We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Above Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cardiff Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Above Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Once we found the hotel (which was not easy, but that might have been my satnav) all ended up well. parking is easy with a lot of spaces available, although with a bit of walk to the lobby. has a room on the top floor, very close to the lounge. very nice and clean, but a bit noisy at times when other guests came and went in the lounge. nice and friendly staff, very efficient at check in and out. all you need, and located very centrally as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    292
    115
    37
    12
See reviews for
112
236
40
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed on Friday 9.11.12 for black tie event with my husband. Lovely clean hotel, central to Cardiff. Only little niggle was the one of the bathroom lights wasn't working and another was constantly flashing but again nothing major, Breakfast up untill 11am which was great when it's such a late night. Definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you attend a game at the Millenium stadium there is nowhere else to stay except this hotel. its a mecca for fans and the staff are greared up and expecting large crowds before and after a match. the rooms are great and the location being 5 minutes walk from the ground and the centre of cardiff is brilliant. The only downer is that the rooms are blocked out until close to a game and then it seems corporate clients get in and take the majority of the rooms. But if you do get in its great. Breakfast is great - especially after a night of celebrating!!!!

Room Tip: just get one if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in Wales
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I booked a room here for 115.00 (not incl. breakfast) - they were really nice at reception and upgraded us to an executive room. The room was 908 - fantastic view of Cardiff Bay and Ocean. Room was great. At first we thought we might go elsewhere for breakfast but we took a look at the excellent dining area and discovered that they made omelettes to order. Plus we were given a voucher at reception for a 9.50 breakfast (down from 15.75) and so we were hooked - and not disappointed (except maybe for the coffee!) The Pool-sauna area is excellent and well sized. Very large fitness area too. Would definitely stay again - however would love it if that 115 could come down a little! The hotel is just a block from the Cardiff Central train Station.

Room Tip: The top two floors (9 and 10) are where the executive rooms are located - ask if they wouldn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I saw the hotel from the train on my way into the city, so it was easy to find, just a five-minute walk from the main station. The exterior reminds me of the seventies, but inside it's much better. There was no line at check-in and check-out. The rooms are spacious and have a lot of light. Beds are comfortable. The center of Cardiff is compact so almost everything worth seeing is a short walk from the hotel, including the castle and the National Museum, which offers art and natural history exhibits (free). My rate didn't include breakfast, but there are plenty of restaurants with breakfast specials nearby. Lots of shopping opportunities as well. The hotel pool is huge and there is also a whirlpool. I booked a prepaid rate. My only gripe is the fact that my credit card was charged in euros instead of pounds at a rate about 3 or 4 percent the actual exchange rate. I did NOT authorize this customer-unfriendly payment method. I have only been a victim of this practice at Marriott hotels, the two others being in Birmingham and Warsaw. Everywhere else my card is charged in the local currency and I pay a conversion fee of 1.25% (listed separately on my statements), instead of 3 or 4 percent extra. The hotel receptionist told me that she didn't know if the card was charged in euros or pounds, so I only found out afterwards when I received my statement. I have stayed at about 20 other non-eurozone hotels in the past two years and only Marriotts have cheated me. I have elite status with Marriott and Hilton. I would have rated this hotel a four out of five, if it wasn't for this problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here because we have had some great experiences at the Marriott. We found a good room rate by booking early but found the hotel to be cold (literally) and impersonal. On several occasions when we visited the executive lounge the windows were wide open and there were no staff around, nor any sign of the advertised food on offer. Although the location is convenient the underground car park has no direct access to the hotel so is quite difficult to access when you have lots of luggage. Have stayed in a number of Marriott hotels, but sadly this left alot to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here for one night: parking is readily available albeit at a cost (£14 overnight - until 12pm). Check in was efficient although clerk had to check if my breakfast was included as my company has a negotiated rates with Marriott worldwide - no luck breakfast wasn't included.
Room was ok but felt old and in need of refurbishment. Bed felt like it was time to replace it.
Connected to wifi which worked great - at a cost £15 for 24 hours...
Gym was good, so was pool with jacuzzi sauna and steam room.
Ate at the bar but dined on the restaurant menu. Food was good and reasonably priced but there was no atmosphere - it was very quiet on a Monday night. Service was very good.
Didn't sleep very well due to air conditioning being noisy despite being turned off.
Had breakfast and ordered from a la carte - was advised when paying that it would have been cheaper to prepay breakfast at check out - something to know as breakfast is almost 15 pounds.
All in all apart from the great location, there are more modern hotels around such as the neighbouring radisson blue where I stayed a couple of years ago. With all the extras, the £99 room turned into an expensive bill given the product.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cardiff Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.