We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best city centre italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Citta

Cafe Citta
4 Church Street | Cardiff City Centre, Cardiff CF10 1BG, Wales
+44 29 2022 4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 904 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Best city centre italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is by far the nicest independent italian in the city centre, and far more charming than the usual string of chain restaurants found along st marys street and in st davids. Its cosy, welcoming, and very versatile. The staff can't do enough for you, and having been here several times in parties of between two and twenty, they are great at good naturedly catering for whatever you ask of them.

In particular, the pizzas are something to rave about. great fresh ingredients and proper italian crispy bases. there are also normally some great specials and a killer tiramisu dessert option which i highly recommend!

The most surprising thing about this place is the prices. The bill is always cheaper than i expect it to be, and its one of the few places where i would be happy to pay more.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    109
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“ticked ALL the boxes after the rugby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Four of us went here after the 6-Nations match yesterday and EVERY GOOD THING that others have written is true. Never having been to an International at Cardiff, I hadn't realised just how busy the city becomes when I tried to book a meal 2 days before the game. Lots of restaurants don't take bookings on match days but Cafe Citta did. We were SO gratetful. Thank you
p.s. try the tiramisu

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“finally, somewhere with decent prices and authentic cuisine in cardiff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

i've been to Citta a couple of times with my partner (it was recommended by a friend), so decided to bring my family for a meal over christmas.
As per usual the food was amazing, and the portion sizes are so good for how cheap the prices are! I highly recommend trying the pizzas, they have a real wood burning oven, which makes all the difference in taste and flavour.I am quickly becoming a regular, and will most definitely be back for a visit very soon.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in the Heart of Cardiff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Me and my partner come here for a treat. We must have been here about 7 times over the last year and a half and have loved it every time.

This is a true family run business and offers a haven away from chains with bad food and stroppy service. The welcome from the couple who own it is a delight in itself- they are always charming and lovely and stop for a chat if I ever see them around town.

Onto the food... I'm no foody by any stretch but it has been delicious every time. Perfect sized portions are fair for the price. My partner loves the linguine pescatora- a must for seafood lovers.

I noticed in another review that someones bill was added up wrong, this has also happened to us. I'm sure its just a genuine mistake after a long day but it is worth double checking. That is the only criticism I have of Cafe Citta!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fresh cooked food, excellent quality and family run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My partner and I go regularly to Cafe Citta - it's a little gem in the middle of Cardiff City Centre - freshly cooked food and lovely atmosphere - and it's not a chain so use it or lose it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Citta also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Cafe Citta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Citta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.