We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Docklands Revisited” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Heswall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Docklands Revisited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This Holiday Inn Express always offers a friendly welcome and is well situated for a 5 minute walk to Cardiff Bay and the Millennium Centre. It is part of the Docklands regeneration so is in the middle of a development of modern apartments and can be tricky to find.

The £5 parking fee grates a little as you would pretty much have to travel here by car and as such I would consider it a hidden supplement.

The rooms are clean and all the common areas, bar and restaurant are modern and airy. The pub next door does good food and is reasonably priced if you don't fancy the 5 minute walk to the Bay for a wide range of internationally themed restaurants and bars.

I use this hotel regularly and apart from the somewhat unreliable lift have never had an issue. Certainly better value than the travel inn nearby.

Room Tip: Pub next door does excellent food with 2for1 and discount theme nights. Don't bother with the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    198
    100
    32
    4
See reviews for
108
155
22
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

There is often a pattern that the Holiday Inn Express is a better hotel than its older and tired colleague Holiday Inn in the same city. That it true here, as the hotel is clean and comfortable but the location in the middle of a housing estate is strange. With a car no problem, but otherwise it is really in a strange out of the way location. Friendly staff make up for this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel provides good value for money and is an ideal base for anyone visiting the very vibrant Cardiff Bay area, the Millennium Centre, the waterfront, the barrage, the Norwegian Church and the Dr. Who experience. We have stayed at this hotel several times before. We were given a very warm, pleasant greeting by a male employee. Our room was quiet and we had a good night's sleep, although it could have been a little warmer as little heat came from the radiator. All the staff were very pleasant and one receptionist came across to ask if we'd enjoyed the opera the night before. The serve-yourself breakfast suits us as we don't like anything cooked in the morning, and you can make your hot drinks and toast when you're ready for them, rather than seeing them go cold on the table. We will certainly continue to use this hotel when we visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for one night as a "spur of the moment" visit to Cardiff.
The staff welcomed us in a warm and friendly manner and our room was available before our expected book-in time so we were made to feel welcome. We were given advice on how to reach our intended destination - the Dr Who Experience - and where we could eat.
The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk (more of a stroll) to the Dr Who Experience.
The car park is barrier controlled as is secure. Our room overlooked the old docks and was very well soundproofed. The room itself was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities; free wifi and a flat screen TV (free normal tv). The desk and sofa bed were useful for doing a little pc work.

The breakfast is of the buffet styled and is well provided for.

I would recommend this hotel for its excellent customer service and its location within the Cardiff Bat area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely lady who made us feel incredibly welcome. We were provided with lots of information and a map that the lady marked out for us with a highlighter. Our room was lovely and very clean. The bed was comfortable, we were given free wifi, normal tv was free and we had a lovely view of the water. We stayed for 3 nights. We slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed and awoke each morning to a free breakfast buffet which offered something for everyone. Not only is the hotel next to a very charming pub, it is also within walking distance of The Red Dragon Centre, Cardiff Bay, The Millenium Centre, Mermaid Quay, The Doctor Who Experience, Cardiff Bay Barrage and Cardiff City Centre. Absolutely brilliant. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear LeighMcCarthy

I am so pleased to read that your found your stay with us to be 'absolutely brilliant'. We are really lucky with our location here close by to so many of the great attractions which the city has to offer, which we think makes us the perfect base.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After experiencing suburban Cardiff (Took the wrong turning off the motorway), this hotel was just what I needed.
The location is picture-esque. Situated near part of the dock, it is great to sit outside with a drink on a warm summers evening. Not just that, but it is only a 10 minute walk to the Bay one way and 10 minute walk to the city centre to other.
The staff were superb what I saw if them. They were scarce but we're doing something every time I saw someone.
The room was fine, clean which it slavery room should be.
Breakfast was standard but was constantly restocked due to the demand. Hot food stayed hot which was a positive.
To my surprise the bar/restaurant was reasonably priced but sadly I chose to eat out in the city centre and didn't buy a drink when I returned to the hotel.
Overall a fantastic location, great staff and a reasonably priced bar makes for a swift return and five stars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Baxi3719

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £5 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.