We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality rooms close to the city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Austin's Hotel to your Saves list
Austin's Hotel
11 Coldstream Terrace, Cardiff CF11 6LJ, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
___ 5% OFF ___
Ranked #16 of 44 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good quality rooms close to the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Been here for vacation with my family. The apartment was at 2nd floor (4 stair ramps), wide, very clean, two bathrooms, a small kitchen with microwaves oven and refrigerator.
Free parking outside displaying a permit vignette that you should give back when leaving.

The only annoing issue was the water pressure for the shower, really too low.

For the rest, this was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins11, Owner at Austin's Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the kind words. I will work on improving the water pressure at the top of the house. I do know it needs a pump.

Regards,

Steve Hopkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
36
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was looking for a hotel or B&B in the center of Cardiff for a reasonable price and the Austins Guesthouse met my expectations. All the other centric hotels seemed overpriced to me, so I decided to book Austin's and we were not disappointed.
It is located just next to the Millenium Stadium and the river, the best thing is that you are in the center of Cardiff but at the same time there is no noise from the street, because the guesthouse is in a quiet street.
Also, our room had a view of the Millenium Stadium, which was very nice!
The rooms are clean, basic, I have no complaints.
The breakfast was very nice, we had a cooked breakfast and I can recommend it.
By the way, it seemed that the lady (I suppose the owner) is doing all the work herself, which I admire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins11, Owner at Austin's Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
More happy customers this is what we like to see. Thanks so much for your kind review. Please come back and see us again - you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

stayed in Austin's guesthouse for a weekend in cardiff. cheapest available accomodation we could find, so we didnt have high expectations. we got a superior room, which is on the Austin 2, much newer than the old Austin. Room was very clean, spacious, with a kitchenette with fridge, microwave a coffe kettle. toilet was good too. Only negative was a bad smell coming from the pipes of the toilet, but we kept the toilet door closed all the time, so the bad smell remained in the toilet and didnt bother us in the bedroom. Location is great, in the city centre yet away from the croud, literally a 2 mins walk to castle street, and less than 10 minutes walk from the train station through the canal. Lovely place, definitely recommended. A big thank you to the old lady who seem to be the owner of the accomodation, for lending us the cardiff map while we were going around to look for the turist office.

Room Tip: superior room in the Austin 2 are very good, specially the ones with the canal view. The Austin buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found the accommodation to be excellent value for money and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful with a good choice of options. The room was very clean and we found the kitchen area very useful. Parking was available immediately outside the premises and the location was well within easy walking distance of the city centre, from memory only about 4 minutes from Austins Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austins11, Owner at Austin's Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review for Austins. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us in Cardiff. It's so refreshing to to read a nice, accurate review of what we have to offer and what we are constantly trying to achieve. You are always welcome at our house.

Regards,

Steve Hopkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

A group of us have been staying at Austins for a number of years now We stay in Austins 2 which has recently been refurbished. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable. We all had breakfast which was well worth the money we paid. Ross (the landlady) and her team are very hospitable and if you need information about places to visit they are always willing to help you.
All in all a great place to stay whilst visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brikama, Gambia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Excellent stay, can't beat it! Spic and span and the staff was marvelous! Couple minutes walk from everything, right on the river in view of the Millenium Stadium, what more can you ask. Only the Wifi was not working, but they were fixing it! Just brilliant!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautiful, the family room upstairs, stupendous-Ask for Austins2 not Austins1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Needed a place for a few days while in Cardiff, but wanted one close to "everything". Found Austin's and the price worried me a bit about what I would be getting, but my philosophy is "the price and location are right, decent number of reviews, why not".

OMJ -- I wish I could have spent the entire 3 weeks at this place. Went into the office and checked in. We then LEFT the building (eek) and walked down to doors and entered another building and up stairs. We had a triple room en suite. Now for the good "stuff".

We got to a doorway that she unlocked. Appears that that was the entrance to our price "floor". The place looked newly renovated - -skylights, 2 bedrooms, kitchen, full and half bath, tv's in both bedrooms, towel heater rack in bathroom, microwave, sink, refrigerator, etc. Need I go on? All VERY VERY VERY clean!!!!!

If that's not enough, how about walking out the front door, ON THE RIVER, facing Millenium Stadium (site of Olympic football!!!). Turn left out door, walk over water and voila -- CARDIFF Castle!!!!

Great location, great price, great facility (note -- we did NOT purchase the option breakfast package, but it is available if you want it).

My only fear? That they will realize the gem that they have and raise the prices and make it no longer affordable for me..I pray -- remember my name when I come back!!!! lol

Room Tip: I can't imagine any of them not being good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Hotel

Address: 11 Coldstream Terrace, Cardiff CF11 6LJ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly B&B in Cardiff City Centre. 300m from Cardiff Castle and overlooking the river. The Central Bus and Train Station is a 10 minute walk along the riverbank. All the main attractions including the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff International Areana and all the shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Austin's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austins Hotel Cardiff
Austin's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.