We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) to your Saves list
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)
David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here Thursday & Friday Night - just so we could have a short break in Cardiff
I have to say from the moment we arrived at this Premier Inn the service was excellent. Really friendly helpful staff.
Two double rooms for 2 night - £78!!!! very clean and comfortable, internet and big TV which came in very useful for our teenage boys who found Cardiff a bit too wet and windy for them.
Why would we want to stay anywhere else when they have everything there, big nice rooms, lovely bathrooms, bar & restaurant and yes access to a leisure centre - Bonus!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I am a very fussy traveller!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    129
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
123
81
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a birthday party nearby. Hotel is a little tricky to find but look out for and follow the brown signs and you'll be fine. Room and all communal areas were spotlessly clean. Breakfast at the adjoining David Lloyd leisure club was a short walk but it was all inside so no problem. Staff at the hotel were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel was a little difficult to find, the postcode took us to the middle of an industrial estate, but I spotted a purple sign at the end of the road and there it was (after driving around the sports centre).

The reception staff at check in were incredibly polite and helpful. The room was a very good size, plenty of space for the 2 of us. It was clean and smelt fresh. I was also impressed by the large Freeview HD TV. In the evening, reception (a different person from check in) was helpful again when a taxi let us down. She called a replacement taxi and had a bit of a chat with us in between helping other guests.

There is plenty of car parking and I felt confident leaving the car there overnight.

We did not use the restaurant, however the vending machine was useful late at night (and not too expensive). There are many restaurants in close proximity to the hotel as well as a good sized supermarket. It is a few miles out of the centre but is fairly close to the park & ride and a short walk to the main road where you could catch a bus.

I was very pleased with my stay and have already booked a return stay for early next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER - UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tucked away at the back of an industrial site sent shudders through my mind, expecting the worse.
What a surprise, when I finally located the hotel... it's tucked behind a David Lloyd Tennis Centre. In fairness it was foggy when I arrived and departed so I could have missed a sign or two.
Rooms were excellent, modern, fresh and QUIET.
Huge bed
The lift was extremely slow so patience is required.
Greeting and check in was enjoyable with friendly staff who explained everything clearly and provided local knowledge.
Food is available at the DLT centre next door. Choice and quality surprisingly good and aimed at the eat well, eat healthy minded.. less on the fast is fatty front, again a nice approach.

Room Tip: Stairs are definitely quicker than the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A little difficult to find but very nice Premier Inn. The staff were welcoming and very helpful. Only downside for us was the time it took for the hot water to come through to the shower in the morning, almost 15 minutes. Also it would have been nicer to be able to have the lovely breakfast start a little earlier than 8am to give time to enjoy it rather than feel rushed especially as we had to be away by 8.30am. Breakfast was good value as for one adult I got my two children free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Difficult to find and looks poor on the outside but inside was good and the room was very big and clean. Next to the John Lloyds leisure centre which is where you have breakfast if you pay extra. Great for a one night stop some distance from Cardiff City Centre. Breakfast was ok, freshly cooked food and as much as you want. Good budget hotel but with breakfast you can get some good deals in the city on occasions for nearly the same price (except for parking which is extra in the city hotels).

Room Tip: Get a family room on the top floor you do get noise on the ground floor. The family rooms are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our first visit to this particular hotel and discovered had recently undergone a refurbishment. The room was clean, fresh and very comfortable. Parking was not an issue and very safe but our main compliment is how quiet our stay was. We would have given it 5 stars but the breakfast was a huge let down as you have to walk a fair distance and then we waited for 40 minutes only for it to arrive cold. The hotel itself though was friendly, light and a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath)

Address: David Lloyd Leisure Centre - Ipswich Road | Roath, Cardiff CF23 9AQ, Wales (Formerly Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#15 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on the road for business or pleasure, the Premier Inn Hotel Cardiff (Roath) is a quiet, convenient place to pull in for a pit stop - just off the A48 for easy access into or out of the city. If you're here for the high life you'll have all the shops, sports and show action right on hand. Or if you're focused on work, we're in a great spot for getting to Newport Road, the Welsh Assembly and the city centre. And when it's time for a rest, our spacious rooms and cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's shut eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel Cardiff
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.