We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Longniel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

You are assured of a warm helpful welcome whether you stay for one night or many. Very comfortable rooms and an excellent buffet breakfast, great location with secure parking. The staff tip this one over edge though, such a friendly and welcoming attitude seems very rare but not here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Matt1999999

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel. I know that the team will be thrilled to read your comments regarding their welcome and friendliness.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    161
    94
    27
    4
See reviews for
87
132
20
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I only stayed the one night but nothing, and I mean nothing, could be faulted. A warm welcome upon arrival, comfy enough room with a good night's sleep, better than average breakfast, coupled with ALL staff members being friendly and professional. What more can you ask or expect?

Room Tip: Ask for 1 with a waterside view on the 1st floor but let's face it in the depths of Winter with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Dadcu

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted to read that you were met with a warm and friendly welcome.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your wife back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Scunny
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arrived reasonably late, but no problems checking in. Room average but had a wet patch just outside the bathroom door not sure where it came from but not a major problem, unsure about whether there ought to be a better system of getting in and out of the shower floor is a bit slippery. Breakfast, bit sameish, what can only be described as sludge sausage, scrambled eggs warp speed cooked in a microwave I would guess, toast too light once through, burnt if through a second time. Plenty of choice of hot and cold drinks. Wouldn't be happy paying £5 a night for parking and certainly not for wi fi in the hotel in this day and age. Overall would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Migster56

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I do value all feedback received, whether this is positive or negative, as this enables us to improve the standards of service which we provide to our guests.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and would use us again. I am however concerned with regards to the comments on the wet patch outside your bedroom door and hope that you won't mind contacting me direct with the number of the room which you stayed in so that I can investigate this further.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel then next time you are in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a fab night's stay at this hotel. The staff are very pleasant, helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Rooms are lovely, comfortable beds and faced the Waterfront. Very convenient location, only 20 minutes walk from city centre and Millennium stadium. Very near the bay. Very good continental breakfast with plenty of choice and good cooked breakfast.Big,secure car park but think you have to pay for parking here.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Waterfront are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Delyth77

I am delighted that we have managed to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us - and that you have scored us 5 out of 5!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Excellent value for money. Room & bathroom were spotless, comfy bed, liked being able to control own heating, and even choice of firm or soft pillows.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Possible to have a massive breakfast with lots of choice. Scrambled egg, yes, is a bit suspect, but what do you expect - a top chef waiting to freshly cook?! I don't think so at this price.
Not sure about previous comments re asking to be on the lake side - not that scenic, but, really, this is not the type of hotel where you sit and gaze out of the window.
Location is brilliant - 10 minutes walk to both city centre and Cardiff Bay.
Don't really have a problem with having to pay £5 for car park (without which would probably be used by non residents because of location) but, as matter of principle, think you should be told this before you book and pay.
But would definitely use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Barbarat85

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of our hotel. I'm so pleased to read that you found us to be clean, comfortable and value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend theatre break and found this hotel to be good value. Quiet location equal distance from the Cardiff Bay area and the city centre.
Room was clean, staff friendly and efficient.
Only critism would be breakfast - too small an area to seat everyone & tables were left uncleared. We didn't bother with breakfast on Sunday as there was nowhere to sit - even Reception was being used.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear dcticker

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location - which is ideal for all that Cardiff has to offer.

With regards to breakfast, many of our guests take advantage of longer lies on weekends, which can mean that although we are open from 7am, it can get quite busy as the morning goes on. I will certainly take your comments on board for this.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review us and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have stopped at quite a few Holiday Inn Express locations over the years and the standards are very similar from one hotel to another. The Cardiff Bay is no exception. If you are familiar with Holiday Inn Express then everything is pretty much as you would expect.

Where this hotel scores highly is in its location. With easy access to the city or Cardiff Bay and being built on the side of a lake it is in a very pleasant area. There is also ample car parking although I am always peeved with Holiday Inn Express charging guests to park in their car park when they are already paying to stay in their hotel.

The room was very clean and comfortable. All the usual creature comforts. We had a room overlooking the car park but then not everyone can have a room facing the lake. The shower seemed to run hot and cold intermittently as if it was struggling to keep up with warm water in the morning.

Perhaps it was due to the hotel being full or the changing of the clocks but when we turned up for breakfast in the morning it was a little chaotic. Things had run out, there was a shortage of cutlery and everything was a bit haphazard. The hotel was really full. The staff were doing their best and despite the place being so busy they were cheerful and friendly.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the lake if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Tavakli

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff.

On weekends, many of our guests enjoy a more leisurely stay and take advantage of a long lie, which is why there seems to be have been more of a queue at breakfast for you. I'm pleased that our team here demonstrated their cheerfulness well during this time.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longniel Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. On arriving at the hotel you will find our car park is complimentary to all guests, and plenty of spaces for everyone. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.