We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandringham Hotel to your Saves list
Sandringham Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off = book direct
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

stayed for 2 night, hotel in a great location in city centre and 5 minutes walk for central station. had a good night sleep, good breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff. one down side the hotel was very dated and décor shabby the carpet in the bedroom was very wore and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay at the Sandringham.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
I note your point about the carpet. I am changing them as finances permit and have done some recently.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    177
    87
    26
    27
See reviews for
46
129
80
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great venue for visiting City Centre of Cardiff. Come by train. Walk about the city and visit the sights. Clean Hotel with great breakfast. Would recommend for shopping trips. Theatre visits. Rugby game visits. Just chilling in Cardiff.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for enjoying the City life, at night in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks John for your lovely review.
I am glad that you and your colleagues have enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry that I missed you on this occasion but hopefully we will see you again
in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first and last night at the Sandringham! Never again! OK, good central location but that is the only positive thing we can find to say. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, the decor shabby and dated, the room small with burn marks on the carpet and the bathroom had a broken toilet seat. Studded walls meant we could follow the many drunken conversations (and other nocturnal activities) in adjoining rooms and the noise from the street was deafening (discos, brawling etc.) until 4.30am. Then the seagulls and dustcarts arrived. We got no sleep at all. Cannot comment on the breakfast - we were so desperate to get out of there that we left at 7.30am. They advertise car parking at 9GBP per day but we were charged 18.75GBP from 5.00pm to 7.30am, so be warned.
We have stayed in many central Cardiff hotels and this is beyond doubt the worst in its class. Not worth the money - a truly horrible experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I am very sorry to read your review.
I am also disappointed that you did not feel comfortable enough to talk to us.
I will investigate your comments to try to improve the experience for future guests.
Car parking is £9 for 24 hours but you need to buy a validated ticket from reception so that the NCP know you are staying with us. I may still be able to get you a refund on the parking and I would like the opportunity to talk with you about your stay.
If this is of interest to you then please e-mail me on sandringhamsales@gmail.com
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This has been the 4th time staying at the Sandringham. Everytime the staff are very friendly and the breakfast is great. You can have a full English breakfast or for just £2.00 double up for a larger full English breakfast. In addition there is toast, a range of cereals, fruit and juices to set you up for the day. The rooms are decent in size. The main attraction for the Sandringham is where it's situated right in the middle of St. Mary's Street with the Millennium Stadium at one end and Cardiff Castle at the other. Cardiff Central railway station and Cardiff bus station are only 4mins walk away! Will be staying there again for sure as I love this hotel.

Room Tip: ALWAYS book directly on the hotel's website rather than booking via an agency as you get the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your five star review.
It is always a pleasure for us to see you.
I am so grateful to you for writing your comments.
Hopefully as you say we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

When I arrived for a one night stay around my initial concern was noise. Fortunately we had a room in the back and it was fine.

Yes, the rooms a little run down but the beds were comfy and the water hot. Breakfast was nice and the staff friendly.

If you are after basic and comfortable in the town centre this is worth checking out.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you Matt for your review and for choosing to stay with us.
We are a family run business competing against the big chain hotels. I am very glad that you
have felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed in the hotel on Friday evening excellent smack bang in St Mary street. First thoughts were going to be noisy due to the location but nope we were at the back of the hotel and didn't here a thing. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean and tidy and the beds were nice and comfy had a good night sleep.
If you do get peckish on your way home from a night out next door is McDonalds or 2 mins up the road is chippy lane and across the road is subway so a variety of places to have a late night munch would recommend staying here again...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I am really pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
I am grateful to you for taking the time to let others know by writing these comments.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at the Sandringham Hotel on a Saturday night, was expecting it to be quite noisy as it is situated in St Mary Street a busy street in the capital, but was pleasantly surprised. I have just had an operation in hospital and asked for a first floor room as i cannot manage stairs very easily, the staff were very helpful and put us in Room 2 a first floor double room overlooking the the street. The room had an en-suite bathroom and toilet and tea and coffee making facilities as well as free WI-FI and a TV. The staff moved my wheel chair to a safe place overnight and carried it down the stairs for me in the morning. The hotel cooked a good full English breakfast in the morning and there was unlimited supply of tea/coffee and toast.We didn't take advantage of the discount in the downstairs Jazz Cafe but thought it was a nice extra. I guess the only downside was the absence of a lift but it wasn't a problem for us and the staff were very friendly and helpful would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a well run family hotel in the centre of Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated.
It was an absolute pleasure for us to meet you and I am delighted to read that my colleagues looked after you.
Hopefully one day we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: 21 St Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandringham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.