We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   88 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The location is excellent, it was right in the centre, but the minor downside, at 3am on a Thursday night, I could hear the party revelers going home. The staff were very friendly, the room was a good size, all in all I would stay there again.

If it is your first visit and you have a heavy luggage, please please, use the rear entrance. Otherwise, there is a bit of lifting involved. A sign would definitely be beneficial. Bathroom needed a little work, but again, but is me just being a bit fussy

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    229
    105
    28
    21
See reviews for
51
270
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was my first stay in the hotel for a 2 night stay during the week.
The positives:

1). Great, friendly staff.
2) Excellent location. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from central Cardiff train/bus station.
And right in the city centre, so plenty of choices for eating.
3) The hotel itself is pleasantly decorated, clean and slightly quirky! When you enter the hotel you have to go floor 2 to reach reception, and the hotel starts properly from there.
4) Free Wi-Fi is a great feature (can be a bit slow)
5) The room itself was clean and spacious, considering it was only a single bed room. Power shower is superb.

The negatives:

1) The laminate flooring in the room gives it a cold feeling inside. Also, the bed itself had a tendency to move/slide as a result of this.
2) The TV had a very annoying buzzing sound when its on.
3) The soundproofing is terrible - I could hear everything next door. This is the first hotel I've been to where I have struggled to sleep in.

Not a bad hotel overall, but I would personally hesitate to stay here again because of the noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I checked into the Royal Hotel for just one night in March 2014 for Business Reasons as the Hotel itself offered city centre access with breakfast at very competitive rates. I found my room to be absolutely massive and also found a bottle of wine and 3 glasses? Not sure that the Wine was for me so I did not drink it :-).

The room was very clean and the pillows very BIG. Breakfast was nice and service good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting easy access to the city with good service and a nice room. Not sure I was lucky as my other 2 colleagues rooms were not as good as mine but I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor near 403 on right side of lift seem to be the massive ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

With about 5,000 hotel rooms in Cardiff and almost every major hotel brand represented - competition is tough and standards are generally high.

The refurbished Royal is modern and well appointed and good value at the price offered. Think Budget Boutique and you won't be far wrong - rooms are a little on the small side and some offer a shower only, but at Travelodge money you can't really argue.

Maintenance and housekeeping could both be improved. Obvious that the 'Boutique style' rooms are maintained and cleaned on a budget.

But again, you can just about forgive this at around £50 a night. And the hotel makes a welcome change from the usual, ubiquitous budget format - it has a heritage and character which is slightly lost with its ultra-modern style bedrooms.

Don't bother with breakfast at the hotel its central location offers lots of alternatives.

Would stay here again at this price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lovely hotel with great staff and easy access to the middle of cardiff
Loved our stay for the six nations and shall return
Thought we got an excellent deal on our rooms until we discovered others got even better deals
Would have lived to give the breakfasts a try but at three times the price of the places round the corner we decided against it
Nice rooms and lovely toiletries supplied

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Amazing hotel for the money spent! The staff were wonderful and helpful. The staff was helpful in telling us what sites to see and how to get there. They were accommodating to our requests. The pillows were feather and I am allergic but they brought me some non feather pillows. The hotel room had everything we needed. Lovely stay! We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Royal on many occasions whilst working in Cardiff.
The staff are warm and friendly. The location is excellent and the rooms are modern and clean.
I really enjoy my stay here and would certainly return.
It's excellent value for money especially with its location on the main high street.
I must also mention Matt & Raff's food is amazing.
Rob Jones, Sheffield.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom.Book direct for greatest discounts and free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.