We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dexby Town House

Save Saved
You added Dexby Town House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dexby Town House
126 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had an absolute fantastic stay. Excellent service and a good breakfast. Friendly staff, especially Susana :-) The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was very modern equipped. Tv and hair dryer inclusive as well as the possibility to make tea and coffee. Great Location - recommend the pub " the cricketers" absoulte great location to eat and drink out.
Will come back for sure ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    36
    7
    6
    17
See reviews for
14
40
32
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in the hotel. My flight was very early, so I could not check in earlier as no rooms were available, but the management was kind enough to keep my suitcase stored before the check in time. The single room was very clean and cosy. The bed was very comfy. The continental breakfast was good, filled me up for the day. The hotel is very close to the city centre. Perfect location on pretty Cathedral road away from the rough areas. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a short-term or long-term stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in Cardiff this week for a Bruce Springsteen concert at the Millennium Stadium, and this was the perfect place to stay. Easy to get in and out of the centre of town. Friendly welcome, good room, clean, and very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I spent 7 nights at Dexby Townhouse Cardiff.
On Arrival I was welcomed by Susanna, the welcome is warm and friendly.
Susanna showed me to my room (room 5) a single budget room.
Susanna explained everything that I needed to know.
The room was a good size for a single room, good decoration, good furniture, a good comfortable single bed with quality bedding which made for a good nights sleep.
Tv/freeview is provided with free wifi with no signal issues.
Tea and coffee is provided with biscuits which are regularly replenished.
The ensuite was a good size with a warm shower with soft white towels and complimentary toiletries, the shower was a good size.
Breakfast in the morning was a good continental, or you could have a cooked breakfast for a small charge.
I highly recommend this b&b friendly, welcoming, clean with good room rates.
Susanna is the star of this b and b nothing is too much trouble and Susanna will help you in any way she can.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived very late after delays, the management had made contact in advance and they were very helpful advising me on what to do. A bit disconcerting just letting myself in without seeing a soul but made being late less stressful. The room was clean and comfortable. I liked having the option of paying extra for a cooked breakfast as what was provided was fine. The rate was very good and it was lovely and quiet but still quite easy to walk into town ( about 15 mins). Staff were friendly and it was a good option when I was travelling alone as it was less impersonal than the big hotels. If I had a suggestion it would be to improve the breakfast provisions and step up from budget options, but I suppose you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed by the lovely efficient Suzanna. The rooms were spotlessly clean all individually co ordinated decor. Breakfast for the small additional cost was really good value. Will definately stay here again. Staff efficient and helpful. Beds are the best ive ever slept in in any hotel in the country.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dexby, Manager at Dexby Town House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing feedback! It really means a lot to us that you had such a great experience at the Dexby Townhouse. We do our best to provide the best possible service and always with a smile.

Best wishes from all of us! Kind regards,

Susana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRYPTO2008
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Whilst not without its faults, this B&B was overall very good, particularly when judged against its price.

Run by the parents of Charlotte Church, it's located 10-15 walk from the City Centre. The owners are very friendly and accommodating (pun intended).

If you want a quiet room, try getting Room 8 or 9 at the top of the house, which offers no-one above and only one neighbour. The room was spacious and nicely-decorated.

Initially I had no hot water but this was soon fixed. My only negative point was that the movement-sensor light outside my room kept turning the landing light on and off in the night; the light itself wasn't visible from my room but the clicking as it turned on and off was audible. I pointed it out and the owner said she'd get someone to look at it but not until the day after I was leaving, so I had to wear ear-plugs the next night (to be fair, I'm very sensitive to noise and it wasn't overly loud). This is no doubt fixed now though anyway.

Continental breakfast is included in the pleasant breakfast room, and for just £4 more you can get a nice cooked breakfast too.

So despite a couple of issues, this was a nice place to stay, and very good value for money.



  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dexby Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexby Town House

Address: 126 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dexby Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexby Town House Hotel Cardiff
Dexby Town House Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexby Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.