We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lincoln House Private Hotel to your Saves list
Lincoln House Private Hotel
118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A nice place to stay, close to the centre, with a lovely entrance hall, breakfast area and lounge. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and lovely. We stayed in a room which was in the attic and was very slightly smaller than we expected with no bath, but was immaculately clean, and the bed was very comfy. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in the attic for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay in our 3* family run hotel!!

I am glad you had a great stay. Just to make you aware, we do have a selection of rooms, ranging from compact doubles to super-king size and also four-poster rooms. We do have rooms with baths, however it is always best to request this at the time of booking or on check-in if we are to allocate a room with bath!!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Regards,

Kate Howard-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    110
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
70
222
25
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing we wished we had heard of you sooner .
What a way to celebrate our 50th W.A. friendliness and knowledge of Staff first class, rooms and food where perfect .Also so easy to walk into Cardiff .
we hope to come again soon .
many many thanks Keith Jill Whitehead

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review Mr & Mrs. Whitehead and many congratulations once again on your 50th Wedding Anniversary!!

It was our absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kate Howard-Williams
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked for a one night stay after reading the excellent reviews of the hotel and were not disappointed. Great location, lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast. Stop hesitating and book, but please, leave us a room!

Room Tip: The comment regarding the "Restaurant" relates to the breakfast as the hotel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Many Thanks for your review, we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay!

"Great location,lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast" All you can ask for really and wish to expect! :-)

We will make sure we have a room for you and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Turn left out of the hotel into Dyfrig Street, go through the gate at the bottom and walk across to the River Taff. In a couple of minutes you’ll be at the Swalec Stadium. Go on for a few minutes more, cross the road and you’re at the Millennium Stadium and just a few more metres further on there’s the City Centre. If it’s a decent day and you are feeling like some exercise (we were!) carry on along the Taff on the same side as you started, thread your way round past Penarth Quay Marina and walk across the Cardiff Bay Barrage and then on into the Cardiff Bay Development. You can either walk back from there (we did but then we’re old!) or get a bus or train back into the City Centre. That’s how convenient the Lincoln House is. Now ally that to an immaculately kept establishment, sumptuous breakfasts and service that is warm and attentive without being “in your face” and you have a really great proposition. Put more succinctly, we really enjoyed it.

Additionally, although we ate in the City, there look to be some decent places to eat nearby and there’s a fine pint of Evan Evans to be had in the Cricketers just a few doors down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wow it really does sound like you got to know Cardiff very well during your stay and did some great walking, how lovely. That is certainly the beauty of Cardiff, everything within a short distance of one another.

Thank you so much for saying we are an immaculately kept establishment. Glad you had lovely breakfasts and as always here at Lincoln House, you can be sure of a high level of warm service :-)

Thank you for choosing our 3* star family run hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My mother and aunt stayed for the second time - as world travellers their commentary that this is the best is worth noting particularly the superb breakfast and absolutely wonderful service. A great place to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wow it really does make us feel quite special to learn that your mother and Aunt have said were the best. Thank you very much. :-)

Yes our breakfasts are yummy! Glad you enjoyed them, We are extremely happy to hear as always that your received wonderful service.

Hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing our 3* family tun hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at the hotel 8 Feb 2014 for 1 night and found everything spotlessly clean and the staff were welcoming and very knowledgeable. The Welsh breakfast was absolutely delicious as the fruit was fresh and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order. It was only a 15 minute walk through the park to Cardiff Castle and the city centre so no need for buses although there was a regular service if needed. We found a fabulous bistro close by on Saturday night and had a wonderful meal. Thank you Neil and all the staff for making our first stay in Cardiff a memorable one. Chris and Sally.

Room Tip: Our room was large and roomy with no traffic noise so no concerns next time we book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it is great to hear staff were welcoming and knowledgeable :-)

We have very high standards of cleanliness here and a very good team of staff, so thank you for your lovely comment on cleanliness. Indeed our breakfasts are delicious and certainly don't leave you hungry.

We hope you choose to come to stay at Lincoln House for your second visit :-)

Many Thanks for choosing our 3* star family run hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Lincoln House Hotel pulled out all the stops for my mother's 90th birthday celebrations. we booked three rooms, all beautifully decorated and spotless, the housekeeping department was superb. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very professional. A first class family run hotel that will give the Savoy a run for their money! I will recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: the four poster beds were terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Many Congratulations from all of us here at Lincoln House on your mother's 90th Birthday!

Very pleased to hear that staff were very helpful and professional. Yes our four-poster rooms are beautiful and have lots of Victorian charm.

We would all love to think that we were as good as The Savoy and what a lovely compliment, thank you. :-)

Many Thanks for recommending us to all of your friends! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln House Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.