We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Restaurant Service Failed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Save Saved
You added Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Restaurant Service Failed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at the Park Inn for the Donny Osmond covert that night, perfect location to be able to walk across the road into the Motorpoint Centre to see Donny.

Hotel parking limited and we managed to squeeze the Astra into the last corner space. Reception was efficient and the room was ready on time. Good room comfortable bed and well appointed as you would expect at a Radisson Group Hotel. A few small details such as the shower could have done with a better clean to get the mould off the shower screen edges, by and large the room was good.

Almost the entire hotel was booked for Donny Osmond concert people and the restaurant was open at 17.00 hours to get us all fed and into the concert for 7.00. We booked a table for 17.30. That is where things went wrong, people were complaining after more than hour no mains had been served, I went up spoke to the restaurant manager and asked for our food to be expedited as we also waited over an hour. We were lucky and got fed although several started walking our as they had not been served.

Only problem we had was my wife ordered fish and chips with tarter sauce and they served up horseradish, asked the waiter to change it for tarter and again we got horseradish. We did not send it back as we probably would never have seen any food before the concert. I order spatchcock chicken with Lyonnais potatoes and got boiled new potatoes with a cream sauce which was an interesting variation on Lyonnais. Chicken was fine.

Breakfast was good standard buffet style with well cooked decent quality fair.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the location of the hotel and as you said you can’t be much closer that this to the Motor point arena. I have shared your comment with my reception team and they are happy to hear that your check in process was quick and efficient.
Thanks to bring to my notice the minor deficiency in the room and I am sure to take it up with the concerned department.
With regards to the poor service in the restaurant I do want to apologize for the service and we never overboard with the intention of accommodating too many guest ,one of our order taking system went down that night which mainly let us down.
I do want to assure you that it’s a one off occasion and this is not the usual standard that we practice in our restaurant.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and give us the chance to serve you better.

Kind Regards,

Mahesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    232
    157
    87
    40
See reviews for
70
254
31
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel, but a little disappointed to find they could not cater your requirements because the hotel was full. We only wanted two pillows, but it seems when the hotel is full, they have no spares! The toilet roll holder had broken, and because we were over the foyer, it was extremely noisy with singing at the top of voices until after midnight - having a good time obviously, shame everyone else had to suffer.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room over the foyer and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you were caused as you didn’t receive the extra pillow you requested. Just be assured I have taken all the internal measures to make sure this doesn’t happen again. And the problems in your room has been addressed and corrective actions have been taken. With regards to the noise we do have a very strict no tolerance policy and when we receive any complaints we tend to take immediate action to sort out the situation as long as the guest informs us straight away. Again, I would like to take the opportunity to apologize again and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you better.
If you wish to discuss the issue further don’t hesitate to contact me directly at Maheswaran.thangaraj@rezidorparkinn.com
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was wary of where I was staying at £54 for 2 adults including breakfast!!! Amazed at fab location, polite & helpful staff. It was a lovely hotel, room was huge, breakfast fab. Only down side was even though heating was on full, the room didnt seem to warm up. Will defo stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
What a nice start of my day !! I am so delighted to see that you had a enjoyable stay with us.
As you said we take pride in our location and make sure to keep the rates at par with our competitors. My staff are pleased that their service was appreciated in this forum. We have already sorted out the heating issues in the room taking the recent weather into account we have increased the temperature in the rooms.
Again, thank you for the wonderful review and would hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Mahesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on a Wednesday night for a business trip and paid £65 for room only. The room was ample sized with a good sized bathroom beds comfortable. The mattress errs on the firmer side which I prefer.

Location wise it's within a couple of minutes walk to St Mary's street and lots of bars and restaurants. The lobby/atrium also has a good if a little small bar area which was good to finish the evening off in.

Overall very good value for money and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your room with all the facilities that come with it.
Most of our guests agree the fact of our perfect location to enjoy Cardiff with everything that the city has to offer.
Hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overnight stay travelling on business. Well situated, in the city centre,messy reach to the main shops and close to the railway station. Well appointed and a delightful central atrium with reception and bar.

Room well furnished, lots of extras unexpected at this price point, hair dryer, ironing board, iron and free safe.

Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time in posting your feedback.
I am very pleased to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

stayed here when we went up for the ronan keating concert which was brill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!after a bit of confusion over booking which was sorted very efficient by the duty manager rabbi he was brilliant always smiling and very helpful made our stay very relaxed ,thank you rabbi ,lovely clean hotel with amazing food .will be booking again right opposite the motorpoint arena a big bonus !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the park in on sat 19/1. We knew that it was opposite the motorpoint arena and as we were going to the Ronan Keeting concert thought that it would be ideal. On arrival we failed to park the car in the very small car park, we parked a stones throw away in the NCP car park which cost us £18, I believe the cost of the hotel car park was £12.
Room 213 was clean and comfortable, had trouser press, kettle and coffee making facilities, my only quibble would be that the bed was quite hard. We overheared many people complaining that the heating wasn't working( must remember that there was quite a lot of snow in Cardiff and this may well have been the guests themselves feeling the cold), however our room was nice and warm. Had a few drinks in the bar before and after the concert. Bar staff were pleasant as we're the girls on reception. Would stay here again, the location was perfect for the motorpoint, you only had to cross the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review for us. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the concert. I am pleased to see that you did enjoy all the facilities in your room and at the same time, thanks to your feedback investigating about the hardness of the mattress with my team. As you mentioned due to the weather conditions lately we have increased the heating in the rooms as well as provide extra heaters as we do understand that different people have different requirements.

I have discussed your feedback with my team and they are on the moon that their service was appreciated.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Address: Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the city, opposite Cardiff International Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Rezidor, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.