We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real treasure in Cardiff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lincoln House Private Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Cardiff
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“a real treasure in Cardiff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the second time that my husband and I have stayed at the Lincoln House Hotel and once again we enjoyed every moment of our stay. The best part of the Lincoln House is the staff. They are warm and welcoming, they strive to meet the needs of each guest from individually prepared breakfasts to assisting with bus and train schedules and phoning numerous restaurants to make reservations for special needs. Twice now my husband and I have had to catch an early flight from Cardiff requiring us to leave the hotel at 3:30 am. On both occasions a staff member has awoken to see us off and ensure we had no problems with the taxi. Thank you Brendan!! I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are all very pleased that your second stay with us was pleasurable. Lincoln House strives to create a home from home ambience and we are pleased you find us warm and welcoming.


Hope to see you again for your 3rd visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    98
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
62
196
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cartegena Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The previous reports on the hotel are absolutely correct. This is a fantastic place to stay if you wish to explore the wonderful city of Cardiff, Europe s youngest city. The location is wonderful allowing the visitor to take the short walk through the fantastic Cardiff Castle grounds to get into the vibrant centre of Cardiff. This walk is on flat ground and is easily achievable by all.
The hotel itself is everything a visitor would want starting with onsite "free" parking. Once you have arrived at the Lincoln getting into Cardiff is so easy with no hidden costs of taxi or city centre parking.
The rooms are superb with plenty of hanging space for those with large "wardrobes". The temperature even on the coldest nights is very warm and controllable. The bathroom is as good as you would get anywhere. However the facilities outside your own room are even better with a fabulous, extremely comfortable lounge with free newspapers, bowls of fruit and plenty of interesting books. If you forget your laptop or ipad, the lounge has a free to use PC.
The dining room and breakfast are without comparison. Food is cooked to your individual taste and the choice is mind blowing.
The final accolade rests with the staff who are all extremely helpful, informative, curtious and unbelievably friendly.
My wife and I spend a lot of time in hotels around the world and the Lincon matches the best we have used

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review!

I think you have summed up Cardiff beautifully, it is a vibrant city and is set with a great Castle and grounds in the heart of Cardiff.

Yes free parking is certainly an added bonus in todays world.

I am very happy to hear you made full use of all facilities in our hotel, the lounge certainly is a very peaceful, victorian room to read a book or newspaper.

I do hope you were brave enough to sample our laverbread with some bacon whilst you had your breakfasts.

It is so heart warming when guests can say that all staff were helpful, informative, friendly and curtious, couldn't ask for more really and it is indeed humbling.

From all of us here at the Lincoln, we hope you and your wife return to stay with us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved Lincoln Hotel.... Me and my partner only stayed for one night but left feeling very welcomed and looked after by the owner and his attentive staff.
The hotel is cosy, warm and only a 15 minute walk from the City centre. Walk Bute park way, along the river Taff to the city and get a great view of the Millennium stadium.
The beds were comfy, rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious...try the welsh Laver bread and welsh cakes if you can mange it after their filling fry-ups!

Another great advantage to the Hotel is the free parking as parking in Cardiff can be costly!

Would recommend this charming hotel to anyone visiting Cardiff - every city needs a hotel like Lincoln!

Room Tip: go for a four poster bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am truly pleased to learn that you "loved lincoln hotel" all staff are incredibly happy to hear you say that!

Cardiff is a fantastic little city, as you say a 15 minute walk to the heart of Cardiff and everything is within walking distance.

I am glad you braved the Laver bread, I personally love this, but I can appreciate those who find it of an unusual taste.

Thank you for your lovely review and we do hope you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We travel to Cardiff to visit relatives and have always found this hotel to be very clean and well appointed. Staff are welcoming on arrival,attentive to needs and the breakfasts are truly superb. A key aspect for us is its proximity to the centre of Cardiff ( approx 15 mins walking ) allied to its free and easily accessible car parking.
We now have a favourite room ( not telling! ) and would not hesitate to recommend it to others visiting Cardiff. We are now planning our 2013 visits.
One other aspect is that nearby are a number of small resturants and pubs which also serve very good food with wonderful atmospheres

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, 3 visits in one year! Wow thank you.

Yes we are in a very good location, with a beautiful 20 minute walk through the park to the city centre and as you say very good restaurants and pubs all within walking distance.

We look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

lovely atmosphere, great friendly staff and was real treat for weekend away.We felt special from the moment we arrived, breakfast to die for and nothing too much trouble
\was able to park for FREE amazing in a city close to christmas !!!!!
After few hours shopping in the nicest city in britain it was a lovely comfortable and warm nights sleep with feeling of luxury throughout.
Both bedroom and bathroom are very modern considering the moderate price for city centre hotel, just as a comparison Hilton charging 125.00 and 15 parking and breakfast 15.95.
We had it all for 120 all included and just as good if not better with more personal touches..
Wifi free as well great bonus for checking online statements after shopping with partners card !! wo wo !!!

Room Tip: if you can go for four poster it far outways many rooms in city hotels !!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review, yes your right, free parking, free wifi and breakfast included, isn't bad for a city centre hotel! Thank you.

It is a real treat to go for the four-poster rooms, giving you the real feel of this gorgeous Victorian Hotel.

Sounds like you had a lovely weekend and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Would like to thank the owners and staff of The Lincoln Hotel for making our week long stay in Cardiff so enjoyable and memorable. A very warm and welcoming Hotel. Room and food could not be faulted. Highly recommended looking forward to return next year.
Newly weds,
Mr & Mrs Barnard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Congratulations to you both once again! We hope you are finding married life treats you well.

We are all very pleased and happy to find that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit in 2013!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just stayed once again in the Lincoln House Private Hotel, it is one of the best places I stay. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the rooms are perfect, the wifi works and it is a real home from home. The breakfast is such a treat with many items including fresh fruit, homemade Welsh Cakes, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, poached eggs on muffins or full cooked breakfast. Cannot think of anything that could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review, all staff appreciate it very much!
How lovely to make you feel like it is a home from home.

Nice to hear we cannot improve on anything!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln House Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.