We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St. Mellons Hotel to your Saves list
St. Mellons Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
1 review
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had wedding here lovely location and bridal room but some of the staff were unhappy and off hand we feelt as if we were being kicked out of our room due to cleaners banging hoover against door also my wife is a vegetarian and the food option was very poor for her. Also my wife was leaving holding her very expensive wedding gown and went to walk out of the main doors I stopped her from walking threw as there were two men painting outside the receptionist didn't even say to my wife don't use that exit as there is wet paint so if I wasn't with her her dress would have been ruined

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Zack

I was really surprised to read your comments following your wedding for 6 held last week . Particularly so as you, your new wife and guests thanked the staff so profusely at the time and praised the food and service.
The painters certainly seem to have upset you, for which I can only offer my sincerely apologies.
Check out time from the rooms is nominally 11am, however we are happy to accommodate any requests for late departures had you made your wishes known. We also are happy to accommodate any early arrivals where possible as you know, having made your rooms available for your 1pm arrival.

Thanks for bringing your comments to my attention.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    91
    82
    34
    29
See reviews for
63
78
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Initial impression is of a fine grand house, with high ceilings and excellent original features. However as our stay evolved the fabric of the building showed signs of needing a good overhaul by a maintenance team.

It would be easy to say a big refit would be beneficial, but a lot could be achieved by resolving petty issues like poorly fitting lampshades on the bedside table, which had very awkward switches. The guttering was blocked or leaking outside our window which resulted in an annoying dripping sound through a Welsh night of heavy rain. Radiators needed bleeding to allow air to be purged and then they would provide a full output from the panel.

All very petty, but a sign of accumulated neglect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Mervyn

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at St. Mellons. Constructive feedback such as this is always welcome as it helps us improve matters further.

As I write the building is undergoing repainting and the issues you raised regarding the radiators have been dealt with.
Thanks once again for bringing these matters to my attention.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have just attended a fabulous wedding at the hotel. Okay it does need some refurb but was clean and welcoming and being and old building some things are inevitable but it was all inkeeping with the style of the building. Staff were polite courteous and well trained. All staff couldn't do enough very welcoming. Food was great too, tasty and well cooked every meal so. Can't understand negative reviews

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Tracey

Thanks for your kind words following the wedding you attended at the hotel. We cater for many weddings from 4 to 160 people and our service and guest experience is invariable well received.

I was delighted to read that you had a great time- maybe next time join us for a relaxing spa break?

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business, and whilst driving down the drive, thought I'd chosen well. The building is nice from the front, but if you park at the side you can see just how much work is required.
My check in was warm and welcoming and efficient. My room overlooked the front, so a great view. The room itself was large, but the decor is terribly dated, and the television is the size of a postage stamp. The bathroom again was spacious, but very... Peach.
I ordered room service, it was as described, although the chicken clearly had been nuked in a microwave... Not the best, but the fish and chips hit the spot.
My bed was comfy, the pillows ok.
Checkout was fast - but someone needs to tell the lady that smiling shouldn't be an optional extra, and that she boarded on rude.
Overall vale for money it's ok, if you get a good rate. I wouldn't pay over £60 per night

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Sion

Thank you for your welcome feedback following your recent stay. It's only by receiving such information that we can improve the guest experience at St. Mellons.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on business in the near future- check our web site for the very best rates available.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the St Mellons hotel last night. First impressions were very good and we arrived at reception to book in. I had already booked on-line for 3 rooms. First of all they couldn''t find all the paperwork, then they couldn't find our key. I was given paperwork for room 201 but a key for room 36. We went to the bar and ordered drinks and put them on the room, but was told that we hadn't been booked in properly. Later in the evening we were approached and told that we should have paid when we booked in so we paid straight away. The staff in the bar and leisure centre were very helpfull although we did have to wait to be served as they seemed to be short staffed. We had an outside room which was ok as the weather was good but would have been a problem in bad weather. In 2 of the three rooms the alarms went off one at 12.01am and one at 6am, I was asked if everything in the room was ok and I said that we only had one bath towel and I was then told that the other one was in a drawer, I don't think I have ever been to a hotel where one towel is in the bathroom and the other is in a drawer. It was definitely an experience, not sure if I would do it again but the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Nigel

Thank you for your review following your stay at ST. Mellons
Please accept my apologies for the confusion over your arrival paperwork- I'm glad we were able to resolve matters reasonably swiftly.
Regarding the towels, as we explained, there are always spare sets of towels in the drawer as outlined in the Guest Service Directory.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Colleagues had slated this place: I actually found it rather nice, despite the AWFUL driveway (badly affected by the cold winter, to be kind). I am not normally a fan of "garden rooms" and having to brave the elements to get one's meals etc, but this was quiet, spacious, clean, and WARM!!!! With the weather w have been having, this was a definite plus. Also, the TV was very good, with excellent radio reception (R4 in the morning). A very roomy and well equipped bathroom was another plus, as was the better than average lighting all round. Being able to park immediately outside also made loading and unloading one's belongings so much easier. Dinner very good indeed, breakfast rather less so: bacon very poor, sausages better. Bread average (toast); rolls at breakfast were either previous day's or had been frozen. Coffee poor. The first day, it took nearly 20 minutes to get a glass of water to take with my pills (I cannot drink fruit juice). Reception was efficient and friendly both in and out. Overall, the experience was let down most by the breakfast. It would help if the rather monosyllabic man taking the orders paid a little more attention to his personal hygiene: not what one wants first thing in the morning. I also had to ask the very efficient girl doing the serving to correct a couple of things he had omitted. Shame. this knocked it back from a 4 to a 3, it was so poor. Lastly, as it was a late booking, I was charged 25% extra for the first night over the normal rate: this is cheeky!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On arrival booking in was straight forward, welcoming and proffesional. The pet friendly chalet was clean well laid out and perfect for my wife and our two dogs.
At evening meal the staff could not be helpfull enough, my wife has various allergies and is vergitarian but the staff took this in their stride and between them and the chef an excellent meal was prepared. Service was fantastic throughout the stay and to finish it off breakfast and service was second to none.

Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The pet friendly rooms are to the side of the hotel as pets are not allowed inside however the chale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at St. Mellons. I'm delighted that you and dogs enjoyed your stay. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Mellons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.