We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales (City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My friend & I stayed here at the weekend as we attended the Gary Barlow concert at the Motor point arena. We got the train into Cardiff and the hotel was literally right next door with the arena a two minute walk away. Upon arriving early our room was ready for us on the 10th floor. Excellent views from up there and the room was spacious, clean and very smart. Reception staff very freindly and helpful. My only gripe was that you can't open any windows so have to rely on air con for cooling. We didn't pay the extra for breakfast (£9 pp) but all in all I couldn't fault our one night stay. I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again. We paid just £69 for a twin room and this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Leeca69,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned for Health & Safety reasons we are not permitted to allow the windows to be opened in the bedrooms without signature of a disclaimer form. Reception would be happy to organize this for you on a return stay to Cardiff.

I hope you enjoyed the Gary Barlow Concert and you will stay with us again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    400
    97
    14
    13
See reviews for
143
326
49
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

stayed here for the weekend fri/sat 4th Jan, we found the reception staff most helpfull and a warm welcome on arrival. The barman was also very polite and helpfull on his knowledge of the area.The domestic staff did a fab job , even knocked on the door Sat morning to check if we wanted our rooms cleaned.Was first visit to this Hotel and Cardiff, but no hesitation will come back and stay again on next visit without any doubt.The view from the 11th floor where we were was fantastic, I think the best place to be.!!

Room Tip: Go for the 11th floor, fantastic views and trains noise very low
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Charlie W,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. The team pride themselves on their level of customer service and I am delighted you experienced this first hand.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent a night with a family friend in Maldron and it was very pleasant! Clean bathroom and room. Room was spacious enough for me since there was only a bed. Might be a little tight for a family with 2 kids. Although our rooms was right next to the train station, no one heard the passing trains. Central location! 5 minutes walk to Sant David's Hall where there's plenty of shops, eateries and cinema. 10-15 minutes walk to Cardiff Castle. Was a very pleasant stay! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SuLiP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted we exceeded your expectations.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Used the hotel when we went to gary barlow concert at international arena. Location was fab, just a 5 minute walk to arena and shopping centre. There is no parking at the hotel but an ncp car park is 2 minutes away and you get a discount ( does still cost about £15 although we did see some car parking spaces after the entrance to the car park, but outside which were only £5 so look for those)the hotel is lovely, very smart. The staff were very very good, with one of the managers coming up to us for a chat at breakfast! We were on the 11th floor and could see right down to Cardiff bay. The room was great with air con and very comfy beds. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you could want. We got a really good deal on the room so we're delighted. Would def recommend and will be back for more shopping!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear kevsue,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write such a fantastic review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and am glad to hear you will return to us in the future.

I hope you enjoyed the concert and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Clean, pleasant hotel with nice views from higher floors. If you book early, double rooms are available for under £50 per night. For a hotel of this standard, this was extremely good value!

The situation is at the top of St Marys street, backing onto the railway, so I imagine on the lower floors you may get some train noise, although this wasn't a problem on the 8th floor. The situation of the hotel is ideal to access the shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear ARC81,

Thank you for your brief but glowing review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed at this hotel on 15th december and we thought it was great
it was clean and modern and even though it was right next to the train station/line we were on the 9th floor and we were NOT distrubed by the trains
on each floor is an ice machine and the bar was very nice

there is 24 hr food service and it was reasonably priced too!!!

i would definatly stay here again, i'd make sure that the room was near to the top of the hotel

Room Tip: make sure your room is on or near the top floors to keep noise to minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear smiler12,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back for a return trip to Cardiff where I would be happy to allocate you a room on the 11th Floor.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Maldron Hotel Cardiff for a weekend in late December and couldn’t have been more impressed. The hotel isn’t more than 150 metres from the station which was a real convenience for us, having arrived via national rail from London. Despite the proximity, noise wasn’t an issue at all and our stay was a peaceful and relaxing one.

Check in wasn’t scheduled until 2pm but, wanting to make the most of our weekend, we arrived at 10am in the hope that the hotel would hold our bags for us so we could explore the city until such time as we were able to check in. To our delight, the staff checked us into a room on the spot and we were able to get settled and head out exploring without having to worry about coming back in the afternoon to check in. We were stoked!

The room itself was cosy and clean. The bed was remarkably comfortable, the bathroom was clean and spacious and there were all the creature comforts you’d expect – things like comfortable robes, a nice large TV and free wi-fi in your room and throughout the hotel.

We had opted not to include breakfast in our initial booking but had a change of heart and added it on at £9 per person. The buffet was worth every pound and the service was, once again, brilliant.

In terms of location, the Maldron Hotel Cardiff is positioned perfectly. Set close enough to all the action, a short walk from all the major sites and attractions, but still far enough away to get away from it all after an action packed day of exploring.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaldronHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Chris W,

Thank you for your fantastic review on tripadvisor. We pride ourselves on our customer service skills and I am delighetd you experienced this first hand.

I hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel in the future.

Warm Regards,
Alison Mansfield
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff

Address: St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1GD, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Maldron Hotel in Cardiff City Centre opened on the 16th of May 2011. Located in the heart of the city on St Mary Street, the Maldron Hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Cardiff City Centre adjacent to Cardiff Central Railway Station. Millennium Stadium is only a short walk from the hotel. The 12-story Best Western Plus Maldron hotel Cardiff comprises of 216 air-conditioned guest rooms as well as bar, restaurant and meeting rooms. Facilities at a glance: •216 air-conditioned guest rooms• FREE Broadband & wireless internet access•Cardiff city centre Hotel•Stir Restaurant & Bar•Dedicated Business centre - 8 state-of-the-art Cardiff conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Maldron Hotel Cardiff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.