We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Rural Sussex
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great value city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

When booking a city centre hotel, it is usual to find quite an impersonal service, however, this may be one of the exceptions to the rule. The staff were very helpful despite the hotel being packed with both guests & visitors to the many pre Christmas parties.

One important point was how quiet the hotel was, despite the above and the location.

Very well positioned for the sights & shops with a very nice breakfast included. It was a pity the meal we had in the hotel restaurant didn't live up to rest of the place.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear GandTRuralSussex,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we were able to break the normal city stereotype. Our team pride themselves on their customer service and I am pleased you experienced this first hand.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    396
    94
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
321
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a deal for a two night break which for a very reasonable cost for bed and breakfast also included a welcome cocktail and Welsh cream tea. The hotel is very close to the railway station but we could not hear any trains from our 7th floor room. While the room very similar to that in a Premier Inn etc., it was clean and comfortable, if a little small. However it was the service that stood out from the friendly, helpful staff. We enjoyed our free cocktail in the bar and the next day I enquired about the cream tea and was told it comprised of sandwiches, cakes and scones. As we were eating out that evening I asked if I could just have tea and scones and was pleasantly surprised to find that the scones were home made and freshly baked. My husband didn't come down for tea but as I could not eat the six mini scones myself I asked if I could take the remainder up to the room and the waiter offered to carry them for me. The plate there were served on had a flower motif, which on investigation was comprised of jam outlined in chocolate!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Jan81,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the service to be excellent. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I hope I can welcome you back in the New Year.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Again I am a Best Western fan, this is superbly located right next to the station and right next to all the bars and restaurants. The hotel is modern and well furnished and clean. breakfast is buffet type and just what you need if you did not do "solids" the night before. Imagine if you were here for an event at the millennium stadium you could not get any more convenient place, Highly recommend it and this is my third stay and all the rooms are great

Room Tip: They all have views some better than others, but not really important
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear BillCRochdale,

Thank you for your superb review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your loyalty to our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The family rooms are too small and the beds are uncomfortable, the rooms do not have anywhere to sit unless you sit on the beds. The rooms are more suited to a single not even a double. Luckily we were only staying one night as we only got 2 hours sleep. due to noisy inconsiderate guests and the poor beds. The staff were advised of the problems with other guests but seemed disinterested.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Anon823,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a City Centre Hotel, at weekends we do, for time to time, experience noise from other guests on corridors. We have a proactive security team on site to address these very issues when they occur. Had this matter been highlighted to them on the evening our team would have been happy to address this promptly, ensuring the remainder of your stay was as peaceful as possible.

If you would like to discuss this matter future I would be delighted to speak to you directly.
Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

this hotel is superbly located for everything central to cardiff - station, shops and millenium stadium are all within a stones throw.
parking as with all central Cardiff hotels costs extra nad is not "on site", however don't let this put you off.
The room was pristine and comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.
my only slight criticism (and the reason I didn't give it 5/5) was that it, like so many places, lacks personality - no individual touches to make it different from any other very good hotel.
I would though highly recomend and stay there again without a moment's thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

I appreciate your recommendation and your kind comments on Tripadvisor. As a 3 star hotel we rely on our staff to offer the warmth and personality needed for our city center welcome. I am pleased you found the team to be helpful and friendly.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a midweek visit to Cardiff and will definitely return here!
Check-in was swift and easy, receptionist very polite and efficient.
Room was clean, bedding crisp and towels fluffy.
Buffet-style breakfast both continental and "full English' was tasty and plentiful - and "Samantha" the waitress was a breath of fresh air!! So polite and helpful, not just to us but to all the guests that were there!!
This hotel is perfect for the centre of Cardiff and all it has to offer, we parked in the NCP opposite but it is just a 3 min walk from the station.
Will return and will recommend - the staff are an asset to the manager!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Eleri,

Thank you for your generous review on tripavdisor. Samantha is an asset to the team and I am delighted you experienced her excellent customer service first hand. I will pass on your kind comments to both Samantha and her line manager.

I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Perfect location - handy for station and restaurants. A Wetherspoon pub next door. Great help-yourself cooked breakfasts. My room was immaculately clean, only problem (like in about half of all British hotels) was no detachable shower head. Are they afraid we're going to drop them and crack the shower tray?

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear devon_curryholic,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your review on tripadvisor.

I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Address: St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Maldron Hotel in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th of May 2011. Located in the heart of the city on St Mary Street, the Maldron Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Cardiff City Centre adjacent to Cardiff Central Railway Station. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Best Western Plus Maldron hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•Stir Restaurant & Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 8 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.