We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The St. David's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The St. David's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The St. David's Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Cardiff
Staffordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Getting worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for many years now, but the service and quality has slowly declined. It used to be a true 5 star, but now it barely meets 3 star.

The spa is fautless, and is probably the hotel's only saving grace. The pool has fabulous views across the bay, and the jacuzzi is also lovely.

However, the service has really declined. We travelled in a party of 5 for a birthday celebration, and we had booked the twin rooms months in advance. Upon check in, they had lost the booking and we ended up in an adapted twin for disabled use, which was totally unsuitable for us. Our room also had a loud buzzing air con unit, so we asked to be moved. After four hours and many phone calls, this was eventually honoured. However, this had also happened on my previous stay, so the maintenance of the hotel definitely needs to be looked at. Their customer service is also poor, as the receptionist told me it was my fault we needed to change rooms, and made it feel like a big ask.
We had also requested wine and a birthday balloon for the room of my cousin,but it ended up in the wrong room as well. The 2 star service lets it down.

The rooms (if you get lucky) are spacious and soundproofed, with unrivalled views. Just be prepared for problems from start to finish, most of which will not be resolved.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
It is very disappointing to read your comments, particularly as the team are so passionate about excelling in service delivery. I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the future. Thank you for your review.

Kind regards.

Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    594
    406
    207
    88
See reviews for
226
1,067
57
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arranged a night here for our first wedding anniversary. I contacted the hotel directly, but they advised I would get a free bottle of bubbly if I booked on-line, and the night manager told me to call back the next day so he could arrange some free extras, which was very nice of him.

I contacted the hotel at approx 11am as we were in Cardiff early, to see if we could check in that little bit earlier, at which point I was told the room would be ready. Fantastic!

On arrival, the sign for the car park was so badly positioned, that we thought it was full, and subsequently parked in the NCP across the way. On walking past the hotel car park we realised the car park was nearly empty! Fortunately the car park we used only charged 5 pounds for 24 hours, and the hotel was 8 pounds?

We were given a room on the 5th floor. The lift ride up was very noisy and not smooth at all, maybe it's just me who thinks a top hotel shouldn't have this sort of problem?

The room was spacious and light, and had a great view over the bay and barrage areas. The room wasn't spotless though, and had started to look dated, could do with some freshening up in my opinion. Bathroom was well stocked with the usual and light was good to use the mirrors etc. Again the bathrooms seem dated now and could do with a refresh.

Unfortunately, even though I was told our room was ready, the bubbly, chocolates and strawberries I had been promised were not there, which somewhat detracted from the intended romance of the day. I went back to the front desk who advised these items would be put in the room after 3pm. We went to the spa and after returning at 5pm the promised items were at last in place.

The spa and pool facilities are OK, but in my opinion not as good as the advertising makes out. The changing rooms for the pool were dirty, and there was obviously a leak from the changing rooms to the pool as a load of towels had been put on the floor to mop up and left there!

To sum up, this could once again be a marvellous hotel, but is in desperate need of a makeover to bring it back to where it was. It is in a great location, and the bar and restaurant facilities are great. Breakfast was good too, a mixed buffet selection of cereals and pastries and the option for a cooked breakfast which we both enjoyed.

Unless the hotel had a makeover I would not stay here again, for the prices I do not think the standard reflects good value. If the Vale of Glamorgan Hotel wasn't so close to where we live (less than a mile), we would have stayed there, as it is far in front than St.David's, and going off this trip is far more deserved of five stars than it's current four.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the team looked after you at reservation and your request for an early arrival. You will therefore appreciate that whilst we were able to able to accommodate an early check-in this is not guaranteed until 3pm and therefore items scheduled to be in the room would arrive by 3pm.

I am unaware of a problem with the lift but have passed your comments to my Maintenance Manager.

We have 60 car park spaces at the hotel, chargeable at £8 for 24 hours which are subject to availability. We are however lucky enough to have the NCP car park immediately adjacent to ours which has 200 spaces (pre-payable at £5 per 24 hours in coins only).

Your other comments have been noted and will be discussed with the team appropriately.

Kind regards.

Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room took my girlfriend their for her birthday! Great views had a wonderfull time all staff exceptional bar 3 in resturant who look like they need a little more training on what alcohol they serve. Food was spot on though overall very very brilliant. Cardiff seems lik an excellent city! Would definalley recomend! Thank you once again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thanks for your great review and your kind score of 5. I am very pleased that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and indeed your trip to Cardiff. We hope to see you both back at St David's in the not too distant future.

Kind regards.

Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Perfectly nice but, as lots of other reviewers have said, it is slightly surprising that St. David's is a 5 star hotel. Nice room, good view and good staff. Great location on the waterfront. Slightly surprised to be charged for carparking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and your observations which have been noted. I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.

Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I love this hotel - It is the place to stay in Cardiff - every single room has amazing views and standing on the balcony was exhilarating.

I loved the decor. The food is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful. A big thank you to the night porter who helped sent me off on my jog around Cardiff Bay, it took about an hour and a half (I did walk most of it). An amazing start to a day. Oh - and the spa, you even get great view from there while relaxing in the massive jacuzzi!

Will certainly return.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms must be amazing. 360 degrees of great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
What a great review, thank you so much for the 5 stars! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

If I could, I would give the hotel a rating of 4.5. The location and view is a 5, but the hotel itself is a 4.

The room was large, clean, and had a spectacular view over the Cardiff bay. It was also calm and silent, and we slept very well even though the beds were a bit on the hard side. The proximity to the Mermaid Quay was another great plus. I also enjoyed walking around the wetland area to the west of the hotel.The town of Cardiff was a positive experience; calm atmosphere and a nice environment to stroll around in.

The breakfast was OK but not top-notch. The restaurant and bar meals were pretty good; not great, but solid. The afternoon tea was very very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. I must agree with your comments on our location, we are indeed very proud of our unique setting. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and everything that St David's and the surrounding area has to offer. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

stayed here with my family after going xmas shopping in cardiff last december , and had to say this is a first class venue !!!!rooms were brilliant and so was the food , staff were very pleasant and helpfull ........brilliant location very quiet with sea views >>>>>>>>>

Room Tip: all exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for the 5 rating. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your kind words have been shared with the team who work so hard to enhance the guest experience, your comments will be much appareciated.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The St. David's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel & Spa

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#10 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St David's Hotel & Spa is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel & Spa is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The St. David's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel & Spa Cardiff, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The St. David's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.