We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected much better!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Berkshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expected much better!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

My wife and I booked a one night stay for a shopping trip in cardiff direct with Holiday inn Express online. Leaving our daughter with Grandparents for the night, we were looking forward to some time alone . I booked a 'Standerd double room'.
As regular Holiday Inn Express customers, we didn't consider reading any reviews before booking as we've never been disapointed with any of our Holiday Inn Express stays in the past (and there have been many).
The hotel has a huge car park and you're guaranteed a space (a great bonus in Cardiff).
The lady behind reception wasn't rude, but not that friendly either, if you know what I mean? I felt like I was bothering her rather than being welcomed. We were giving the key and told where our room was. We had a room over looking the carpark. (the odd numbered rooms seem to be the ones overlooking the water). When we opened the door, we found that there were 2 single beds instead of the double we had booked. "Oh well" we said, and went back downstairs to raise our concern. Without thinking about it at that time, we probably expected an opology for the mistake and to be moved to a double without any fuss. We were polite and in a good mood - looking forward to dropping out bags off and getting on with some shopping. We were soon knocked back down to earth though, by the rude, patronising and suprisingly horrible women (the manager) who couldn't help but tell us over and over again that it was OUR fault we had a single room as we had booked a "standerd room" online which means "you will get whatever type of room is available" and "why didn't we bother to phone the hotel to double check". We explianed that we've never had a problem before and have booked the same way everytime but if we were wrong, the website isn't very clear to make that point. We were told "it's very clear and next time we book, we should check the details properly. Your lucky we have a cancellation". Not being in the mood to argue with this nasty lady and just wanting to get on with enjoying our precious leisure time together, we kept our mouths shut and took our new key to our new room.
The room wasn't what I've come to expect from H I express. The bathroom door had a huge hole in its centre as if a fight had recently broken out. The carpet was dirty and (later that evening) we discovered the kettle didn't work.
Again, shrugging it off, we went downstairs to ask for a taxi to take us into the city centre as it's a bit of a walk when it's raining. Luckily (so we thought), the Manager wasn't at the desk, so we asked another young lady if we could get a taxi into the city. I was expecting her to pick up the phone and call a company for us, but instead without a word uttered from her, we were handed a bit of paper with a telephone number written on it. (how proffesional is that!) Anyway, it cost just £4.50 from the hotel to John Lewis (a fair distance to walk, but only about a 10 minute walk to the Red Dragon Centre and Cardiff Bay in the oposite direction from the city centre.
Had a great day. Fantastic city, shops, resaurants galore and friendly people.
Went back to the hotel after a nice big meal out and wanted to get 2 bottles of water to take to the room. We went to get an ice bucket from the cupboard marked "ice buckets stored here" - it was empty. Oh well the water's probebly chilled in the veding machine? In went £1.50, out came nothing, no bottle, no money. It's sad to say, but we almost expected as much. Dare we ask at the reception? No, we just went to bed...... To be woked up by the fire alarm at 7:30!
We opened the hotel room door to see a member of staff running down the hallway shouting "it's just a drill, don't worry". What more can I say?
Breakfast - Normal Holiday Inn Express breakfast. Toast, pastries, fruit, cereals etc. A bit cramped but overall ok.
Will not visit this hotel again next time we go to Cardiff and will think twice going to Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    196
    100
    32
    4
See reviews for
108
152
22
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are adequate,
We requested a bayview room thinking this would be quieter - however it was not - there was traffic noise from the road across the water, which continued all night - resulting in a disturbed night and a very early start the next morning for us!!
The facilities at the hotel are fine, the breakfast was good quality continental style.
The positive feature of the room was the bathroom, with a lovely walk in shower.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Stayed for one weekend night. Arrived in the dark. Car park was very full and hotel lobby seemed busy. Our ground floor room was clean. We had booked a standard room and it was a twin, so maybe enquire on booking if this is important. The beds had one flat-ish pillow each and there was only one extra. Nonetheless we slept well. Breakfast is served in area set aside overlooking the water and there is a good selection of cereals, pastries, dairy products, juices and hot drinks. However they are all in quite a compact area which makes it difficult to access if it is busy, which it was at 8am. The area still seemed quite crowded at 9.45am too. The staff seemed friendly and helpful and there is a business centre in the lobby area. If I stay again, I think I would want a room above the ground floor, as the view would be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night in April 2009, thought the hotel was good, clean, basic.

Hotel is located near the former docks outside of Cardiff, nice setting behind hotel.
Free parking on-site. Cinema/restaurant complex located about a 10 minute walk away, lively sounding bar adjacent to hotel.

Room was basic but clean.
Breakfast was fair.

The night I stayed there were several stag and hen parties based at the hotel, no problems with noise though.

Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

On the whole this hotel is ok but a couple of points.

Firstly, apparently if you book online and choose a "standard" room, what you are actually allocated is a twin room beacuse ".... thats how it comes up here.." Having checked again, I think it may be fair comment. The answer is either to book direct and specify or do so on your online booking.

The other point is the bathroom. This is a "wet room" and the tip is to take a pair of flip flops!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed here for one night using our Priority Reward points.

The location is good....10 minutes walk to the Bay & about 15 minutes to the City centre. Parking was free & we were able to keep our car in the car park on the day of departure whislt we went shopping.

The general appearence and cleanliness of the hotel was OK, but our room smelt a wee bit damp & there ware mould marks in the bathroom.

I would only stay at this hotel again if we were getting it free with our points or if it was dirt cheap.

The Travelodge at Atlantic Wharf was far better. It's newer, so the rooms are really fresh and clean & it's only 2 minute walk to Mermaid Quay with all it's bars & restaurants. Also, the parking here is also free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed at the hotel after being recommended by a friend and I was not disappointed. The location was central, easy walking distance into the town, bay, stadium and there was free car parking!! The staff were excellent, really looked after us and it felt like we hadn't left home. Though the hotel is a holiday inn express, it feels like a family run hotel with a warm and friendly atmosphere. I will definately come back again!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £5 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.