We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find and poor breakfast” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hard to find and poor breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stopped in many premier inn's and normally love these budget hotels, but this hard was hard to find and poorly signed. The room was ok and bed was comfy as always. The breakfast was located in the gym attached which meant you had to walk right through it which wasn't a comfy experience. The all you can eat breakfast wasn't a buffet and you had to order and wait a good 20mins for your food meaning you couldn't really get all you wanted if you wanted to come off the diet for a weekend! Overall I'd say give this one a miss and book into one of the more traditional ones.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath), responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    141
    47
    10
    5
See reviews for
139
92
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Excellent hotel. staff very friendly and helpful. Fab family room. massive 42 inch tv. David lloyd centre has a nice bar that serves reasonable meals. Only a short work to the retail park which has kfc, mcdonalds, tgi fridays and a very nice frankie and bennys. and loads of shops. quiet busy on a Friday evening regarding traffic. Will definitely visit again

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is my third stay at a Premier Inn & once again, it has proved difficult to find any fault! The staff are always so friendly & chirpy, how do they do it? Even late at night, they're happy! Room , as ever, superb, bathroom spotless, bed soooo comfy. TV huge, breakfast great! OK, you have to walk round the corner to the David Lloyd Centre to get breakfast, but that's a minor inconvenience! Frankly, I don't think I'll ever use any other hotels, Premier has it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel up to normal Premier standards but attached to Leisure centre the catering facilities of which are used to serve guests. As a "tennis centre" cafe you have to walk through a large hall with several tennis courts in it then through a squash court and finally another tennis court before ending up in a cafe/resturauant. The coffee and hot water at the "Premier Inn" part are served through airport flasks which are ok for no paying conference types but not suitable for the "premier " image. If you are not eating it is an ok location to stay to access Cardiff with ease

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for the first time as we had a party to go to locally, glad we did!
Excellent Hotel, Excellent Facilities, Fab Breakfast. Hotel is situated in a industrial estate in Cardiff, don't let this put you off as it just adds to the quietness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I have used this Premier Inn on a number of occasions and find it very good. Price is always excellent, staff are friendly and rooms are of a good size.

Would I stay here again - definately if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Inn attending the rugby international having spent the previous night at the Premier Inn in Hereford.
Very helpfulReception staff allowed us a room at 11.am which was great ,the room itself was clean,comfortable and well equipped.
We were directed to the end of the road were we caught a bus the the centre for the match and stayed there until late evening were we got a taxi £8 back .
There is plenty of parking at the Premier which appears safe and despite sharing with a sports complex does not cause a problem.
Breakfast is in the sports complex easy to find without leaving the building and again staff are helpful and the food is again good.
Definitely a place to stay when visiting Cardiff and we will return.

Room Tip: Despite a large number of travelling fans our room on second floor facing car park was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Address: David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.