We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)
David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here 26-30 December.
Comfy beds, clean bathroom & spacious.
Staff pleasant.
We didn't have breakfast at the gym but it looked ok.
Only downside was the noise of the buzzer at night letting people in, but if I were to stay again I'd just ask for 1st floor room I think.
Half hour walk from city so great 'cheap' location.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    129
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
123
81
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my family and as others have mentioned, the location is a bit odd and hard to find hidden away down the bottom of an industrial estate. Nonetheless the hotel itself is fine, rooms what you would expect from a Premier, namely spotless and good size with very comfortable beds and pillows.

The food layout is a bit weird as you're reliant on the David Lloyd centre attached - ok for breakfast but not a massive or particularly exciting dinner choice. That said, there are a number of restaurants and takeaways on the main road so you're not going to starve! Plus it's only just over a tenner for a taxi back from town so you have many options.

In true form, my son managed to leave a DVD box set in our room upon departure. I called the hotel, who had already found it and posted it back to us which was much appreciated. I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wonderful, friendly staff and excellent accommodation. Was made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. As there was a night receptionist security and safety was very high. I will definately be booking in at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales/great britain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My partner and I had a lovely nights sleep in this hotel, we were going out into Cardiff for the night and this hotel was handy for the bus route in an not too far out that a taxi didnt cost us an arm and a leg.
The staff on reception, a mother and daughter were very friendly and chatty

Room Tip: Book well in advance and take advantage of £29 deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you're coeliac and need gluten free bread, bring your own - the breakfast menu states GF bread available, it isn't. I stayed 4 days and kept asking to no avail. Brought in my own eventually. An excellent stay otherwise

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent service, it is an odd hotel to find because its built on the rear of a David Lloyd Leisure centre but, once you do its a friendly hotel with very helpful staff.

The meals are served in the David Lloyd café and there's lots of choice plus a standard Premier Inn breakfast.

Its an odd walk through the leisure centre to get to the café but well worth it.

It makes a great base if you are a David Lloyd member!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

stayed for one night as a couple very friendly reception staff we got there an hour before the check in time but were allowed access to room straight away rooms clean bed very comfortable with choice of pillow firmness were warned of maybe some traffic noise due to locality but were totally unaware of any noise tea and coffee replenished as we needed it we booked in advance so for £29 you really can't go wrong 1st time stay and very impressed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Address: David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.