We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take away - don't bother...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Blue

Bombay Blue
27A Cardiff Road | Nantgarw, Cardiff CF15 7SS, Wales (Llandaff)
+44 1443 842828
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bombay Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #434 of 904 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Llandaff
Description: Situated in Nantgarw near Cardiff, Bombay Blues is a vibrant restaurant specialising in traditional Indian cuisine. Providing a unique combination of knowledge, experience and traditional values, we invite our customers to dine in modern, relaxed and welcoming surroundings. Bombay Blues serves an extensive array of authentic meals, which are freshly prepared using the finest ingredients. Our food can be consumed in our restaurant or in the comfort of your own home via our Takeaway service.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take away - don't bother...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

I ordered a takeaway - cold, small portions, boring. The prawns in the madras must have numbered 5 in total.
Miserable looking service - what was going on tonight??
£9.50? - a sorry waste of money

  • Visited March 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“where has it gone wrong?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming here since it opened for sit down meals and take aways. We have always enjoyed the food and have been the biggest fans of this Indian. However, we have been so disappointed the last few times. Food has been bland, everything tastes the same. No longer has the wow factor. Gutted.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Upmarket Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

An upmarket modern Indian restaurant, with an extensive menu including some dishes I haven't seen elsewhere. Good service in attractive surroundings.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I was on a solo business trip to Cardiff and needed an evening meal. It is a year since I last ate there and fancied a curry. I have read a few recent reviews which were not too complimentary but I did not have a problem . Empty car park. Not crowded in the restaurant. Attentive staff. Food served in a good timescale. Hot and as expected for flavours. I will definitely go again. Views differ. Try it yourself.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst curry I've had for a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Ordered a take away at 17.45 told it would be about 45mins turned up at 1930hrs when it eventually turned up it was stone cold and the wrong curry sauce ie medium with veg (tasteless) not madras as ordered. I will not be using this place again.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Blue also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 
Pontypridd, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Bombay Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.