We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cardiff Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
BATH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here as a couple on Saturday 2nd Feb, Really nice hotel in a great location we had a room on the top floor. The rooms are spacious and the bed was comfy and the pillows lovely and soft. All the staff we met were very helpful and polite, Another good thing is the the hotel has a large car park. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening as we were just B&B but the evening menu looked and smelt very nice and the Breakfast which we had was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you both had an enjoyable stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and found your room both comfortable and spacious.

I hope that next time, you will have an opportunity to sample the evening menu and that it matches your enjoyment of your breakfast.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    580
    176
    47
    18
See reviews for
343
530
73
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

It is 15mins walk to shops and 15mins walk to the Bay and restaurants. The breakfast was great and the staff who served it were helpful and friendly. The reception staff were efficient (they changed a stained chair in our room immediately) but not as friendly and smiley. We stayed two days but our room wasn't serviced at all (not good) and the one biscuit between the two off us on the tea tray was a little annoying. I would still recommend as the bed was comfy and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments.

I am pleased that you found the staff efficient and friendly and i note your additional comments that will be discussed with the Management Team.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, we'll be able to welcome you back for an even better stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Came and Stayed for half term with the family. Easy to find and only a 15 min walk from the city centre. Staff were very helpful, rooms were clean and the kids loved the pool and jacuzzi. Asked for a taxi to get us to the football stadium to watch brighton beat cardiff-there within 10 mins. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. All staff were helpful and chatty. Definately stay again. Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review.

I am delighted that you and you family a 'great stay' at the Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast, leisure facilities and the service.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brecon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We booked on for a Sunday night stay through Laterooms.com at £52.50. Exceptional value for a centrally situated 4 star hotel in Cardiff. Room newly furnished with plenty of space and very clean. Public spaces classy and very good gym.
Two negatives.1) Parking at £9.00 too expensive considering there is street parking available nearby.2) No free WiFi but you can use the communal computers in the lobby, free for half-hour.
Staff polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback.

I am pleased that you found the hotel 'exceptional value' and note your additional coments regarding WiFi. I am pleased to say that we are soon to be introducing free WiFi throughout the hotel and if you have any queries about this, please do not hesitate to contact us on 02920 475000.

I hope that we can welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fantastic staff...courteous and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Great base for the city although would recommend a taxi to Cardiff Bay. Not a great walk after dark. Cote brasserie in mermaid quay was excellent. The hotel was very clean and has excellent facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind comments.

I am delighted that you received a high level of service and enjoyed your breakfast during your stay with us.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, you will choose the Novotel Cardiff Centre

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was fairly cheap at about £90 a night for a 4 star, with a pool and gym; it is close to the City centre and to Cardiff Bay, is easily accessible by car and has good secure parking.
The hotel lived up to these expectations, and proved clean, quiet and comfortable, though I found the bed a bit soft. Wouldn't bother with the executive room, didnt use dressing gown or slippers, or limited free wifi (I carry my own mifi) and Nespresso didn't work - only 2 capsules of caffienated coffee anyway.
Room unusual in havibg seperate toilet, slightly cramped though the upside is a brilliant spacious bathroom with seperate bath and non leaky shower, and sapcious bowl and shelving
My wife tells me the pool and fitness suites were both good and clean, and even though it was half term wasnot overcrowded
Location good, though it is a 7/8 minute walk to the city centreand about 20 minutes to Cardiff Bay. There is an extensive vacant plot opposite on Hrebert St/Tyndall St which will become a building site but is no problem at present
Bar ok but slightly expensive, and no craft or local beers, though within 5 minutes walk on Scooner Way there is a Brain's pub and the City centre does not disappoint

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you found the location convenient for your needs.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, we can provide you both with an even better stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at Millennium Stadium and shops, restaurants and entertainment at Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, superb indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. Guests on a business trip will find WiFi internet and nine meeting rooms at their disposal including The Warehouse, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 10 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cardiff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.