We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of mulberry st

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
mulberry st
high street | llandaff, Cardiff, Wales
Improve this listing
Ranked #477 of 1,003 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The best eaterys are now outside the city. The ambiance and staff here are really good and I love the small plates which are akin to Meza and Tapas. Good value for money just up from the Cathedral

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angouleme, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good but could fine tune”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Crab and Avocado Martini was fab as was the Lamb. Overall we liked our food with one exception. The ladies both had Moules which were nice in them selves but the sauce was inedible. Mopping up the juices is half the fun but it had to be thrown out. But overall we liked this place. Pleasant staff and good service. Good food and value. Would go back

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Great food with good service in centre of historic Llandaf. We go to this restaurant regularly and it is consistently excellent.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were in Cardiff for our wedding anniversary and had hoped to eat at a restaurant in town that turned out to be fully-booked. Friends who know Cardiff had recommended Llandaff and we certainly fell on our feet when we walked in here. Early on a Saturday night the place was half-full, which is all the more surprising given the warm welcome and excellent food at this neighbourhood restaurant.

The starters and main courses are best value and as another reviewer had siad, noticeably cheaper than the town centre. You could easily pay this much (£6-7 for starters and double that for mains) at a chain restaurant serving unimaginative dishes from a standard menu. The service was noticeably good: proper, fresh bread; advice on the menu; a carafe of water offered without being asked. We may have just had bad luck, but our dessert was straight from the fridge and not very exciting, I think this just reflects the chef's preferences. Proper Lavazza espresso made up for it.

A clever idea they have is 'little dishes' that are roughly a starter portion, a bit bigger than tapas. We had three between the two of us which was just right. Great for sharing and variety.

It's not that easy to get to escept by taxi, but well worth the trip (I don't drink much so was happy to drive there and back). We'll definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Twilight Supper with Cardiff Histories and Hauntings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Excellent value , good food served by pleasant staff in attractive venue.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mulberry st also viewed

 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to mulberry st? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mulberry st, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.