We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express, Cardiff Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Newquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express, Cardiff Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very pleasant staff and a suitably clean hotel. There was no restaurant but the breakfast arrangements were suitable. No swimming pool or fitness centre was available in the vicinity.
Beautiful setting with water to the rear which included swans!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Geoffreyabrown

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel and for your kind comments with regards to the Team.

We are fortunate to be located centrally, which means that we are close to attractions such as Cardiff International Pool and the Red Dragon Centre, which has a gym facility - along with many other sites to see of course!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    198
    100
    32
    4
See reviews for
108
155
22
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

booked this night as a treat for birthday when visiting milennium centre to see Phantom. We thought we had booked a double not a twin so were disappointed to find twin beds and when we walked into the room the TV was flickering badly.... Cutomer services quick to rectify TV and told us they had no double left but would wrap the beds tightly together with either a mattress topper or a quilt and we would not feel the join - we went out, got back quite late but to our horror the beds had been turned horizontally and no topper or quilt in sight - we had to sleep then with the join in the middle of our backs!!! Too tired to change - but a terrible nights sleep and not a good experience - oh and no bacon served at breakfast in the morning!! Hotel was very clean however and FOH tried to be helpful. Emailed the Manager buit no response - we stayed there 5th January!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mandrich

Firstly, please accept my apologies for not responding to your email. I can assure you that is not the normal level of service from our hotel. Would it be possible for you to contact me direct on 029 20449000 so that I can discuss the issues which you had personally.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we get our room at the best price and we keep coming back for our City week end breaks! it's very convenient for the City centre and the Bay areas! Rooms to the front are quieter apparently (we've never been in any other) ....!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear jimboSaundersfoot

Thank you for leaving another great review for our Hotel. I know that the whole team will be thrilled to read your headline with regards to the staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am a regular user of Holiday Inn Express. The facilities are very predictable but good & adequate for one night stays. I am generally very happy with the value for money. With my stay at Cardiff Bay the staff were very helpful & service was generally good. My room was a little dark because the bulb in the main light had blown. I could have requested to change room, but I was already disappointed with the stay because I found I had to pay for internet & had to pay for parking. The hotel is nowhere near a built up area. So there is no justification to pay for parking. This indicates the franchisee is just trying to maximise income with hidden costs. I think it is a very short sighted approach. Whilst this continues to be the case I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear JTB_MIB

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I really appreciate the feedback which you have given with regards to the additional service charges which we have at the hotel.

I am sorry to read that you had an issue with the lighting in your room. I am confident that if you had reported this to reception at the time then we would have been able to resolve this quickly for you.

We have introduced a charge for guests using our car park within the past couple of years. This has allowed us to install a CCTV camera system with coverage of the whole car park and for us to employee staff to patrol this regularly, which helps give our guests peace of mind that their vehicle is secure. It also acts as a deterent for non residents utilising our car park, leaving spaces available for our guests. The charges for our car park are available on our website, on entrance to the hotel and in the lift which you have mentioned.

With regards to the charges for internet, although we do charge, we have worked hard over the past couple of years to reduce the costs to our guests by changing provider - which resulted in a 50% reduction in the cost of access for our guests. As more of our guests are wishing to connect tablets, mobile phones and lap tops, we have also had to increase our broadband lines to the hotel, which also have come at a cost. I do however value your feedback on this and will certainly note this for future reference.

On a positive note, I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be helpful and they will be delighted to read your comments with regards to service.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide this review for us.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night to see Phantom of the opera in the Millennium centre.
It was very reasonable, only £59 for the night.
Just a 5 minute walk to the bay where there are lots of bars and restaurants.
Room was a good size, not a bad view, very clean and tidy. Couldn't fault it.
Breakfast was included and very tasty.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Whilst we simply used the venue for bed and breakfast for 5 nights over the Christmas period, we cannot fault the exellent welcome and service from the staff - we must have talked to 10 different employees (including Kerrie-Anne & Katy, plus a tall guy on reception) and without exception they were all genuinely cheerful. The bedroom was functional, large, clean and with a small sofa/bed. Breakfast was as advertised, you could make your own toast as you liked it and everything was clean & kept tidy. Even the coffee machine sang a cheerful song. I have stayed in some upmarket hotels over the years and find it difficult to recall such excellent service. Highly recommended for a really warm, Welsh welcome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Paul M

I am so pleased to read that you were met with such a warm welcome from the Team here at the hotel. I know that Kerry-Anne and Katy will be thrilled to read the comments which you have written. Customer service is something on which I pride the whole team and I am delighted that this has been evident during your recent break with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

first time to stay in a chain hotel and I can't complain. staff where helpful, room was clean, location was nice, breakfast was of a good quality. If you just want a bed for the night I would advise coming here as its cheap and provides all you'll need, if however your looking for a bit more romance/atmosphere I might shop around a little more.

Room Tip: if you ask for the loyelity card the car park fee is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Trappdoor

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found your stay to be value for money and that all of your needs were met on this occasion.

I do hope that we can have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longuiel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £5 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.