We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monday night in Cardiff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bunk House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bunk House to your Saves list
Bunk House
93 - 94 St Mary St, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Monday night in Cardiff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Any reviews below that are overly negative are obviously from people who have never stayed in a hostel before!!

The bar is very cool, £10 for a bed, shower and breakfast is pretty good by anyone's standards. It does get noisy at night, but that's the trade off for such a good location!! Just remember this is a hostel and NOT a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    23
    10
    23
See reviews for
Families
0
3
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is very central, which is great for getting around but not so great at night, when drunken revellers are shouting and there's a club playing loud music nearby. I was in the 16 bed girl's dorm which is at the front so it gets all the noise. I went down to reception at about 2am to ask when the music might stop, but the security guy wasn't sure (he wasn't mean about it or anything). He was alright with me sitting downstairs for a bit until I went upstairs to try sleeping again. This was a Thursday night, so it may well be worse at the weekend. There was only one other girl in the room the night I stayed, so I was able to pick my bed and pillow (most of them were lumpy) from the room. The sheets and bathroom were all clean. If the room had been really full, it would have been a lot more uncomfortable I'm sure, as it was pretty warm. Due to being up so late, I decided to sleep in and miss breakfast, so I can't comment on that. There is a MacDonalds right opposite if you need a quick food fix, and there's plenty of other places to eat round about, for all budgets. Downstairs at the hostel is quite cozy, and there is free wifi which was pretty good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

After years of travelling this is the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Staff were extremely unhelpful. Linen and bedding were not clean and appeared as if they had not been changed from the previous people. Bins in the rooms had not been emptied. No privacy in showers/bathrooms without being seen. Shower head had excessive mould and scum on it. The downstairs communal area smelt. We were so happy it was morning and we could leave we did not check out breakfast so can't comment on that. The service was so bad they did not notice or question why we were checking out a day early!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

It's at once wonderful *and* horrible.

The staff is amazing, the location literally could not be more central, it's really cheap, and the atmosphere is great.

But. On the weekends it's a party hostel full of noisy drunk people and because of it's awesome super-central location it's the first choice for people coming in at 2am drunk out of their minds.

So. It's really, truly, 50/50. Breakfast is just toast and cereal. The staff really is amazingly helpful, knowledgable, and friendly. I mean, if you can get a smaller room (we were in a 16-person dorm) you lessen your chances of lousy roommates. AND if you just use the bathrooms on the TOP floor NOT the first floor, it's really a fine place to stay provided you bring earplugs and/or it's a weekday.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms 5-7 (upper floor), or 8 if those are booked (not ideal due to street noise but bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

i am embarrassed by this hostel, it shames this country.
this is not what hostels are supposed to be about.
over priced bar, surly staff, dirty bathrooms.
seemed more like a money machine than a hostel experience
bed was comfy enough though...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed March 31st 2012 hen night.
Well staff are not cheerful and made no effort at all, I was on crutches and they didnt offer to help with anything.
Make sure when booking you are definate on numbers as when i booked i said there maybe 13 to 16 going and the girl on the phone said thats fine they could take beds out of the room but wen we got there they said we had to pay for the extra beds or let three guys stay with us. NOT IMPRESSED!
If wanting to drink in your rooms, take drink with you in your case/rucksack as some of the girls went to shops and got some drink and had it conviscated to be given back at the end of our stay.
They say they cater for disabled yet i did not see any rooms on the ground floor and the disabled toilet and shower were upstairs.
Showers were filthy and disabled one leaked badly into the loos not great.
Rooms were clean and comfy but very dark we couldnt open our shutters which we thought was odd.
Breakfast is left out milk is warm but its there if you want it.
For one night it is ok wouldnt go for any longer than that.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have just come back from an over night stay at Bunk House in Cardiff and needless to say, one night was more than enough to spend there. Although the location was great, the staff were rude and unapproachable, the bathrooms were disgusting and the breakfast was dire. On Bunk Houses’ website they confidently state: 'We take customer complaints very seriously. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your stay'. Subsequently when we attempted to tell someone in a polite manner that the cleanliness of the hostel was unsatisfactory, we were told and I quote: 'What do you expect from a hostel, the guests are responsible for cleaning up mess and if your rude to me, I will be rude back'. We weren’t rude; we were simply expressing our concerns, which were quickly greeted with an aggressive and defensive tone. Hostel or no hostel, when you are a paying customer you expect some level of basic hygiene at the very least. We didn’t see a cleaner at any point throughout our stay, even though we were reassured that the premises were cleaned every morning and yet the bathrooms were filthy upon our arrival. The man we spoke to had a complete disregard for customer satisfaction, safety and hygiene. I will not be returning and neither will my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunk House

Address: 93 - 94 St Mary St, Cardiff CF10 1DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bunk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunk House Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunk House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.