We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well nothing has changed,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Library - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Old Library
18 Trinity Street, CF10 1BH, Cardiff, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
New Tredegar, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“well nothing has changed,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

well nothing has changed, had a steak from there, my dinner was full of blood all in the chips and salad, the pepper corn sauce had curdled it was awful, when they brought me another, the taste was degusting. NEVER AGAIN, and the toilets are the same, what they say look at the toilets and the kitchen is the same. GOD HELP.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    7
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality and slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We went for afternoon tea and were given a table in the pub area as the upstairs seating for tea was apparently full.
It took 1 hour and 40 min (and three trips to the bar asking where or food is) for two massive plates of food to arrive. (the actually tea was served after another two reminders and only after we finished eating). The food was of extremely low quality. Plain white cheap bread with margerine , fatty ham and egg mayonaise from a tub. The cakes were from a wholesale market and not even defrosted properly. The strawberry gateau was still hard in the middle and the scones had a filling of cheap squirty aerosol cream.
The pub itself is very dirty and really needs a clean. Using the toilet and you should get a tetanus injection afterwards.
Overall one of he worst meals with an appaling customer service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

visited here for food on Friday 21st June ,food was disgusting would never return. The only positive is the staff were lovely and attentive .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sticky!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just had cocktails here as we had vouchers and seen the food reviews on TA. Cocktails were average, service was friendly and helpful despite waitress being rushed off her feet - it was lunchtime and it looked like they were understaffed. But everything was sticky! The seats, tables, floor, bar and menus! The whole place was very shabby and I wanted to wash my hands on the way out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid it like the plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

In fact, there's every chance you might pick up the plague. The place smells of urine, your feet stick to the floor, your menu to the table. As per another reviewer: only 1 of the 3 veggie options available. The fish was truly dreadful - tiny slither of fish encased in burnt batter. The vegetables had been cooking for at least an hour. Doubt the kitchen would know what a fresh carrot looked like. When I asked for the Yorkshire Pudding promised by the menu, they brought out a couple which were cold and leathery, possibly left over from a previous day. Didn't bother staying for pudding or coffee as the smell was beginning to make me feel unwell.
Although this was cheap, particularly as we'd been lured there with one of those '1/2 price' cards, I still think the value was dreadful as we couldn't eat the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Library also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.