We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but lacking in everything else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Cardiff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Cardiff to your Saves list
Ibis Cardiff
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
uk
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great location but lacking in everything else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stayed here once before we thought we would book again as we were going to a concert in Cardiff. Last time we didn't have any complaints but this time we noticed that the standard had gone down hill from the moment we arrived. The reception area looks dull and lacks any atmosphere and when we arrived there was the most dreadful smell. The receptionists did not have English as a first lanaguage and it all seemed very disorganised.
Our room, on the first floor was clean and tidy but the bed was dreadful - they say they have changed their beds - bring back the old ones, could hardly move in the morning the bed was so uncomfortable. On returning from the concert at 2245 the noise in our room from the cafe/bar across the road was deafening - not only could we hear every word of the songs but also every word when they were announcing them. Beware as this goes on until around 2330 on weekdays and well after midnight at weekends. We asked if we could move room but the hotel was full and the person who answered the phone was not in the least bit interested. When we were asked on departure if we had had a nice stay and we said we hadn't all we received in reply was "Oh!". There are plenty of other hotels in Cardiff with equally good locations, stay there instead. We shan't be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the Gwdihw Bar/Cafe as it plays very loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for your feedback. I was sorry that you stay did not meet your expectations. I will pass your comments to relevant departments in the hotel to see how we can improve. We hope to see you back and have hassle free stay. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    305
    149
    48
    42
See reviews for
74
267
92
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the ibis for one night only very clean and quite it's a great location right in the centre of town. We could see the trains from our room but could not hear them.we will use the hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 'Carol i I', many thanks for your nice words. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hi there, Great location yes - staff friendly: Yes. Rooms clean: yes but for the amount being paid here Thursday night (£50) - Saturday night (100£) I would expect more. I was told the wi fi was broken - I was not offered an alternative only a cable for 9.95 a night. This really is unacceptable when wi fi is being advertised. Also the noise loud music on Saturday night was just awful. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 'iggy/Tipperary, thank you very much for your comments. I was sorry that wi fi was not available during your stay. We had a shortage as we were upgrading our WI FI so we can provide now FREE WI FI to our guests. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed there a few days on a business trip. The place is good enough if the price is low. Depending on the room, it can be noisy (trains/car) and light easily filters through the shades. Other than that, the hotel is ok, clean and central. Room is big with double bed, desk and tv. The open closet is a little small. Bathroom is ok size for a person and shower is decent size. Personnel is very helpful.The hotel is 1 min walk from the city centre, maybe 5 minutes from all the shops and pubs, not to mention the castle and park. Public transport to the bay is around the corner. One thing: they're still installing free wifi (June 2013).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear 'd71', thank you very much for taking the time and writing your feedback on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and I am pleased to inform you that we have now upgraded our internet as we can provide FREE WI FI to our guests. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location but badly let down by poorly trained staff and lack of management organisation. The hotel public areas lack any atmosphere. The kitchen is undermanned ..." the chef is already preparing six meals ... I'll ask if he can take any further orders!!"....and quality of food is poor.The bar is very poorly stocked and trainee server unable to understand English or Welsh. Housekeeper seemed overworked hence rooms not properly cleaned or stocked.

Room Tip: plenty more better hotels in area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking your time and writing your comments here. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will address your concerns to the relevant departments. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was located at a great location, was walking distance from the town, Cardiff Castle, Millennium football stadium, SWALEC cricket ground and even a short taxi trip from Cardiff Bay. With a little walk from the hotel, you have 2 Tesco’s near you & 1 Sainsbury. A great little Thai restaurant called Thai house on the right hand side as you leave the hotel. The hotel has very friendly staff that helps you at any time of the day, the rooms are a standard sized room, with a very clean ensuite. Out of all the days we was here, only once was our room not cleaned, which I was not happy about as the staff even had asked me shall she return in 10 minutes as we was off to visit Cardiff Castle, on our return the room still had not been cleaned. Apart from this little hiccup the room was always tidied and we had new amenities put in our room each day and I did have a good sleep for each of the nights I had stayed here. For the price I would stay here again if I come to visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: Cant say as I had only stayed in 1 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear 'Iqs S'. Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to learn that overall your stay with us was enjoyeable. But I was sorry to hear about the other day that your room has not been serviced. I will pass this comment to my housekeeping Team. Thank you for letting me know. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain ash south wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

stayed for one night bedps very comfortable staff friendly great location breakfast not great but ok pubs in walking distance lots going on every whare in cardiff whent to cardiff city to see bon jovi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisCardiffGM, General Manager at Ibis Cardiff, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear 'kevin536'. Thanks for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Cardiff was great. I hope to see you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Jacek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Cardiff

Address: Churchill Way, Cardiff CF10 2HA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Cardiff 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free WI-FI throughout, a 24 hour reception, the Ibis Cardiff hotel boasts an ideal location in the centre of the capital of Wales. Only 500 m from the railway station and 20 km from the airport, the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Cardiff Castle, the shops of Saint Mary Street and the Millennium Stadium. In order to get the best car park rates, please make sure that you come to the reception first (there is a lay-by area where you can leave your car), so that you can do the check in and leave your bags. We will then explain you how to get to the car park we recommend, at £5 for 24 hours, and it's just 3 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Ibis
Ibis Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.