We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Reception venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Cathays Park | Cathays, Cardiff CF10 3ND, Wales (Cathays)
44-292-087-2000
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Cardiff City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #34 of 59 Attractions in Cardiff
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Reception venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have just returned from my cousin's wedding in Cardiff. The reception was held in the marble hall on the first floor of City Hall. From the moment the guests arrived we were all looked after very well. We had a champagne reception in the entrance hall which is a fabulous room in its own right. The staff were attentive and friendly in topping up glasses and also provided delicious welsh scones to keep us going until dinner. The Marble Hall was beautifully laid out for the wedding reception, with fabric covered chairs and ribbons, top quality tableware and elegant flower arrangements. All of this just added to the grandeur of the venue. With its artwork, marble pillars and statues, the place is impressive on its own. The 5 course wedding breakfast we were treated to was exactly that. Every course perfectly cooked and of a high quality, which isn't easy when catering for over 100 people. I have no doubt all this wasnt cheap, but it was certainly money well spent in my opinion.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Try it, it's free.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I always make a point of visiting the City Hall or equivalent building in U.K cities. This was one of the better ones.The Reception desk will supply you with a very good booklet which describes the history of the building and all about the paintings and sculptures on display.. You can go into the Council Chamber as well. It really is a well kept and beautiful building and worth 30-40 minutes of your time.It is next door to the National Museum and Gallery.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visited for the Childrens Literature Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Amazing building, friendly staff helped us find where we needed to go, I beleive they hold weddings here would make a lovely location

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Worth a call if you are combining with other civic buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Previously I have sat in the grand (marble) hall for a concert, a beer tasting event and a conference. It is an amazing hall and still in excellent condition including the fresco's on the ceiling.
Today I wondered along the corridors and had a good look at the sculptures (busts) and paintings. There is a lovely painting of Sir Winston Churchill receiving the Freedom of the City on 14/07/58 only days before I was born and when the British Empire & Commonwealth games were held in Cardiff. The receptionist was very helpful and worth speaking to upon arrival to establish if there are any areas closed that might disappoint your visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“City Hall Cardiff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Cardiff City centre is rated as one of the most beautiful in the world.The City Hall is a beautiful building,and the whole centre was planned as one entity,and it shows.I got married here fairly recently,and it was nice,apart from the solemnity of the occasion,to revisit a truly lovely building.The staff are helpful,and some of the rooms are amazing.
We had a great day there,and many thanks to Owen,the Registrar,who made the whole ceremony very relaxing,and a touch humourous.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.