We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit boring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Circle Way East, Llanedeyn, Cardiff CF23 9XF, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“bit boring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

this is a nice modern clean hotel the food is good the staff are very friendly but only for one night not for five,i don,t know why coach holiday firms choose these hotels as the,re in the middle of nowhere with no entertainment and sky high drinks and snacks prices very dull on a rainy day.

Room Tip: there all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    189
    96
    48
    27
See reviews for
97
168
33
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked this hotel for business due to it's location (near my client) and my heart sank as I pulled off the motorway after a 4 hour drive!... I knew it was going to be a BIG hotel, but it's really big!!... There were 2 coaches in the Car Park and all I wanted was a hot shower and to sleep.... Now read on....

I was greeted warmly by the Reception Staff, swiftly checked into my room, my car registered for Free Parking (this can be expensive in Cardiif - great surprise). My room (301) was on the 3rd floor and was extremely spacious, with air conditioning, TV, Safe and Tea/Coffee facilities. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the expansive wet room. The bed was comfortable and the room extremely quiet (not what I expected at all given the physical size of the hotel and the 2 Coach parties booked in)... This is a GREAT hotel and I will definitely be back when I'm next in the area.

I've scored the spa/gym facilities as 'average' as trip advisor doesn't offer a 'did not use' option. It would be unfair not to score them, or down score them on that basis. From what I saw on the way past in the morning was that they looked clean and tidy - wish I'd had time!

Room Tip: 301 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonybates, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Firstly, a big thank you! It's an absolute pleasure to read such a great review!

It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your stay, and particularly rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North in the near future - and next time hopefully you'll have enough time to use the gym!

Antony Bates
General Manager
antony.bates@rezidorparkinn.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights over the August bank holiday weekend. We booked via Trivago for £108 for two people for three nights including breakfast which was exceptional value given the quality of the accommodation and the level of service.

On ariving from the outside the hotel looks like student accommodation but once inside the rooms are very spacious and well decorated in a modern minamilist style. The bathroom contains a walk in waterfall shower rather than a shower which was good although you tend to get a lot of water on the bathroom floor.

Unlike a lot of hotels basic wifi Internet acess in the hotel room was free, although limited to one device at 512kb/s. it was possible to remove the speed restriction and upgrade to 4 device for about£8 per day. Car parking was also free although you need to register you car reg with reception.

The level of service and the friendliness of the staff are what sets this hotel apart from others I have stayed in it, the staff make you feel that you are staying in a 5 star hotel and were better than at several of the higher end radison blu's I have stayed in previously.

The standard of the housekeeping was very high, our room was cleaned and made up immaculately each day.

The breakfast was the standard English breakfast with the usual range of breads, ham, cereals etc.

The hotel is a couple of miles outside cardiff so you will need a car to get around. For us the location was ideal as we were mainly visiting tourist attractions outside of cardiff.

The hotel appears to have a substantial gym but we never had the opportunity to try it out.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurent other than breakfast although if you have a taste card you can get a 50% discount which would make it extremely good value.





  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Spent one night here en route to Pembroke Dock after a long day of driving. I thought it was good value, and pre-booked breakfast for only a fiver, which was great. It is easy to get to from the M4, plenty of parking spaces and even a gym if that's up your street. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and the room was comfortable with good wifi and plenty of coffee sachets. It was actually remarkably quiet, given that it is near a main road. The only improvement I would suggest is to the bathroom, which was showing some signs of condensation/mould around the ceiling. But otherwise it was spotless and had a great shower. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We hunted around for a while for good deals in Cardiff and not knowing much about the area decided upon this hotel. It was pretty much somewhere to crash at night while we explored in the day. We paid £108 for a double room inc breakfast for 3 nights mid week in peak season. We got our price on Trivago. A good deal, I think. Parking was free if you entered your reg plate too.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and very helpful, answering many questions given to them about the area and the hotel.

The room was clean and spacious enough for two. My only negative would be that the room needed 'airing' when we first arrived but other than that it was fine.

We arrived in Cardiff at about 930am, hours before the 2pm check in time,. but the receptionist kindly let us check in to unpack and unwind after our 4 ish hour drive. This was very much appreciated!

Breakfast was good. Tasty, lots of variety and hot. Again, the staff were very helpful and cleared plates quickly. You are offered fresh tea, coffee, various juices, cereals, cooked breakfast items (including hash browns and black pudding, which frankly MAKES a breakfast for me), yoghurts, breads, pastries... you name it.

We didn't have any other food at the hotel but it seemed popular and smelled good!

The only other downside I'd say about the hotel is that it's further out of the centre of Cardiff than I anticipated. You really need a car to get around. But we didn't mind that, just something to bear in mind though. It took about 10 minutes to drive to either Cardiff Bay or Cardiff Centre. Parking costs in Cardiff are, in my opinion, quite high. Expect to pay at least a fiver for a few hours. However, a little trick we discovered is if you park in the Red Dragon Centre in Cardiff Bay you can validate your ticket at any of the shops/bars/etc in it and your parking all day is free. We did this and grabbed a coffee in there - minimum £4 spend applies.

The hotel is right next to an A road but we had a room facing the road and even with the window open at night it wasn't that noisy. Very easy to find and get to and a good central point for any excursions. I'd stay there again for sure. A**** !!!

Room Tip: We had a top floor room facing the road, absolutely no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Entry level Radisson brand on the outskirts of Cardiff usually represents good value for money.

Situated just off the A48, there is nothing really in the immediate vicinity and you will need to have a car or take a taxi into Cardiff itself.

Smallish rooms recently refurbished and equate to Holiday Inn Express/Premier Inn standard. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms are now converted into shower rooms with large walk-in showers (floor can be slippy - beware!)

Tea and coffee making facilities in the room

Booked ahead breakfast is very good value for money (£5)

Bar and public areas are OK. Reception desk area is a little tatty and could do with an upgrade.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Unusually for this level of hotel there is a very good gym (run separately but free access)

If you have to overnight in Cardiff and have a car then this a good option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from July 29th until 2nd Aug. Overall impression is excellent. My room was a single but got a lovely double with a fantastic powerful shower. The tea,coffee were changed everyday and my room was spotless. The staff were excellent and friendly . Breakfast was served 7am -9.30am . On the downside of this was when i went for my breakfast on the 1st morning i was told i couldn`t go in until 8am which was ludicriuos as our tables were already set up. It was same with evening meal 5.30 - 7,30 and we had to wait until 6.30 before we could have our meal. This is my only complaint about this hotel. We were made to feel like 2nd class citizens. This hotel is a bit out of way for things to do as their was nothing around. Other than that the hotel was perfect. Pint lager was £3.50, Boddingtons was £3.30

Room Tip: I seen 3 rooms and they were all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North

Address: Circle Way East, Llanedeyn, Cardiff CF23 9XF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Cardiff hotel has amenities for business and leisure guests alikeA modern refuge near a historic city centre awaits. The hotel boasts modern fresh, comfortable guest rooms feature and guest enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Suite, Free Wifi and car parking. Cardiff's historic city centre is only 6.4 kilometres from the hotel.Millennium Stadium and Wales Millennium Centre, and Cardiff Castle, Bay and International Arena are nearby, and the hotel is easily accessed from the motorway network.Light bar fare is served all day in the comfortable lounge area, and RBG Bar & Grill offers delicious evening meals.The complimentary Leisure Suite features a well-equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff North Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Park Inn Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.