We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th visit here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Cardiff Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Cardiff Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Cardiff Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“6th visit here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

6th time here , and as usual excellent, helpful staff at reception, clean tidy room and bathroom,asked for room facing car park as quieter, pool area clean as was the jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms and I was the only one in there both mornings! Breakfast excellent as were the waiting staff . easy to get to the bay about 10 min walk or town about 5 min walk . Parking on site bit steep at £8 day and Internet extra too. Would have given it 5 out of 5 but hallways looking a bit tired on the third floor and our bathroom had plumbing problems.
Would def recommend and stay again, nothing is too much trouble forthe staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room attend of corridor facing car park for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you continue to be a regular guest at the Novotel Cardiff and continue to enjoy your visits. I note your comments regarding the corridor and have discussed with our Maintenance Department. I am glad that we were able to accomodate your request and I hope that on your 7th visit, we are able to exceed your expectations.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    579
    175
    47
    17
See reviews for
341
529
73
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Second time we have booked via late rooms for this hotel, excellent value for money £63 for one night excellent lesuire facilities which we didn't use this time. 5 minute walk into town, will defiantly use again .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review of Novotel Cardiff Centre. I am pleased that you found the hotel/services 'excellent value for money' and that you intend to stay with us again. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed at the Novotel, Cardiff for one night with three rooms for family members. Excellent stay - everyone was impressed by the hotel. Ten minute walk into the Bay area and hotel was wonderfully quiet during the night (have previously stayed in city centre and was unable to sleep because of the 'night life noise'). Good value breakfast, particularly with the book online in advance saving! Slight problem getting in and out of shower cubicle as door opens at strange angle, but otherwise, a lovely, hot shower! Will definitely stay here again! Actually, the more I think about it, the longer this review gets - must also mention the very welcoming, friendly staff! Well done, Novotel, you have definitely got this one right!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and i look forward to sharing your review with the staff. I look forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night just before Christmas. In truth , it was the only central hotel we could find with short notice availability but we were not disappointed. Service in reception, bar and restaurant (breakfast only in our case) was impeccable and friendly. The room was well- furnished, clean and had all the modern amenities. Only the perfectly adequate but functional bathroom with limited toietries was a reminder that this is broadly in "budget" range of hotels. Breakfast is a buffet but one of the better ones and friendly staff worked hard with tea/coffee/clearing and dealing with special requests. The hotel was full but an expanded parking area seemed to accommodate all guests and the hotel is only a short walk from the station and Cardiff's new shopping Centres. The hotel had a pool which we didn't have time to use. We'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoy themselves and the service/facilities come with recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had two very good days spent at The Cardiff Novotel, friendly helpful staff and a great breakfast to set you up for the day. Just a 10 min walk into the town center.
could do with free WiFi even if its in the bar area, it might make clients by a drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable couple of days with us, that you were pleased with the service and that your breakfast was 'great'. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night as guests at a wedding. The hotel was excellent for the rates charged. Apart from the usual restaurant and bar, the hotel offer a fitness suite and pool.
The staff were very accommodating and all areas were spotlessly clean.

The location of the hotel is ideal for those who want to enjoy the delights of Cardiff and The Bay with plenty of shopping, entertaiment and a vast chioce of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. The team will be delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and that we were able to add to what was an enjoyable wedding event at the Novotel Cardiff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Novotel Cardiff centre has seen some of the old dockland buildings beautifully restored to a chic, modern hotel at obviously some considerable cost. A light, airy reception with equally airy staff greet you with smiling efficiency. A double roon at £72 is I think very resonable and the bar stays open until 5am. The glass elevator speeds you to your floor with wonderful views outside. The rooms are modern and very comfortable as you would expect from such a top class hotel. The bar is open and bright and also very modern with vibrant staff. I ordered a bottle of beer and a bottle of cider, "NINE POUNDS FIVE PENCE!" he smiled over the hubbub of the bar, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzip! went the needle off the vinyl in my head! Have I been transported to Soho or Norway by uber chic elevator? Call me old fasioned but NINE PONDS FIVE PENCE? I wanted a drink not to pay the restoration bill! You won't find me in this bar at 5am. So after a very comfortable nights sleep we decide to leave and hand our car park ticket to the nice lady on reception who pleasantly charges us Eight Pounds to leave with our car. A lovely hotel but park your car elsewhere and don't drink at the bar!

Room Tip: Rooms are pleasant and light unlike your mood when you pay at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelCardiff, Manager at Novotel Cardiff Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the Novotel Cardiff a 'great hotel' and that you enjoyed the decor and service. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Chris Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Cardiff Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Cardiff Centre

Address: Schooner Way | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4RT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Cardiff Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Cardiff Centre is a 4 star hotel perfect for your next break in Cardiff. Close to live sports action at Millennium Stadium and shops, restaurants and entertainment at Cardiff Bay. Enjoy our Elements Restaurant and Bar, superb indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam bath and whirlpool. Guests on a business trip will find WiFi internet and nine meeting rooms at their disposal including The Warehouse, a fabulous venue for weddings and conferences alike. 120 Parking spaces at GBP 10 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Cardiff Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Cardiff Centre Hotel Cardiff
Hotel Accor Cardiff Centre
Cardiff Novotel
Novotel Cardiff Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Cardiff Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.