We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms, needs a refurb :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St. Mellons Hotel to your Saves list
St. Mellons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Solihull, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tired rooms, needs a refurb :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel is in a great location and setting away from Cardiff city centre with a golf course surrounding it.

The leisure facilities including gym, pool, and spa have recently been refurbished and look really nice. I only wish I could say the same thing for the hotel.

You can see from the moment you walk up to the hotel that the windows are shabby, and as you step inside you can see that the same can be said for the surrounding decor.

While the communal areas are probably justed dated, the rooms themselves are very tired. I can't say that the walls were damp, but the room definitely smelt damp, and there were darker patches on the walls.

The rooms seem to be well serviced and as clean as they can be for the general condition.

Not sure I can recommend anyone to stay here. Try the New House Hotel which is another Best Western and in my opinion better value as I stayed there last week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2010
"thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel. Whilst I am pleased to hear that the room was clean, and the Spa recently refurbished, I am sorry that you felt the rest of the hotel was tired

We are currently in the middle of an ongoing, rolling refurbishment, which has seen some of our bedrooms redecorated, but we are still in the process of finishing these, and the public areas too

I hope you will return to the hotel next time you are in the area, to see our ongoing redecoration and its progression

thank you once again for taking the time to leave a comment"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    93
    39
    36
See reviews for
71
84
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights and got a great deal with Superbreaks. We were in the main hotel (room 26) which overlooked the front of the hotel, with a great view. The room was nice, a tiny bit tired in places but everything was nice and clean. Part of our deal was dinner on the first night which was great. The food was excellent and the service was good. The restaurant wasnt full but this probably suited us.
We had the breakfast both days which was excellent, again loads of choice. The second morning was self serve which was good as you could have more of anything you wanted. We used the gym which was ok but didnt get to use the pool area which looked good (fairly new). We drove into Cardiff both days (about 20 mins) for shopping but got lost both days coming back!
We would stay here again but would ask to be in the main hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I've just checked into this room and it's worse than student accommodation that I had at uni. It's dirty, dated, full of spiders nests and I've gone out 4 dinner because I can't face eating in the restaurant. I'm dreading going back jn2 the filthy room and am checking availability at the nearest holiday inn. I've complained but am told that the room is cleaned daily which is a blatant lie cos spiders can't nest that quickly. It's the worst place ever, I'm staying 2 attend a hotel but would never return and won't ever recommend. I will be writing 2 complain when I'm back home it's just disgusting. It makes camping seem like 5* accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and i stayed for 2 nights in one of the 'garden rooms' as we were there with our two dogs. (Dogs aren't allowed in the main building). I believe that there is an additional £10 per dog per night charge. However, the hotel forgot to charge this to us and needless to say we didn't point it out!!
After reading all the reviews I was a little anxious about what we were going to find, however, it was better than I'd expected!
The hotel is set away from the road about 1/2 mile down a country lane through a golf course. It's a nice quite location. We were attending a dog agility competition at Tredegar House, this hotel was perfectly located about 5 or 10 minutes drive away.
One of the first things you see is a disused tennis court with the concrete cracking and weeds growing through, not a great 1st impression! However, we parked and found the reception which was clean and inviting and the receptionist extremely friendly and helpful.
The garden rooms are arranged like an american motel building. Each has it's own door directly to outside - really handy when travelling with dogs. You can also park right outside the front door.
The room is more like a suite. it has an entrance hallway, modern bathroom with nice powerful shower and two sinks. All decorated and finished nicely except the old school -type window! The water pipes were exceptionally noisy after the toilet had been flushed, not a problem for us but i'm sure the people in the room next door found it annoying, especially as we were up and flushing the toilet very early each day!
The main bedroom had a double and single bed. I was a disappointed by this as I would expect a kingsize bed as standard these days, especially in a hotel rated 4*. This was the biggest issue for us.
Breakfast was served from 8am. We would have liked this to be a little earlier but it didnt cause a major drama. The hotel does offer a 24hour room service but i thought the extra £5 per person charge was a bit steep! The actual breakfast was very nice with an extensive menu. We had pastries and a cooked breakfast - everything was lovely and the service was fast and friendly.
We didnt use the restaurant, bar or leisure facilities so i cannot comment on these.

Overall, this hotel was good for the purpose we wanted it for, ie, a crash pad for us and the dogs. I plan to book again for next years agility show at Tregedar, however, i wouldn't recommend the 'garden rooms' as anywhere particularly special to spend a romantic weekend. As a base and crashpad, it does the trick!
i'm guessing the 4* rating applies to the rooms in the main building as I'd say the garden rooms were more like 3*.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I've just returned from St Mellons after a 3 night stay for the weekend with my husband. Having read the reviews before I was a bit apprehensive as to what to expect, and I did ring the hotel to request a room in the main building as I'd read that the garden rooms weren't up to much. However on arrival we were given a garden room, or chalet, which didn't impress me as I'd been told we had been allocated a room in the main building when I called. But the room was lovely. I must have been lucky to have been in one of the recently refurbished rooms, the bathroom all looked pretty new, the bedroom was a bit chinzy (the wallpaper was a bit old fashioned) but it was all very clean and I had no problems at all with any of the amenities in the room (a tip - if you want to turn on the tv you use the switch next to the bed about 20 feet from the tv - strange but we found it eventually! lol) The staff we dealt with were all very polite, nothing seemed too much trouble, the receptionist bought us an abundance of tea coffee and milk when we requested some at 11pm one night.
Our evening meal in the restaurant was very nice, although if you have a hearty appetite I'd recommend the bar/room service menu for a cheaper but bigger meal. Bar drinks a little expensive, but not more than I would have expected from this quality hotel. Hotel breakfast was lovely, no complaints, although we had thought of having breakfast in our rooms as the hotel offers 24 hour room service, but then noticed the £5 per person supplement for this - very excessive I feel, needless to say we made our way to the main hotel for breakfast each day!
Leisure facilities were lovely, great pool, jacuzzi and steam room, although like other comments a water dispenser for drinks would have been nice. Be warned the changing rooms are communal only, unless you want to get changed in the loo. And Sunday afternoon seems to be swimming lesson time for lots of local children. They rope of a bit of the pool so it doesn't interfere with anyone else swimming, just not as quiet as I'd hoped for my relaxing afternoon.
A lovely place for a nice little break, but as said before not too close to Cardiff Centre - a cab cost us £18 each way to get to central Cardiff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed here with a friend as a 'weekend away' treat in June. It has been recommended to us by another friend who had got married there several years ago.
From the outside, the hotel looks impressive and would be a lovely setting for wedding photos but it is a bit off the beaten track - do not book if you are expecting to find yourself in central Cardiff in minutes!
We had booked a double room and were disappointed to find that we were in a 'chalet', outside of the main hotel. This ground floor room (which had 3 single beds) was old, dingy and not overly clean, with bathroom facilities we were less than impressed with. It was a hot weekend but we didn't want to leave the window open as it would have been easily accessible to burglars. When it came to bedtime the curtains in the room did not close on one side, though fortunately we had a safety pin to fix this.
The free spa facilities were good, though the hot tub was broken and there was nowhere to get any drinking water once in the sauna/pool area.
Because of a wedding, breakfast was not in the usual place but was a temporary buffet in another room. The queue was huge and by the time we got to the front, the food was disappointing.
Staff at the hotel were young and helpful but unless i had to attend a function there, i wouldn't choose to stay at the St Mellons again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
"thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on the hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you raised regarding your stay. Our Garden rooms are in the middle of an ongoing refurbishment plan, and whilst they are ground floor rooms, all of the windows have security locks to allow the windows to be safely left open in the summer months.

Whilst we try no to have queues at breakfast, there are times at weekends, when all of the guests come for breakfast at the same time, and queues cannot be avoided.

thank you once again for taking the time to leave your comments, and I hope you will return to the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Like so many other reviews have said, this hotel could be fantastic but is desperately in need of some refurbishment. I would also suggest that the staff whilst friendly and polite are probably lacking training and don't seem to work as a team.

On the plus side the swimming pool was really good. Staff were friendly and hepful and they take both children and dogs.

On the more negative side: Service in the restaurant was dreadful. We ordered a bottle of wine at the start of our meal, we chased it at the end of our first course and cancelled the order for it when it still had not arrived at the end of our main course! The waitress kept saying she was sorry but the bar was busy. However, when a restuarant customer has ordered a bottle of wine, surely delivering it to go with their food must be a priority? After waiting about 20 minutes for our plates to be removed, we foolishly ordered desserts. After 20 minutes we were reassured that they were on their way. Another 20 minutes and they arrived - a long wait for cold desserts, but by this point we just wanted to leave and get our children to bed. It took nearly 2.5 hours for us to have a meal, which might be fine in some circumstances, it is less than ideal with 2 children and no wine!

We were not prepared to risk a repeat performance, so we went out for the second night of our stay. During a similar amount of time we were able to drive in and out of Cardiff, walk around the resturant area and eat an enjoyable meal.

I also found it disappointing that there were flyers throughout the hotel for spa treatments "available today" but when I tried to book one I was told they were fully booked all weekend. Why promote something you can not deliver - surely when the spa is fully booked, it is time to collect up the flyers? A small detail but in the hospitality sector, attention to detail is what makes the difference between something that is just OK and something you want to rave about to your friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to apologise to you for the delay in the restaurant on the Saturday night of your stay. The restaurant was vey busy that night, with several large parties, which caused the service to be slower than we would have ideally have liked, but we do aim to offer a relaxed dinning experience, and I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations this time
I do hope you will visit the hotel again in the hear future, to see what we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mellons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.