We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people penny pinching business model” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longniel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great people penny pinching business model”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay in Holiday Inns frequently, four separate ones this week. Staff here, as is the case in all the sites I have stayed at are excellent. As a regular user of Holiday Inns I do object to finding out from a notice in the lift going up to my room that I am being charged £5 pounds for the privilege of parking my car in the car park, this is after all primarily a business traveler hotel how do they think we get to it. Also the ongoing issue over being charged £4.95 per hour for internet access. Mc Donalds give you free WiFi with a 90p portion of fries, is it too much to expect when spending nearly £400 a week with Holiday Inn to have free access in the bar area at least, after all most people would buy a couple of drinks from the bar while they were surfing. A really good clean hotel staffed by pleasant motivated people...ruinedby accountants sitting down and trying to wring the last extra penny from its customers by charging for items that should either be included, or alternatively plainly advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Mike M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I really appreciate the feedback which you have given with regards to the additional service charges which we have at the hotel.

We have introduced a charge for guests using our car park within the past couple of years. This has allowed us to install a CCTV camera system with coverage of the whole car park and for us to employee staff to patrol this regularly, which helps give our guests peace of mind that their vehicle is secure. It also acts as a deterent for non residents utilising our car park, leaving spaces available for our guests. The charges for our car park are available on our website, on entrance to the hotel and in the lift which you have mentioned.

With regards to the charges for internet, although we do charge, we have worked hard over the past couple of years to reduce the costs to our guests by changing provider - which resulted in a 50% reduction in the cost of access for our guests. As more of our guests are wishing to connect tablets, mobile phones and lap tops, we have also had to increase our broadband lines to the hotel, which also have come at a cost. I do however value your feedback on this and will certainly note this for future reference.

On a positive note, I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be excellent and your comments with regards to cleanliness.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    161
    94
    27
    4
See reviews for
87
132
20
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here recetnly for one night while watching the rugby at the stadium. This was a very friendly, warm and inviting hotel. Staff were very nice (even when I lost my key card in the middle of the night). The room was very clean and quite reasonably prices for a weekend where all the accommodation in Cardiff was virtually booked. The only downside is that it is a bit of a hike to the main centre of town. However, if you are there for an event at the stadium, just taxi into the centre of town because taxis in Cardiff are ridiculously cheap compared to London. All in all, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Pumbaa86

Thank you for the recommendation! I am pleased that the staff were able to assist you with your key.

Many of our guests enjoy our location as it is slightly quieter than the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It generally takes about 20 minutes to walk to the Millenium Stadium itself, which if it is a sunny day is a lovely flat route - otherwise a taxi is around £5.00. There is also the Cardiff Bay Bus, where the stop is a 5 minute walk from ourselves.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Cardiff again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

You are assured of a warm helpful welcome whether you stay for one night or many. Very comfortable rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast, great location with secure parking. The staff tip this one over edge though, such a friendly and welcoming attitude seems very rare but not here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Matt1999999

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel. I know that the team will be thrilled to read your comments regarding their welcome and friendliness.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I only stayed the one night but nothing, and I mean nothing, could be faulted. A warm welcome upon arrival, comfy enough room with a good night's sleep, better than average breakfast, coupled with ALL staff members being friendly and professional. What more can you ask or expect?

Room Tip: Ask for 1 with a waterside view on the 1st floor but let's face it in the depths of Winter with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Dadcu

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted to read that you were met with a warm and friendly welcome.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your wife back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scunny
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arrived reasonably late, but no problems checking in. Room average but had a wet patch just outside the bathroom door not sure where it came from but not a major problem, unsure about whether there ought to be a better system of getting in and out of the shower floor is a bit slippery. Breakfast, bit sameish, what can only be described as sludge sausage, scrambled eggs warp speed cooked in a microwave I would guess, toast too light once through, burnt if through a second time. Plenty of choice of hot and cold drinks. Wouldn't be happy paying £5 a night for parking and certainly not for wi fi in the hotel in this day and age. Overall would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Migster56

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I do value all feedback received, whether this is positive or negative, as this enables us to improve the standards of service which we provide to our guests.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and would use us again. I am however concerned with regards to the comments on the wet patch outside your bedroom door and hope that you won't mind contacting me direct with the number of the room which you stayed in so that I can investigate this further.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel then next time you are in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a fab night's stay at this hotel. The staff are very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are lovely, comfortable beds and faced the Waterfront. Very convenient location, only 20 minutes walk from city centre and Millennium stadium. Very near the bay. Very good continental breakfast with plenty of choice and good cooked breakfast.Big,secure car park but think you have to pay for parking here.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Waterfront are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Delyth77

I am delighted that we have managed to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us - and that you have scored us 5 out of 5!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent value for money. Room & bathroom were spotless, comfy bed, liked being able to control own heating, and even choice of firm or soft pillows.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Possible to have a massive breakfast with lots of choice. Scrambled egg, yes, is a bit suspect, but what do you expect - a top chef waiting to freshly cook?! I don't think so at this price.
Not sure about previous comments re asking to be on the lake side - not that scenic, but, really, this is not the type of hotel where you sit and gaze out of the window.
Location is brilliant - 10 minutes walk to both city centre and Cardiff Bay.
Don't really have a problem with having to pay £5 for car park (without which would probably be used by non residents because of location) but, as matter of principle, think you should be told this before you book and pay.
But would definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Barbarat85

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of our hotel. I'm so pleased to read that you found us to be clean, comfortable and value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longniel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. On arriving at the hotel you will find our car park is complimentary to all guests, and plenty of spaces for everyone. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.