We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lincoln House Private Hotel to your Saves list
Lincoln House Private Hotel
118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very pleasant hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this over the phone at reasonably short notice because of a family funeral in Cardiff. I spoke to David on the phone and as he was very helpful and they had all the rooms we needed, I decided to look no further and book it.
We had 3 rooms - the family room and 2 doubles. All were spacious and well equipped and quiet as well which was appreciated. There is parking at the rear of the hotel for about 12 cars - we had no trouble getting spaces. There is a big guest lounge and a bar - neither of which we actually used but they looked very comfortable . Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice.
Reasonable price for what we needed. The single occupancy of a double room I thought was a bit pricey - I was told they had single rooms but that they were so small they didn't like to use them.
Overall a good experience and would recommend

Room Tip: ask to stay at the rear of the hotel - the road out front is quite busy with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    120
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
242
25
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great Hotel in a fantastic location. Start off with a wonderful breakfast that offers a full range of delectables. Then head out the door to a side street leading to a gate that opens to a park entrance. A nice stroll through the park leads to a door adjacent to Cardiff castle. After visiting the sites, head back to a room that is comfortable and pleasing. Lovely stay and charming host. Prior reviews and pictures do not lie. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Nice to be told you found our hotel to be great! Yes breakfasts are certainly not for the faint hearted, plentiful and delicious!!

Thank you for highly recommending us and we hope to see you when you are next in Cardiff.


Diolch en fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a private family owned hotel, largely bed and breakfast. The hotel is very conveniently located at the back of Bute Park (and a stones throw from Glamorgan Cricket Club). It is on the main Cathedral Road which means it is in easy access of the city centre (a ten minute walk in fact).

The hotel is very clean, welcoming and the rooms are very comfortable. I rarely stay at B&Bs, but will not hesitate to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, nice to hear you had an excellent stay.

Hope to see you again soon.


Diolch en fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on a street that is lined with lovely old houses. The downstairs lounge and breakfast room are lovely and the bedroom was quite spacious. We had a room at the back which was nice and quiet. Staff were friendly and very helpful.
There is an entrance to some beautiful gardens a few metres down the side street with paths leading to town.
There's no lift so request a lower room if stairs are an issue. There are three floors I think.
Breakfast offered a large range of foods, hot and cold, including some Welsh delicacies.
I definitely recommend this if you're after a Welsh experience rather than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Many Thanks for your review and for visiting us from Australia!

Very pleased you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you again when you are next in Cardiff.


Diolch en fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

What a lovely place to stay. Friendly and welcoming from the moment we walked through the door. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff very friendly. Room quite old fashioned but kept in line with the character of the house. Also spotless and fresh towels and room cleaned every day. Booked when speedway was in Cardiff so very busy but breakfast was excellent and piping hot also did not have too wait very long. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room at the back no noise except other guests in the room above walking around at 6in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed the speedway! Happy to hear you had a lovely stay.

We hope to see you again.


Diolch en fawr,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On arrival, it was noticed that only one room was booked. we were a paryt of two couples. As two rooms were originally booked we were quite worried that there would be a problem, but no, luckily another room was available and all was handled with politeness and efficiency.
Wonderful breakfast with everything you could think of, including welsh laver bread. The amount of different fresh fruit was amazing.
There was nothing we could fault them on, but saying tha,t you have to be reasonably fit as there is no lif, and walking up 34 stairs to the 3rd floor, where we were, became quite demanding at times.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, and the convenience to the park and the river and town centre shops is great. It is a lovely walk.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the front is quite noisy with the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Apologies for the confusion of your booking on your arrival. I am pleased this was dealt with in an efficient manner.

In regards to your room being on the third floor, when you book next time, please let us know you require a ground or first floor room at the back of the hotel and we shall do our best to allocate you one of these rooms.

Hope to see you again at Lincoln House.

Diolch en fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarzana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a grand place to stay! We loved the decor, the parlor, our room, the breakfast buffet, the staff and the location (easy walking distance to Cardiff Castle, Sophia Gardens, Bute Park, the Civic Center, the river, shops and restaurants). A walk to the bay takes about forty minutes. Bus stops are just down the street, a street lined with other beautiful Victorian buildings. An excellent choice while visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Lovely that you found our hotel to be elegant and comfortable. Yes Cathedral Road is a beautiful road full of gorgeous Victorian properties.

Thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again soon.


Diolch en fawr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln House Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.