site car park, but beware it's quite small and gets very busy - it can also be difficult to exit the hotel as it's on a busy road.

The hotel reception staff were friendly and check-in was very quick.

The room I stayed in was clean and well decorated with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom however was tiny and I could barely swing a cat. With the size of the bathroom it would have been better to just have a shower and not squeeze in a bathtub. Also for what seems like a recently renovated room there should have been more effort in improving and remodelling the bathroom concept.

One other comment is that the room could have done with a pellet above the curtains - the curtains otherwise let in a lot of light and I kept waking from 6am as a result of the daylight seeping in. At breakfast I overheard a number of other guests making the same comment.

Breakfast buffet was good with a nice range of options. The service however was poor and despite being asked whether I would like coffee or tea, none was forthcoming and I had to request it several times. When the coffee did arrive it was poor quality (very weak and tepid) and was not a reflection of the rest of the meal.

Overall, a standard Holiday Inn stay. You know what you're going to get - a comfortable bed, clean room and a nice overnight place to stay away from home. But, if a couple of things were changed then it would have been excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel is nice, clean and fresh. We had a lovely room on the 6th floor overlooking the river which was very spacious. Enjoyed our stay here. Only let down by the fact that we had requested a late checkout twice, once on arrival and once the night before check out, and for some reason the message didn't get to the cleaning staff. We did eat at the bar one day and it was very good food. Would definitely stay here again, it is very central to the city center, but just far enough away so there isn't too much noise!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Having read such positive reviews on the Holiday Inn Cardiff Centre I was very much looking forward to our stay there in March 2012 and I wasn't disappointed. This Hotel is in an EXCELLENT location being a stones throw away from Cardiff Castle and a large shopping area consisting of shopping malls and cobble stoned streets lined with shops. Our stay started off very rocky with a succession of things that just weren't right. When we got up to our room we found that no sofa bed was made up for our children. The room was also incredibly hot and we couldn't adjust the temperature of the room. It was however unseasonably warm and the curtains of the room open taking in a blast of afternoon sun. Then our second card key wouldn't work. We rang reception and I have nothing but praise for their response. They immediately sent up the DUTY MANAGER and a colleague to make up the sofa bed themselves. They also adjusted our temperature in our room for that afternoon in order to cool the room down to an acceptable level. The key issue was also resolved quickly. With such great service our initial worries were quickly forgotten about. Our stay was very comfortable and despite staying in a "Double Bed with Twin Sofa", the bed was more the size of a Queen Bed which was a lovely suprise. As per all Holiday Inn's, there was a choice of firm and soft pillows which made the stay comfortable. There was also a wide variety of TV channels. Despite being near two roads, our stay was VERY QUIET. During our 3 night stay we parked our car in the Hotel carpark and didn't remove it once due to the excellent location of the Hotel. The City Sightseeing Red Bus departed from outside Cardiff Castle and with shopping centres and restaurants nearby, everything we needed was either in walking distance or on the bus route. We ate twice at the Hotel Restaurant and while like all Hotel food it was pricey, the service was lovely and food A+. On the second occasion we ate there my husband was unwell so myself the children went to the restaurant alone. When the waitress found out my husband was unwell and wouldn't be joining us she returned with a plate of herbal teas and told me to take them back up to my husband when we were finished dinner in order for him to feel better soon. What wonderful service!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1XD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Cardiff is situated between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, perfectly located for the business or leisure traveller. The hotel is easy to reach from the M4 and offers parking for up to 85 cars on site. Charges will apply. Cardiff Central Station is a 5 minute walk from the Holiday Inn Cardiff ,Cardiff Airport is a 30 minute drive. With the City Centre only minutes away, you can enjoy the Edwardian Arcades for shopping or visit the Cardiff Bay. The city offers many vibrant new restaurants and bars. The Holiday Inn is ideally located if you are visiting the Cardiff International Arena, New Theatre, or the St Davids Hall. The 157 bedrooms are all fully air conditioned and offer high speed internet access and are equipped with all the required facilities. Family rooms are available and we offer 4 accessible rooms, one with ceiling hoist track. The Hotel Bar offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere and serves refreshments and light snacks. The Restaurant serves a full a La Carte menu and Kids eat free. Callaghan's Bar, Relax in our Pub and watch live sports action on our large TV's. The Academy Conference offers 11 purpose build conference rooms. The largest conference room can accommodate 150 delegates in theatre style. All rooms have got natural daylight and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.