We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Day Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Fagans: National History Museum

St. Fagans: National History Museum
Cardiff CF5 6XB, Wales (Creigiau - St. Fagans)
029 2057 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 76 attractions in Cardiff
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A large, living museum chronicling the last 500 years of Welsh history: fun, interactive exhibits make this a popular family destination.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Value Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We visited St Fagans on bank holiday weekend as a party of 4 adults and 5 children, ranging in age from 8 weeks to 7 years. We really enjoyed the day and were impressed at its size, we only managed to visit half of the site but will definitely return to see the rest. The children were really engaged by the different buildings but I would certainly recommend the guide book as without it the information would have been limited. The guide book only costs £3 and was packed with interesting information. The only slight negatives were some of the staff in the houses could have been more interactive and offer a little more insight into the buildings and also the wasp issue! I have never encountered so many wasps in one place before, most of the houses had visible wasp nests in their thatch and it was impossible to eat, drink or even sit down without fear of being stung. Even the café inside had wasps. Despite this we still had a great day and would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,594
    359
    54
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place - shame about the wasps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Superb "free" (parking £3.50) museum with lots to interest a curious 3 year old. Unfortunately in early August it seemed to be home to the entire country's population of wasps.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab day out if it's good weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

August sees the museum and gardens at their best, with laden mulberry bushes, wildflowers, and most of the outdoor gardens open, such as the gorgeous Italian Garden near the top end. Better still, it's one of Wales' National Museums and therefore free to visit! Interesting history and a great place for tourists and locals, with loads of gorgeous picnic spots...highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great day out whatever your age, whatever the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I could go on a write so much but I think I can simply say Do Not miss out on this little gem. There is some much to see and do, we have been there so many times and see new things every time - it nevers gets boring!
Amazing place - and make sure you go and see the Castle it is beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great attraction, but lacks spark”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

It's free, which is a plus point, but this potentially wonderful attraction just lacks imagination and spark. I visited in July 2013 and the place looked in need of a serious overhaul. The staff, with some noteable excpetions, are disinterested and dressed in a drab uniforms. They need charcters in period clothing to bring the place alive. The Museum managers need to visit the Black Country Museum or Blist Hill Victorian Town at Ironbridge to see how history can be brought to life. I've been visiting with friends and family for 20 years, but the place just hasn't moved on. Parts of it looked untidy, abandoned and unkempt. It's supposed to be Wales's premier visitor attraction - I doubt it would be if one had to pay to enter!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Fagans: National History Museum also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to St. Fagans: National History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Fagans: National History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Fagans: National History Museum to your Saves list