We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Staff and Friendly Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cardiff Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge Staff and Friendly Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

On arrival a very friendly welcome, even though I managed to break the car park ticket machine and nearly broke the pen when signing in.
We had a room on the top floor which would have been a big problem if we were old and infirm and the lift had broken....happily neither was the case.
The room was clean large and had also had a large balcony which would have been more useful if the rain had stopped.
The breakfast was amazing, we would stay again just for that.
The pool and leisure facilities were excellent, just the thing for working off that breakfast.
Also staying at the hotel was the little guy who played R2D2 in Star Wars and friend of Ricky Gervais, I forgot his name though.
The only downside were the pens on elastic string in reception, if I were smaller or a child, could have took my eye out...happily neither was the case.
There was a man who was a bit loud by the pool but he didn't stay long.
Overall very happy with our stay, can highly recommend. One of the nicest we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Room 512 has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre and that you particularly liked the friendly welcome, breakfast and leisure facilities.

I hope that on your next visit to Cardiff, you will choose to stay with us and I can welcome you both back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    580
    176
    47
    18
See reviews for
343
530
73
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at this Novotel and found the staff excellent and very welcoming.
The hotel is about 7-8 minute walk from city which is fine.
Car park is very secure and £8 fee to park.
The pool and gym great.
Breakfast is excellent as good as any 5 star hotel for quality and also service.
I would like to thank all the staff and will use you again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service, the leisure facilities and indeed the breakfast.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just stayed at the Novotel Cardiff. I stay at probably a hundred hotels a year and this was the warmest welcome I've yet had from a Reception team, Monica booked me in and was extremely welcoming and efficient. I had stayed once before when there were a different team there and the service hadnt been as good. However I will definitely stay again. The bar is decent, food good and rooms Ok. However the welcome from the staff (especially Monica who booked me in) was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at the Novotel Cardiff Centre.
I am delighted that you had a 'great welcome' and will pass on your compliments to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire wales
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

i would recomend this hotel if you get it cheap enough !!!!
we payed £65 B&B for a double
breakfast was very nice, lots of choice, and good quality sausages!!!
DINNER dont bother !!!!!
all three of us had different things and none off them were really good... not bad enough to complain, but would not have a evening meal if we stopped again.
the location is not bad about a 5-10 mins walk to the city centre, we did it in the day but wouldnt do it at night
We used the pool which was nice... but the changing rooms were freezing

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and i note your comment regarding the dinner, which i will discuss with the Head Chef.

I hope that should you choose to stay with us again, we will have the oppoirtunity to welcome you and your family back for a pleasant stay.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembrokeshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

last minute booking for a night in cardiff stayed at the novotel reasonably priced room.the room was clean and roomy blackout curtains work well first time in ages slept through alarm.the spa with gym and pool,sauna were spotless and really nice just to unwind after a hard day christmas shopping.all in all a great time with a taste of luxury

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel.

I hope that on your next visit, we will have the opportunity to welcome you both back.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel several times. The hotel is a converted factory with a great atmosphere. You can walk to Cardiff Bay in 15 mins and into the centre of Cardiff in 10 minutes.
The pool is lovely and clean, although a lot busier with children this time due to half term.
We stayed in an executive room which is massive and the bed was so comfortable.
This time on arrival the receptionist couldn't find our booking and I did feel the way she handled it was rude. She just said she had no reservation in our name and wasn't prepared to help. After a lot of haggling and her insistance that there wasnt a booking, she finally realised they had the forename and surname around the wrong way! Even with the reservation number she was saying there wasn't a booking!! She was extremely rude and unhelpful and have never experienced them to be like that before.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback. Whilst i am pleased that you enjoyed and have enjoyed your visits at the Novotel Cardiff Centre, I will discuss your comments with the Front Office Manager and will address accordingly.

I hope that on your next visit, we will be able to serve you in a way that you have become accustomed to.

Kind regards

Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at Millennium Stadium and shops, restaurants and entertainment at Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, superb indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. Guests on a business trip will find WiFi internet and nine meeting rooms at their disposal including The Warehouse, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 10 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cardiff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.