We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sleep, however not easy to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)
David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good sleep, however not easy to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Location is a pain to find, but a standard Premier Inn with comfy beds. Glad I stayed as I got the room for £25 per day!! would be happy to stay there again, however rates have gone up. A few minor issues, that were addressed quickly by friendly staff. Interestingly no phones in the rooms, however 42" samsung TVs are cool!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    128
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
122
81
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brynsiencyn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just returned from visiting our Son in Cardiff and staying at the Premier Inn in Roath. Large and comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, comfy large king size beds and a choice of pillows. There was adequate parking spaces. The reception staff: Tina, Lisa and Shane were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We had our 2 year old grandson with us and had difficulty getting him away from the play area in the dining room - he loved it. My family and I hope to return to this Premier Inn soon and highly recommend it if visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

As mentioned by others, this place is a little tricky to find - the signage on Ipswich Road in particular should be improved - and is in a slightly odd (but very quiet) location. Had I been a lone female arriving late at night I would have felt a little anxious. Outside the building looks quite scruffy and staff need to do a bit of litter picking, but inside it was spotless. The staff were polite and welcoming, the room large and the bed divinely comfortable. A real bargain at £25 for the two of us for a Saturday night!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

1st of all it was a bit difficult to find the hotel bcos there was any big sign visible (like any other hotel) and nobody knew abt it, finally found a road and happily was the entrance of the hotel which is a 5-10 min walk in the back of some business and u have to cross a big gym. The staff were really friendly and helpful all the time and with any request and even that the hotel doesnt look good at all from outside, the room was really nice, big, brand new TV, shower clean and spacious and comfortable. The location according to the centre is ok, its a 5 mins ride in the bus. Overall i enjoyed my stay, it's just that for safety i think you could improve it, bcos at night to walk back to the hotel it's pretty dark and u dont feel safety at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slaidburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our 2nd Prem/Inn in 2 nights. Both very similar in staff, both great hotels, fantastic value, 2 rooms B&B for 2 adults 3 kids came in at £76 in each hotel.
Rooms were clean, functional, well kept.
The Cardiff Roath Hotel was tidy, quiet and clean but in an indistrial area but plenty of eating facilities nearby, from fast food to TGI Friday and the City Centre is only 10 minutes away by car/bus (plus there is a huge Morrisons next door if you choose to eat in your room).
This hotel had breakfast next door at the David Lloyd Centre and was very good - the kids ate free with us - plus the choice was very good in terms of cooked, cereals and fruit. Staff there were excellent but it is full of David Lloyd users at the same time.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel and these 2 stays at Premier Inns (Roos on Wye and this) have changed my mind about budget hotels, specifically Premier Inns.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weldon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Fantastic, quiet, very clean and comfortable stay, with the best nights sleep.
I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay where a quiet and very comfortable stay is important.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I had never been to a premier inn before and I hadn't heard amazing things. I must say I was presently surprised. It was very good and I would go again. There was a couple of extra pillows and blankets in the cupboard. TV was massive as well in our room. It could maybe do with being opposite the bed but still was very good. Had free view and all the channels were working. The people at front desk were very nice. There wasn't any WiFi which I was a bit annoyed about but can't really complain as we was only there for one night. Very happy overall and I would recommend to anybody who was going out in the center of Cardiff as it was very cheap the taxi.

Room Tip: We stayed at the room right at the end. Was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Address: David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.