We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cardiff Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was staying on my own on business trip and was upgraded to executive room. Bed very comfy and TV good size, very clean..

Only downsides were the room was by the lifts and the beeping noise is quite a loud one. I ordered the room service breakfast which was late and missing items but the staff were great and refunded me for this. It was also disappointing that the wifi was so expensive - £15 for 24 hours. I am used to it being free in most hotels these days and may put me off staying there again.

Great hotel location for centre of Cardiff and overall comfortable stay with friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    292
    115
    37
    12
See reviews for
112
237
40
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The room was very comfortable, loved the bed linen. Good shower and cleanliness excellent. I arrived quite early and they had a room available even though it was well before check in time. The hotel is ideally situated for the shops and Cardiff central train station is very close. The breakfasts were good with an excellent variety including a large assortment of fresh fruit

The Radisson Blu has free wifi in the bedrooms and the Marriott doesn't . They charge a lot for it and that felt a rip- off. Having stayed in both and they are very near each other, I think the Radisson Blu is better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great staff brilliant hotel. Unfortunately the pillows were very uncomfortable, the rooms were boiling and stuffy even with air con on. Couldn't wait to get up and out of there in the morning as I didn't sleep at all! And also no bottled water in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights while on business in the Cardiff area. It was a great experience from the first moment. I arrived at 11 a.m. after an overnight flight to London and a two-hour car trip to Cardiff. There was a large crowd checking out as the hotel had been filled the night before. One of the managers, Richard, found out I was checking in and apologized profusely because no rooms were immediately available. He made sure I was comfortable in the lounge where I chose to wait and even provided me with a complimentary cup of tea during my wait. As soon as a room was available he alerted me and made sure I was checked in and OK. Every time I saw him during the week he greeted me warmly and inquired whether I was all right.

The room was wonderful, facing the Cardiff Bay area with a view of the Opera House and Penarth. There was plenty of space to sit and work and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

I had a light dinner in the Chats Bar on my first night and enjoyed it. It was a slow Sunday night in the bar but the staff made me feel welcome and were very friendly.

Breakfast each day was abundant and very good, with delicious oat granola along with a wide selection of other cereals and fruit, baked goods, and a full cooked Welsh breakfast for those who want a heartier breakfast.

The location is terrific as one can just step outside and find dozens of restaurants of all genres, along with the fabulous Cardiff shopping experience. I loved walking around the city at the end of the day, enjoyinig a glass of wine or dinner at a number of locations.

Wi-Fi in the room costs 6 pounds each day (unless your company has an agreement with the hotel) but is free in the restaurant and lounge area. Both have a very pleasant atmosphere so it's nice to sit there and catch up.

I'm going back to Cardiff again next month and can't wait to stay at the Marriott again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Cardiff Bay - you will also be away from the clubs at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are regular visitors to the Marriott and have stayed in most of the local hotels. The staff, especially in the reception area, are always very professional and welcoming and if we have ever had a problem with our stay it has been dealt with quickly and effectively. We are never disappointed and will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in June 2013. I want to start by saying we chose this hotel for its star rating, and purchased the room through the hotel website.

Let's start with the good points. The location is great, within 5minutes you have great restaurants such as Jamie Olivers Itallian and Carluccios. The main mall and John Lewis is also a stonesthrow away, as are a number of bars and pubs.
The lobby is nice and welcoming, and the staff on check-in were courteous to us. The bed was nice and comfortable and the room itself was really quiet.

As for the negatives, the room is not a four-star room. We stayed in an executive room on the 8th floor. It was dusty, worn and tired. The bathroom had rust in the bath/shower unit, there was the usual lotion/shower gel/soap but no shampoo. When we ordered breakfast in the morning some of the items ordered didn't turn up and it turned up late. Finally, its about £15 per day for internet access - when you pay the price for a four star hotel, considering Starbucks - even McDonalds has FREE internet access... that's pretty steep.

Overall it was pretty disappointing. Considering it has a four star hotel rating, it really is not a luxurious hotel. It is on par with generic three star hotel rivals. I'd consider somewhere else UNLESS you are getting a cheap rate deal. If we had got the hotel through one of the discounters, and were expecting a 3-star hotel level, I think it wouldn't have been so bad. However, it didn't live up to our expectations, or what we paid for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for a Saturday night on our anniversary, lovely hotel & a central location. Rooms were a bit small though for the price.

The breakfast has a wide range & all the staff are friendly. We also used the pool & sauna on to relax & unwind

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardiff Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.