We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cardiff Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sonehouse
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed here to attend a rugby match at the millenium stadium, easily walkable distance from city centre. Had 3 in a room, plenty of space and very comfortable. Breakfast above average, lots to choose from and till noon on weekends. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    579
    175
    47
    17
See reviews for
341
529
73
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

I chose to stay at Novotel Cardiff after a bellow par stay at the (much cheaper) Mercure Lodge, and so I can't help but to compare the two. Unfortunately the Novotel disappointed me on most fronts. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller, the walls are thin (I can hear someone else's TV as I type this), the shower's in the bath and they want £10 a day for internet(!) which I don't think is made clear enough on their website. On the plus side the TV's nice and big, the bed's very comfy and there's an iron and sofa-bed in each room. There's a pool too if that's your thing.

  • Liked — TV
  • Disliked — Price of internet, thin walls, cost
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Nice hotel close to city centre.

Staff very friendly especially the check in supervisor, who was staying in the hotel that night with her daughter. We booked three rooms for one night and got nice rooms on the top floor.

Did not use leisure facilities but pool looks great.

Bar is very modern.

Great breakfast in the morning.

Charge for car park which is silly as the barrier was up the whole time we were there.

Only 5/10 minute walk into city. Would not recommend ladies walk back to it at night as its in a red light area. We could see lots of kerb crawlers driving up and down picking up ladies.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens,greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

I stayed here four days while i checked my daughter into uni.Everything was great.I stayed on the 3rd floor which was quiet,the room was cleaned each morning by friendly housekeeper who gave me extra coffees,sugars,ect. We went for the breakfast which was really good and had both hot and cold foods as well as fruit bar.The reception staff were super friendly.the pool looked nice and clean but i did not use it.the hotel is a short walk from both the bay and city centre but far enough away to avoid all the construction noise and main street all night party people.I highly reccommend this hotel!

  • Liked — it was quiet and friendly hotel staff
  • Disliked — if i had to say something,the shower doors take getting used too
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel on the 24th August 2008. This was our first stay at this hotel, even though we've both stayed in many Cardiff hotels. It was a last minute booking that I made on Ebay, as it was the evening of Madonna's concert. We paid £150 for a double room, including breakfast.

We arrived at the hotel in the morning, which was a bit early for check in, but we were able to leave the car in the hotel car park, which was really handy. We actually left the car in the hotel car park throughout the stay, which was great.

We were allocated a room on the first floor. The room was clean, very spacious, the bathroom was great and the bed was massive.

We had a meal in the hotel bar prior to leaving for the concert, it was lovely.

The breakfast was great and plently for everyone.

The hotel is ideally located within a short walking distance of the city centre and the Millenium Stadium.

The staff at reception seemed very helpful with all of our enquiries.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The huge double bed!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights on 6th September. Finding the hotel was easy as it was signposted, there were plenty of spaces in the car park and Check in was simple and quick.

We had a room on the 3rd floor and the room was very nice, bathroom was ok, I say only ok, as the shower screen was a poor design (designed to fold back so was in two pieces and water dripped through the gap between the two onto the floor). But the bed was really comfy - not sure it was all the walking we did but we both slept so well.

Hotel is in a good location, with very easy access to the city centre. and is also on the route for the open-top bus.
Breakfast was lovely, with a good choice of both hot and cold food. We did eat in the hotel restaurant on one night (its the same menu as in the bar) and the service and food was very good, and choc dessert was excellent!

The pool and spa area was okay, it was very quiet when we used it and the area was clean so no complaints there.

In fact my only complaints about the hotel are quite minor - the hotel decor was very nice with the exception of the carpets - all the carpets (in our room and main areas) looked a bit grubby and therefore did spoil it a bit. My other complaint is paying for parking - i understand that it doesnt want non-residents to use it but then surely you could make it free for people who have stayed there!

All in all I enjoyed my stay and would go back to this hotel!

  • Liked — the comfy bed and location
  • Disliked — carpets and paying for parking
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Booked a two day stay on priceline and received a great deal - arrived at the hotel just after 10am and was suprised to be checked-in with no problem at all and allocated a room on the top floor away from the main road (I asked for a quiet room).

Arrived at the room and very happy with the size and amenities including a large sofa and a bathroom with a separate shower stall and bath.

Small items like only plastic cups and room only serviced once a day - but this was not really a problem. Used the pool which was a nice size.

Easy walk to the millenium centre and mermaid quay (10 mins walk) and about 5 minutes from city centre.

I asked reception about my journey back to the airport and was infomed that there is no buses/trains to the airport, but the taxi is a cheap price of £28 one way.

I knew this wasn't the case and on walking to the train station - a train leaves to Rhoose Valley every 41 minutes past the hour and a small bus is waiting to pick you up to take you to the airport. Cost is £3.00 per person.

One word of caution - hotel no longer offering the £7.50 breakfast anymore, this has now went upto £12 per person per day.

I walked into Mermaid Quay and had a great breakfast overlooking the river which was cooked to order.

  • Liked — Large sized rooms
  • Disliked — Lack of staff knowledge & breakfast cost increase
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at Millennium Stadium and shops, restaurants and entertainment at Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, superb indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. Guests on a business trip will find WiFi internet and nine meeting rooms at their disposal including The Warehouse, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 10 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cardiff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.