We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding anniversary ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Angel Hotel to your Saves list
The Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our wedding anniversary ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just got back from a two night stay in this hotel. Firstly the entrance was a lovely welcome and staff nice. We booked this for our wedding anniversary a premium double. We got a guest double.!! A lot smaller than we thought for £107. A night Considering it was our anniversary (which i mentioned when checking in). It says you get mineral water online when booked and a dressing gown in room. We didn't have either. The bathroom was the best bit very large and modern. The window was hideous we had no view what so ever. (We where on the 3rd floor). We had the england rugby team staying in the rooms either side of us and on the saturday night i was extremely ill and they where making a hell of a lot of noise shouting and jumping around room until my husband finally called reception at 11pm. Cardif overal was an amazing place but i was pretty disappointed that considering it was a very special occasion we where given such a Terrible room. The window sills where full of dead bugs and never been dusted also. I think if we had got the room we originally payed for (a premium double) things would have been differant. I booked online but did call up the hotel and asked if there was a swimming pool/sauna/jacuzzi i was told yes. When we arrived i asked where it was and was told there isnt one. That was a let down also. Considering i had 3 people recommend this hotel that i know i think we where given the worst room possible for our stay. Its an anniversary i will never forget..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have reviewed all your feedback with the front of house and housekeeing teams as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been made to avoid any reoccurrence.

I am sorry the team did not acknowledge your anniversary. I consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who genuinely care about our guests comfort and enjoyment during their stay and I am frustrated that during your stay we were unable to either pre-empt or totally rectify the problems faced.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    264
    187
    114
    77
See reviews for
101
316
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very impressive traditional Hotel with well trained and welcoming staff. Its location is ideal for the City Centre shops and Castle, with a hourly boat service during the day from the adjacent Bute Park travelling during the day to Cardiff Bay. The Hotel food (Breakfast, Dinner & afternoon tea were excellent,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Angel Hotel.

Your feedback will be shred with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a living social deal for a champagne afternoon tea so made a reservation but have to admit having read some of the reviews we nearly cancelled and I am so glad we went. The tea and coffee tasted good, there were three different types of sandwiches - cheese, egg and ham, two scones with jam and clotted cream, two chocolate eclairs, and four different tarts, everything was lovely and the pastry on the tarts was so soft. The waitress that greeted us was very pleasant and even though we were early it was no trouble, we were seated straight away and served our tea and coffees, then the champagne and then the goodies. The only disappointment was the fact that we were the only ones in there. We will definitely visit again and may try an evening meal next time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at The Angel Hotel.

Our Afternoon Tea packages have been very popular !

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Emlyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed over night for a family wedding. The wedding, reception and evening reception were very well managed, every thing flowed seamlessly, staff were attentive, polite, all knew their jobs and the venue was lovely. Our room was clean, bed very comfortable, breakfast lovely, good choice and plentiful. Rates were reasonable - we would stay again. (Paint work in places needed touching up in the room, but this is a big hotel, it was very clean, and this is a very minor point.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear the wedding went well and everyone had a great day.

Your feedback will be shared with the team.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Room was In what seem like the attic, it was small and pokey. The furniture was old and dated. Our ironing board fell off the wardrobe. Couldn't get through to anyone in reception so had to ring the hotel booking line to talk to anyone!

Breakfast was bad, had to wait 15 mins to be seated. Then there was no food left.

Will not ever go back!
Rubbish

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Firstly, please accept my sincerest apologies that your break at our hotel was not the relaxing experience you expected it to be.

It is never our intention for guests to leave unhappy and I regret the disappointment you have detailed in your feedback.

Your comments will be reviewed with the team to ensure appropriate steps are taken to avoid any reoccurrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've passed by The Angel on more occasions than I can recall and often fancied staying there, as it's in a prime location in the heart of Cardiff.

I recently finally had the opportunity of staying overnight and cannot believe how disappointing the whole experience was.

Initial impressions were not over positive, having to fight my way through a large group of smokers congregated around the main entrance, however the reception area was nicely decorated and quite impressive looking.

The reception staff were extremely pleasant and friendly so I was feeling quite positive and managed to accept the very strong smell of paint in the corridors as a positive aspect that the hotel was well maintained. The room itself was moderately sized with two single beds and was clean and tidy. The room had a wall mounted TV, which for reasons of layout was at 90 degrees to the beds making actually watching quite unnatural and unpleasant. It was also very warm in the room and nothing I did seemed to offer any improvement.

The bed itself must have seen a lot of use! The mattress sagged so much towards the middle, it would probably have been impossible to fall out. It was incredibly uncomfortable and made for a torturous nights sleep.

Went down to the 'restaurant' for dinner and really wished I hadn't. After a long day I just wanted a quick simple meal so chose the 'alleged' Steak Burger. It was quite possibly the worse meals I've had in years. The burger looked and tasted like the cheapest frozen food burger imaginable, it was served coated in a tomato relish in a basic bread roll with accompanying frozen chips and a few green leaves. My colleague had Haddock and Chips which he said was 'OK' and came - without any explanation, not with peas as per the menu, but with baked beans.

Given a horrifically early start the next day we called it a night. The room was still uncomfortably hot, but opening the window was not an option as even with the window closed I needed ear plugs to sleep given the noise of drunken revellers in the street outside. That is obviously outside the hotel's control, but something to be aware of if you intend to stay at the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wow! What a surprise we had when we entered the Angel Hotel. It was STUNNING! Beautiful, classy decor. Having read the reviews from other people we had decided that we'd be happy if it was clean and comfortable......but is was sooooooo much more!

The reception staff were incredibly helpful. Our room was ready when we arrived early (12.00). The room was lovely - modern decor, fab bathroom, plenty of tea and coffee and lots of hanging space.

We had booked in for dinner as part of our deal. Nothing could have prepared us for the fantastic quality of the meal. It was totally delicious an beautifully presented. The restaurant staff were incredibly polite and nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was lovely too. So much choice! The eggs were brought out freshly cooked as we finished out cereal.

We will definitely recommend this hotel to others and we will definitely stay again!

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review with regards to your recent stay at The Angel Hotel.

We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Millennium Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city’s history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, a fine-dining restaurant and a cocktail bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.