We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for over night stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Cardiff Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Cardiff Gate to your Saves list
Ibis Cardiff Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malthouse Ave | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Ideal for over night stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in February 2013. We were welcomed by friendly efficient staff, and given a complementary newspaper. The whole hotel was very clean and tidy, the bed extremely comfortable and the shower hot. With a TV and hostess tray, all you need for a couple of days' stay. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the M4, about 15 minutes drive to Cardiff city centre. Being on the services, there is a WH Smith, Starbucks, petrol station and Waitrose across the car park. Ample free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments. I'm happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Cardiff Gate very soon. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    142
    70
    19
    22
See reviews for
65
120
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallwyd
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis on 08 February 2013 - two adults and two teenage children. The rate was very good with breakfast and we stayed in two rooms. They were clean and breakfast was very good and very quiet for a Saturday and Sunday morning - 9.00am. When we arrived we realised that we did not have S4C on our television although it was listed. The young man on reception was unable to help. The following morning we asked whether it would be possible to get S4C on the TV in order for us to watch the game in Welsh upon our return to the hotel later that afterfnoon.
When we arrived back at 4.30pm they had managed to get S4C for us. Many thanks for the lady who helped with this request.
Basically this was a nice hotel - a little difficult to find but well worth it. The Toby Carvery was good value for £5.99. We will return quite soon I hope.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis hotel Cardiff Gate. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a clean and friendly hotel that has no frills but does what it says on the tin. The reception staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast has plenty of choice. For the price this was good enough for what we wanted, which was someone to sleep. There is plenty of parking and the service station is bang opposite should you need anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
I'm very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we're glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Cardiff Gate. Kind regards Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Ibis hotel in Cardiff Gate is a must if you need a quiet, comfy, relaxing stay. We arrived yesterday 2nd of Feb and were met by a lovely man on reception. The check in was quick and simple and we were directed to our room on the middle floor 224. Room was imaculate, could not fault it. Hotel had no issue with what time we arrived in this morning which is always a bonus. Bed very very comfy! Check out was again quick and simple. Would definatley stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: 224 is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Cardiff Gate. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here so close to a client the next morning due to weather. Arrived 10pm ish but was made welcome. Booking in process was simple and quick. Directed to room using the lift. Standard motel type of room with double bed, desk, TV and en-suite. Slightly dated but no complaints. Good night sleep with a simple check out.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to louge area so you get the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Cardiff Gate and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is supposed to have a bar but this is not so. It has been here some time so I do not understand why a bar is still at the 'application' stage. No soft drinks on sale but coffe is readily available.
Breakfast is far too expensive at £7.95 and the cooked food is unacceptable. Better to choose the all-day breakfast at the nearby Toby Inn £3.99 !
Room clean and bed very comfortable. However the TV went down with the snow and until the assistant manager arrived no-one had the inclination to cure the Sky Box reception - or call maintenance. Recompense was a free breakfast but see above for the quality !
The price we obtained well in advance was very good and better than Premier Inn.
The staff, all East European, were very pleasant but there was no sign at all of a hotel manager if problems arose.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor but not at the front since vans back up to the windows at night and leave their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiffgate, Manager at Ibis Cardiff Gate, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment. We appreciate all feedback. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we are looking into the matter. Kind regards, Kamilla Robak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Cardiff Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff Gate

Address: Malthouse Ave | Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pontprennau, Cardiff CF23 8RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Cardiff Gate is a budget hotel, located just outside Cardiff city centre. Book the hotel for access to the M4 as well as Cardiff gate Business Park. The 78 modern guest rooms all have Free Wifi throughout and satellite TV. You can enjoy breakfast ora light meal at the Café or relax with a drink in the friendly bar. There is a meeting room for up to 25 people, and free private outdoor parking available at the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for Cardiff Gate Business Park, Pentwyn and Pontprennau, and is a 15 minute drive from Cardiff city centre. Cardiff international Airport is 21 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Cardiff Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Gate Hotel Cardiff
Accor Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Cardiff Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.