We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Fagans: National History Museum

St. Fagans: National History Museum
Cardiff CF5 6XB, Wales
029 2057 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 59 Attractions in Cardiff
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large, living museum chronicling the last 500 years of Welsh history: fun, interactive exhibits make this a popular family destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Don't be put off by the word museum. I is not a stuffy old building. If you have been to singleton in Sussex it is just like that except it is FREE. We only had two hours and only got to see half of it. If you love nosing in people's houses this is the place for you! I loved the terrace of houses.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,877
    456
    72
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

interesting day, free admission, just pay to park.
Food was ait pricey and only reasonable value, many families saved themselves some serious money by taking their own picnics !!!!
If you want to see the Castle check first, we failed to see it as there was a wedding going on. Worthwhile trip overall.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cheap day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Free entry, parking was one price no matter how long you stayed.
Lots to look at, mostly outside. Take a picnic.
Quite hilly, lots of walking.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited St Fagans on bank holiday weekend as a party of 4 adults and 5 children, ranging in age from 8 weeks to 7 years. We really enjoyed the day and were impressed at its size, we only managed to visit half of the site but will definitely return to see the rest. The children were really engaged by the different buildings but I would certainly recommend the guide book as without it the information would have been limited. The guide book only costs £3 and was packed with interesting information. The only slight negatives were some of the staff in the houses could have been more interactive and offer a little more insight into the buildings and also the wasp issue! I have never encountered so many wasps in one place before, most of the houses had visible wasp nests in their thatch and it was impossible to eat, drink or even sit down without fear of being stung. Even the café inside had wasps. Despite this we still had a great day and would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place - shame about the wasps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Superb "free" (parking £3.50) museum with lots to interest a curious 3 year old. Unfortunately in early August it seemed to be home to the entire country's population of wasps.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Fagans: National History Museum also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to St. Fagans: National History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Fagans: National History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.