We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful meal in authentic surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Citta

Cafe Citta
4 Church Street | Cardiff City Centre, Cardiff CF10 1BG, Wales
+44 29 2022 4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 938 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal in authentic surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this restaurant for a celebratory meal after the graduation of one of our grandsons and weren't disappointed. From the outside it isn't much to look at and with so many places to eat in the vicinity it would be easy to pass it by for somewhere looking more appealing. DON'T! It is obviously family run and it shows with all the food cooked to order while you wait. To start we asked for an assortment from the starters section of the menu and these were very tasty. The pizzas are superb and we also had a chance to try some of the specials with rave reports for the swordfish steak and the chicken breasts. Unfortunately the helpings were so generous that we didn't have room to try the sweets. The wine list is not large but has a good selection and all are reasonably priced. We are so sorry that we live so far away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    89
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little gem and a true taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our son lives in Cardiff and recomended this little restaurant. It has a relaxed atmosphere and the owners were very friendly, spending time chatting with us and sending good wishes to our son, who is in hospital, when we told them about his recomendation. Condidering that the cooking area is so small, the food is of a very good standard and very good value for money. The owner said that as Cafe Citta is so highly rated some people have inflated expectations. If you want a small, unpretentious cafe that serves good food, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked this Café on the recommendation of my son's friend....Thank you who ever you are!..We were celebrating our Daughter's Graduation as a family and ..what a very nice touch, the Owner had kindly put a Congratulations banner behind our table and also took the trouble of Congratulating our daughter and telling her how nice she looked as we left!

Yes it is small, but I think that adds to the overall atmosphere..the food was superb...I had olives and warm bread to start...too many olives..but they didn't go to waste...My main meal was off the Specials board..Sword fish with olives tomatoes and capers, rosemary roast potatoes and a mixed salad with a lovely dressing.

We had a bottle of prosecco and one large glass of wine whilst the boys had a couple of beers...we all had starters and main courses and unfortunately couldn't manage a dessert..total bill was around £105..excellent value...cannot recommend it highly enough,Thank you !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Guardian food guide listed Cafe Citta as one of Cardiff's top ten budget restaurants, so my girlfriend and I decided to check it out one warm Friday night. From the outside it does not look particularly spectacular and being next door to 'a gentleman's club' you could be forgiven for having second thoughts! But ultimately its all about the food and Cafe Citta certainly delivers quality! Our pizzas were excellent and really good value for money but what impressed us the most was the service. The staff seemed genuinely passionate about the menu and the ingredients. If you want well cooked, fresh ingredients at a good price I can't recommend Cafe Citta enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The food wins you over!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

When you first walk into Cafe Citta it is a surprise that this has been voted the number 1 restaurant in Cardiff. The tables, chairs, walls and overall appearence is a bit tired and basic. The toilets are outside and up a flight of stairs. They were quite dirty and not good. You soon forget all this when the food arrives. The flavours, presentation etc. Simply outstanding. We were only in Cardiff for 1 night but went here on both days!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Citta also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Cafe Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Citta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.