We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln House Private Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lincoln House Private Hotel to your Saves list
Lincoln House Private Hotel
118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bungendore, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I would really love to give this hotel a higher rating but the standard of the room lets it down.
Firstly - the good;
Staff - the staff were genuinely friendly and good at what they do. Attentive, helpful and a good source do information about Cardiff.
Breakfast - the breakfast buffet was quite impressive. There was a range a fresh fruit and cereals, cakes, jams etc. plenty to start the day off. The cooked breakfast was also good. Generous serves. My only complaint about the cooked breakfast was that the eggs appear to be cooked in quite a bit of oil and you can taste the oil - everything else was very nice.
Location - the hotel is conveniently located in Cardiff. Cardiff Castle was a very pleasant walk away through Bute Park.
Parking - free parking available at the rear of the hotel. This is a godsend as parking in Cardiff can be a nightmare.
The not so good;
The room is VERY dated. And I'm not just talking about the style of decoration. The bathroom in particular is not what you would expect of a modern (and fully priced) hotel. I've attached some pictures to give you an idea.
The bed was uncomfortable and poorly made. The bottom sheet only just came up to the top of the bed meaning that it slipped down during the night exposing the rough mattress protector.
Poor offering of toiletries. The only things in the bathroom were the wall mounted squeeze bottles of soap (something I rarely use given I can't be sure of their origin) and those little round paper wrapped waxy soap blocks....can't stand them.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Owner at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We were very pleased you thought that the staff were genuinely friendly, we also try to give all our guests a Warm Welsh Welcome, also that you mentioned that our breakfasts were quite impressive. I understand your partner and yourself asked for 3 fried eggs with your cooked breakfast, which was no problem, on both morning's and that you said you could taste oil, our fried eggs are cooked in sunflower oil, you could have opted for a more healthier option and had scrambled eggs or poached.
You also mentioned that the ensuite in the room you stayed in was dated, most of the ensuite's in the Hotel have been totally refurbished, expect three although spotlessly clean, these will be completed in January, when we have our low season, we have been unable to take these three rooms out of use due to advanced booking's.
We are not a modern Hotel as you stated we are a 112 year old Town House with character rooms of different styles and sizes.
The price you paid £89.50 inclusive of VAT at 20% with free parking which could cost up to £20 a night in Cardiff, and a Full Welsh Breakfast, is a very fair price for two persons.

Kindest regards
Kath Howard (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    120
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
241
25
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Three of us have just spent two nights at the Lincoln House Hotel. We had two rooms, a kingsize and a small double occupied by one person. We were very happy with both rooms which were spacious, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was excellent, including plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were both friendly and helpful.
We were disappointed when we couldn't get booked into our usual hotel for our short break in Cardiff, however, we now feel that it was fortuitous and will definitely be making The Lincoln House Hotel our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Many Thanks for your review, it is lovely to hear you were happy with both rooms, staff and our delicious breakfasts.

I am delighted that you will be making Lincoln House your first choice when in Cardiff again.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth Mid Wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I booked three double rooms at this hotel at the beginning of September for three couples. One room was upgraded to a four poster double for a small surcharge and this was very much appreciated as we were staying for three nights. The upgraded room was large and comfortable but the other standard doubles were very small and cramped in comparison. The four poster room did not have working Wi-Fi as advertised ( it was slower than dial up ), there was no air con due to the age of the building and the upgraded room was actually very dusty as if it was under used. Breakfasts were great with an excellent full Welsh and plenty of other choices to suit any taste. The bar was very quiet and served by the receptionist. Check out was slightly chaotic. Would I stay here again? Probably not as you can get better value for £90 per night. I give Lincoln House 6/10 - I was hoping by reading the previous reviews that it may have been 8 or 9. Stay well clear if its forecast warm weather.

Room Tip: Request a larger room if you want to swing a cat
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Owner at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review we were very distressed that your stay was only OK, we are a family run business and try hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable, while we understand that Lincoln House can not be to everyone's liking, stating that we do not have Air Conditioning the building was built 112 years ago, and having unsightly boxes or wires would totally be out of character for the building we can provide fans when requested. We are on a main road so dust is unavoidable, although I find this comment hard because we are always credited on our Housekeeping standards and have just achieved 9/10 from the Visit Wales. The Hotel does have total wi fi but because of your comment we do have a company looking at the room in question this week. All our rooms are different styles and standards with prices inclusive of 20% VAT , Full Welsh Breakfast, and Free Car Parking, at the price you paid we find this totally acceptable, and do not think that you would get a finer standard for that price anywhere, as stated by the very satisfied guests that stay and return to us. Thank you for your review, all aspects of it have been addressed.

Kindest Regards Mrs. Kath Howard Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed the night before the half marathon..and was such a quick walk into town/castle via Sofia Gardens. Hotel was immaculate and staff could not have done more..offering drinks whilst we waited for the room to be ready..sitting in the gorgeous lounge surrounded by period furniture..very tasteful..We were provided with an early breakfast including porridge as we needed to get off to the start of the race...and were able to leave our car in the car park until after the race had finished and beyond checking out time. All of this extra mile so to speak was greatly appreciated. The only downside at all was the room was at the front of the house (the third floor was no problem..needed the warm up!) and the traffic was really heavy.all night (maybe due to the preparation for the half marathon?)...hence very little sleep (ok if you are a heavy sleeper I suppose!)..room I agree with last review was very warm (agin depends on how you like your bedroom to be)..However I definitely would return as staff so couteous and helpful and house so clean, classy and comfortable...but would definitely ask for room away from the front of the house.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is fantastic to hear you found staff to be to a high standard and the hotel to be immaculate.

I am glad to hear we went the extra mile for you during your stay.

Due to us being a city centre hotel, unfortunately there will be slight road noise, however we do have rooms at the back of the hotel and can request this when booking again.

The heating in rooms can be turned down and we can also provide fans in rooms if requested.

Many Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for one night end of September, so not a hot day, but our bedroom was boiling hot on the third floor. Heating was not on, so I am unsure why this should be, but resulted in very little sleep.

The hotel is very well presented and our room was perfectly presented, but much smaller than we anticipated. There is free car parking at the hotel which is a bonus in Cardiff. It is a fairly long 15 minute walk into Cardiff city centre, so a consideration if you are not spritely!

No restaurant at the hotel, but the Cricketers Gastro Pub a few hundred yards away was delightful.

Breakfast at the hotel was hearty and varied, served by the friendly owner.

Would we stay again....yes definitely, but not in that particular room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It is unfortunate to hear you found your room so warm, we are looking into this.

However if you would have bought this to reception's attention, we could have provided you with a fan or changed your room for you.

Thank you for your feedback and we have taken everything you said onboard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed in so many grubby, grotty places that I've lost count. I have to say this was a refreshing change and proof there are people out there taking pride in their business's. A spotlessly clean, well maintained and managed hotel. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the staff courteous and attentive. The room had a four poster bed and a huge bay window facing the front of the building. At first I thought we would be disturbed by traffic but actually I didn't even notice it and slept right through. The en-suite was immaculate and clinically clean. The location is ideal with the walk to the city center taking you though the park and alongside the river (a lovely start to your day) I only wish we had spend more time relaxing in the hotel. I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Cardiff.

Room Tip: We had the last available room and probably paid a premium. Wales v Scotland and a half marathon bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Yes we are a family run hotel and we do take much pride in providing very high standards in our victorian hotel.

It is always great to hear thats staff were courteous and attentive. Our four-poster rooms are very luxurious and are a different to our standard double rooms. I am pleased you had the experience in staying in one of these rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The location is a short walk from Cardiff city centre, and it has good parking. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed, and are lovely and clean. When it come to breakfast, well take your pick it's all there, from fresh fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, you name it I think you could have it.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Cardiff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, as it can be a bit noisey at the front with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
How great that we are one of the best hotels you have stayed in.

It is always amazing to read that staff were friendly and helpful. I am very pleased that rooms were to your satisfaction.

Thank you for saying that you would not stay anywhere else when in Cardiff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118 - 120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian hotel in the heart of Cardiff Imagine all the benefits of Victorian splendor in a hotel just minutes from Europe’s youngest, most vibrant capital. Welcome to Lincoln House Private Hotel in Cardiff, South Wales.Whether you are visiting the Welsh capital for business, sport, culture, relaxation or for the city’s busy nightlife, our traditional bed and breakfast offers some of the best-placed accommodation in Cardiff. Built in 1900, this Victorian Town House has been caringly restored and developed to provide today’s guest with all the comforts of modern living in an authentic Victorian atmosphere. Lincoln House Hotel in Cardiff - an oasis of tranquility on the very doorstep of an energetic and lively capital city. Situated in a select area of Cardiff, Cathedral Road often referred to as "The Chelsea of Cardiff", the hotel is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, stunning Millennium Stadium, Cardiff Castle, Universities, Museum, Civic Centre & Swalec Stadium (Cricket Ground). Much more than just a bed and breakfast in Cardiff. All the luxury of a Victorian town house caringly restored to provide the benefits and comforts of a modern B&B. Full Welsh breakfast. Luxury beds. Full en-suite facilities. Free Wi-Fi. Broadband internet. Laundry service. Flat screen digital Freeview television. Free private car park. Tea and coffee facilities. Email, fax and photocopying facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln House Private Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.