We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was spending just the one night here before a day working in Cardiff.

Very clean and comfortable room, which was surprisingly quiet, given the hotel's location next to the railway station and main road.

Good location, close to the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Kevin E

I would like to thank you for leaving a short but commendable review on tripadvisor.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    400
    97
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
326
49
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shavington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Modern, clean and very comfy roomwhich has all you'd expect. Good breakfast. I didn't have an evening meal here but the menu looked fine. Close to the rail station and a short walk to the centre of Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Andy M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brief but wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted we had everything you expected and your room was clean and comfy.

Benevolent Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed with group friends .. for a 3 star hotel its really nice.. rooms look very modern and bathroom is lovely. the staff in hotel were really friendly. was disappointed we didnt have most channels as we didnt have music ones, cause there was no signal but called down to reception and they had look and there was nothing could do. i dont think rooms cleaned properly tho as there was other people hair on the bedroom floor and my friend had a stain left on her mirror of something some one had drawed and marks in her bed. but my room was fine no problems. would defo return for a hotel to stay for a night out in cardiff! & i forgot the beds are soo comftable better than my own :)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Kathybambeno,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am disappointed your room cleanliness wasn’t up to standard and will pass on your comments to our housekeeping manager to ensure continuous high standards on your return visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found this hotel to be comfortable, clean and excellent value for money.The room and bathroom were spacious and light, the bed comfortable with a big, flat-screen TV. Despite being right next to the train station, the room was very quiet (with the window closed) and it was also equipped with a good sized ironing board and iron which proved to be very useful. In addition to this the service was excellent. During our stay my suitcase broke and I had to replace it, leaving a large cardboard box which the hotel staff were happy to remove for me. We would definately stay here again and would reccomend this place to anyone looking for a good quality hotel in a very central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Sophie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor .I am delighted you found our service to be excellent and our hotel to be of good quality. I appreciate your kind recommendations and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked to stay here via Voyages Privee and got an absolute bargain. We were visiting Cardiff for a concert, but as the hotel was so reasonable booked for two nights. The hotel is in a great location for the station, the Millenium Stadium, bars, restaurants and John Lewis. There is nearby parking, but beware the NCP which is hellishly expensive. More reasonable is the station car park, but even that's not cheap.

The hotel is new and nicely decorated. For some inexplicable reason our room slept three, so the double bed was on the small side. Apart from that the room was good.

The buffet breakfast is quite good, but importantly for us, the coffee is real and very drinkable!

Room Tip: See if you can get one without a second bed - maybe the double will be bigger than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Exetergourmets,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be perfect for your needs. We do offer a 20% discount in the NCP Wood Street car park for all our guests in the hotel. On your return visit please ask reception for details on our parking facilities.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Now that this is a BW+ hotel it has just got even better. Friendly right from the word go, with great staff, quick check in and check out. Difficult to find fault - only two niggles - 1) the Sky TV in the room did not seem to work properly, and 2) the bar was severely lacking in the range of spirits - only Smirnoff Vodka for example - no premium vodka at all. Having said that, the room was large, clean and had a splendid view across the city to one side, and the docks and port to the other. excellent breakfast too, and a good nights sleep. Don't bother even looking at Sleeperz, the Maldron is a done deal :)

Room Tip: Upper floors (7+) for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Glenn A,

Thank you for your glowing review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you found the hotel to be a “Done Deal” . I am disappointed that you found our Beverage offerings to be lacking, I will pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager so we may work to improve our product.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel very soon.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst in Cardiff to see a concert. The Hotel is situated a short walk from the Central Train Station with a NCP car park just over the road. A Wetherspoons, Walkabout Pub and lots of other pubs close by. St Davids Shopping Centre is about a 3 minute walk, which has a great variety of shops in. There are also restaurants just across the road before heading into town e.g Carluccios, Bills, Wagamama etc etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and tidy, they are equipped with tea/coffee amenities, iron, hairdryer and toiletries, tv, alarm clock, towels all provided. The beds were really comfortable and had a good nights sleep. We booked two twin rooms and each room had a double bed and a single bed. We paid £9.00 for the buffet breakfast the night before and were told that if we decided to have breakfast in the morning its £12.00 so definitely recommend booking the breakfast the night before. The breakfast was unlimited with full english, cereal, fruit, yogurt, continental etc, really good choice and very nice. We did really like the fact that as we returned late from our night out the Security Guard asks you on entry which room and then you have to give your name so he can check your on the list, this made us feel very safe to think they are checking people who are coming in at night. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel if you want to be close to the centre of Cardiff for shops, bars etc at a good price in a nice comfy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Kingston1Devon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Maldron Hotel Cardiff on tripadvisor. I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay and felt safe when returning to the hotel at night, as our guest’s safety is paramount to us.

On your next visit feel free to visit our Deluxe in house restaurant and bar in the hotel.
Kind regards

Daniel Burgin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Address: St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Maldron Hotel in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th of May 2011. Located in the heart of the city on St Mary Street, the Maldron Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Cardiff City Centre adjacent to Cardiff Central Railway Station. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Best Western Plus Maldron hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•Stir Restaurant & Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 8 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.